We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Otto v

Friendly

Review of Libby's Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Mar 2019
Nice place our room had WiFi,tv aircon and a patio outside next to the pool,Breakfast is buffet english,safe parking,Near the Kalahari shopping Mall (5min drive)were you can enjoy A good meal,Ask the lady at the reception for Some good tips wat to do in Upington
Date of stay: February 2019
Room Tip: Ask them to show you Some different rooms
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 193
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Libby's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Riverfront, elegant, simply the most regal guesthouse in Upington. Completely renovated October
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
2.4 km from Libby's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
One of 2 Sparkling Pools
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Libby's Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Lovely decor in the "red and white room".
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.9 km from Libby's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
1.9 km from Libby's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 474
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Libby's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 539
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Libby's Lodge
Free Wifi
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 959
26.5 km from Libby's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
26.3 km from Libby's Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
A view from the street out front
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 115
  • Hotels.com
4.7 km from Libby's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Upington
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
26
15
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
26
15
4
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Very nice place, the owner are very helpfull and friendly. Beds and hotel amenities very good. Would stay there again. Just a question why are they using cheap toilet paper and toilet spray they dont save more than R1.00/guest but the the message is “Thanks for your money but we think you dont deserve any better than 1 ply toilet paper”. My suggestion would be to supply 2ply toilet paper of good quality and nice airfreshner. Then your place is perfect.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Paul7280
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Libbyslodge, Owner at Libby's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment and also for your positive comments.
I would like to address the toilet paper issue that you commented on:

Our use of high quality 1-ply paper is NOT a sign of disrespect. I would like the opportunity to point out the motivation behind using this specific product (it was done with thought, deliberation and research).

Libby's Lodge has been in business for almost 20 years. Our buildings (and plumbing/sewage systems) are not ultra modern or new. As you can imagine, it is an undesirable situation to be subjected to blocked and smelly drains (2 ply paper is famous for causing blockages) We obtained permission from accreditation agencies to use good quality 1-ply paper (we thoroughly did our research in this regard). We use the same 1 ply paper in our own home on the premises!!

Thanks to today's technological innovations and product advances, toilet paper can now be made of 1 layer and still be thick, soft and strong. It has also been said that choice of toilet paper has an impact on the environment. Single use paper products are becoming one of the "greatest excesses of our age". This is an issue very dear to our hearts.

We appreciate the fact that people have personal preferences and should you have approached us directly with this issue, we would have accommodated your request and provided you with an alternative to your liking. Customer satisfaction still remains our highest priority at all times.

We hope to welcome you back to Libby's again!!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

We only spent one night in Libby‘s lounge on our way to Luderitz.
Lovely spacious rooms , very clean and super friendly staff.
We decided to have a barbecue at the lodge rather than going out for dinner and were assisted with everything that we needed.
Highly recommend it to other travelers.
Good value for money .

Room tip: Beautiful gardens and all rooms have equally good views
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mathilda975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Peaceful, very suitable for even small children, the most warmest and loving welcome we've ever received, lovely curio shop with local products, delicious breakfast, superb beds, well planned rooms, great very close by parking areas - simply no negatives! Wonderful for a stopover and even for a longer stay. We will be back!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saija75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Libbyslodge, Owner at Libby's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you Saija for this beautiful review. We hope to welcome you and family back to Libby's some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

We attended a wedding in Upington, and made use of Libby's lodge to stay over.
Huge rooms, clean bedding, wifi and bar fridge.

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, their kindness gives a warm feeling to the guesthouse.

The guesthouse has a nice pool and garden area, very nice relaxed atmosphere.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank H_M_Mouton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We know that B&B since 15 years (at least) and were never disapointed. Situated on a main road, but absolutelty quiet. Garden is nice and peaceful, and everytime when we are on the road from JoBurgh to Upington, normaly after Kuruman, we start halluzinating about the spacious pool. Garden is a paradise. Rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious, too. Breakfast ist always tasty.

Safe parking inside possible; WLAN works fast and reliable

Shopping oportunities are convienient close now (Kalahari Mall).

Not forget to mention: Liesel and Hannes are nice hosts and will do everything to make your stay comfortable. Same can be said for the rest of the staff.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schaudernagert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews