We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jos & Diane
Polokwane, South Africa

An absolute must for stop over

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Dec 2020via mobile
An absolutely lovely place. Beautiful and very well kept. Bathrooms newly renovated. Gorgeous landscape right on the Orange River. An absolute must to rest. Sraff incredibly helpful and friendly. Breakfast is included, a bit late for us traveling, but great nonetheless.
Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 107
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 998
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 760
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 085
0.6 km from Sun River Kalahari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Riverfront, elegant, simply the most regal guesthouse in Upington. Completely renovated October
R 1 555
R 1 305
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 305
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 305
  • Trip.com
    R 1 555
0.9 km from Sun River Kalahari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Genade
R 1 210
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 210
  • Agoda.com
    R 970
  • Vio.com
    R 1 210
0.6 km from Sun River Kalahari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
R 1 711
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 780
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 656
  • Priceline
    R 1 711
1.5 km from Sun River Kalahari Lodge
Free Wifi
R 1 615
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    R 1 631
  • Priceline
    R 1 631
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 631
1.5 km from Sun River Kalahari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 500
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 234
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 080
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 500
5.0 km from Sun River Kalahari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 750
  • Priceline
    R 750
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
  • eDreams
3.2 km from Sun River Kalahari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Swimming Pool
R 1 265
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 265
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 025
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 265
4.9 km from Sun River Kalahari Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 680
R 626
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 680
  • Agoda.com
    R 680
  • Vio.com
    R 680
24.8 km from Sun River Kalahari Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
R 885
R 841
  • Priceline
    R 885
  • Agoda.com
    R 841
2.1 km from Sun River Kalahari Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Upington
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
54
40
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
54
40
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lush green lawns rooms are clean beautiful view a lovely stay overnight stay springbok accommodation banks river landscape kgalagadi fridge sa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2020

We had a one-night stay over and the lodge went the extra mile to accommodate us. Room was lovely and all ready when we checked in. They even went to some extra trouble to celebrate our son's 7th birthday.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nstobb471594
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2020

As a foreign traveller on a difficult repatriation of a family member with disability, we were assisted at extremely short notice late on a winter's night. The manager was gracious and understanding especially given the trying times we all find ourselves in at present and restrictions placed on many businesses at present.
The accommodation was very comfortable and clean, and breakfast on demand was great. It is a holiday destination, but was better than just that for us. I would recommend the lodge for many travellers or holiday makers with different needs.
Great river views and a friendly gazelle in the garden!!

Room tip: Separate rooms in garden setting are the best.
Date of stay: May 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francistown1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 December 2019

Sun River Kalahari Lodge provides excellent value for money. Immaculately clean, beautiful gardens, relaxing swimming pool, great rooms and the best beds we have ever slept in. Wonderful to stay right next to the Orange River. Very friendly personnel and the lodge provided us with a great dinner and breakfast. The tame springboks gave us some good entertainment and we started our holiday with some great birding in the garden. Thanks for a great evening after our long drive.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2019

Sun River Kalahari Lodge is an oasis in the Kalahari, with a beautiful garden, two swimming pools and the Orange River flowing by. The staff is friendly and helpfull and the rooms clean and spacious. Excellent breakfast. Overall a very relaxing experience. Good value for money.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lorrainestonestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2019

Our 2nd time here and just as nice as the first time. The place is beautiful, clean and spacious. Very friendly personnel and we enjoyed our dinner and breakfast. Frikkie - a very cute addition to the family. Thank very much.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 347liana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews