We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
klthompson1
Stellenbosch, South Africa

Lovely people, very welcoming

Review of Libby's Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Dec 2020via mobile
We had a very impromptu stay with Liesel and co.
They couldn’t have been more accommodating. Wonderful service.

Very clean facilities with WiFi if needed.
Breakfast was yummy.

Thanks again for all your help in the last 24hrs.
Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Libby's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Riverfront, elegant, simply the most regal guesthouse in Upington. Completely renovated October
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.4 km from Libby's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
One of 2 Sparkling Pools
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Libby's Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Lovely decor in the "red and white room".
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.9 km from Libby's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
1.9 km from Libby's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Libby's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Libby's Lodge
Free Wifi
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
26.5 km from Libby's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 020
  • Hotels.com
3.1 km from Libby's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
26.3 km from Libby's Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Upington
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
26
15
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
26
15
4
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2019 via mobile

Liesel welcomed us with a big smile and open arms after a long day on the road. She offered to set a table with plates and wine glasses for our cheese, wine and biscuits that we bought at the Checkers. She was extremely accommodating and nothing was too much effort.
After our own little picnic-dinner next to the pool and a stunning sunset, the beautiful, huge pool invited us to swim a few lengths before we jumped into comfy beds to get a good night’s rest before heading out early the next morning. We did not have breakfast there but one can enjoy a delicious plate for a very reasonable R85 pp.
Thank you Liesel for making us feel welcome. We enjoyed our stay!!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Genie-Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Libbyslodge, Owner at Libby's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review, Genie-Mari. It was our privilege to welcome you to Libby's Lodge and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay. Hoping to see you return to us in the near future. Have a blessed Christmas and best wishes for 2020!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019 via mobile

We stayed here on the way to Kgalagadi and back. Liesel is a very nice an super friendly host. The rooms are nice, clean and big enough to get your things sorted for the park. Breakfast is not huge but fine. Make sure you like dogs when coming! A clear recommendation.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank hanss500
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Libbyslodge, Owner at Libby's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2019

Thank you for the very positive review Hans.
We are already looking forward to your next visit.
Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2019 via mobile

Conveniently situated in Upington just off the main road. This hidden gem is a great place to stop off. Service is great, rooms are clean and well set out. Pool is great for those hot summer days in the Northern Cape. Worth a visit.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ScottClanZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2019

This review relates to the gift shop at Libby's, as we did not stay the night. We stopped by here after seeing it recommended in local advertising and we found a selection of interesting and unique souvenirs and gifts at good prices that will help us remember our trip to South Africa. We got a small carved giraffe and some original artwork of the Kalahari. Visitors should stop by.

As is often the case in Upington, unfortunately, you are initially confronted with a locked gate, but just ring the bell and assistance comes promptly.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2019

I did not know what to expect of this town or its accommodation as I had never travelled in the area before. What an extremely good surprise awaited us as we entered the town and then found the little gem called Libby's Lodge where we were to spend 1 night.

Our reception was so warm and welcoming. Staff extremely friendly and homely. I immediately felt at home and relaxed. You guys are superb and provide 5 star service.

Our room to the rear of the property was quiet, very clean and well equipped for self catering. All crockery and cutlery is very clean and well looked after. A large bedroom, small lounge and big shower/bathroom was much more than we expected. Parking was behind electronic gates and is safe. The property also boasts a very nice pool (although it was too cold for me to take a dip), lovely gardens to laze in or wander around, braai facilities and more.

In the morning we had a lovely breakfast cooked for us. As well as the option of cereals, yoghurts, juice etc. More than enough to fill up before another long day driving.

I have no doubt that should we travel this again we will not even look for other accom. This is the place for us and I highly recommend it to all who need pampering and a very good nights sleep.

Thanks to all and best wishes.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BWM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Libbyslodge, Owner at Libby's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2019

Thank you so much for the lovely and positive review!
We hope to welcome you back to Libby's again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews