We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
postscript65
Hermanus, South Africa

Paradise found

Review of River Bank Lapa
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Oct 2020via mobile
After a week in the Kgalagadi, it was like arriving in a little part of paradise. Green and enclosed we were sheltered and secure - and everything worked!! Gonda was lovely - so helpful and trusting. We unwound and washed away the sand and felt thoroughly refreshed. Our room looked on to the garden and pool and it was great to watch the birds on the riverbank. There is a braai and outside tables - and a tame duiker has run of the grounds.
Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 200
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 826
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 200
1.3 km from River Bank Lapa
Free Wifi
Free parking
One of 2 Sparkling Pools
R 1 440
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 440
  • eDreams
    R 1 440
0.7 km from River Bank Lapa
Free parking
Pool
Exterior View
R 1 539
R 1 296
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 464
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 464
0.7 km from River Bank Lapa
Free Wifi
Genade
R 1 210
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 970
  • Vio.com
1.0 km from River Bank Lapa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Swimming Pool
R 1 265
R 1 138
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 265
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 138
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 138
5.6 km from River Bank Lapa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guesthouse street view
R 1 045
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 045
  • Vio.com
2.3 km from River Bank Lapa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 438
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 120
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 500
5.8 km from River Bank Lapa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 841
  • Agoda.com
    R 841
2.8 km from River Bank Lapa
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 626
  • Agoda.com
    R 680
  • Vio.com
24.2 km from River Bank Lapa
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Upington
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
8
13
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
8
13
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private deck orange river barbecue garden banks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

We stayed in Unit 1 which has a large elevated balcony immediately adjacent to the Orange river (this is shared with unit 2 but is very large and unit 2 was vacant during our stay anyway). The views are fantastic and we enjoyed many hours just sitting and watching the world go by. The bird watching in particular is excellent (fish eagles, kingfishers, Goliath heron etc) and we were also lucky enough to see an otter crossing the river early one morning. The property has braii (barbecue) facilities and a small kitchenette (plus good sized fridge in room) so you can eat in the evening at the property if you wish (we did for 2 of 3 evenings). Breakfast was served on the balcony every morning, which was very special. The room was rustic but clean and charming. We would not hesitate to return. Thank you Gonda and staff.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nickw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2019

We were very tired after a long flight from the UK and this was a real oasis at the start of our holiday. Our hostess, Gonda, could not do enough for us, friendly but not intrusive. The outlook from the garden was beautiful and the garden was full of birds. We even saw a little buck creeping amongst the bushes. One minus was the creaking floor, but the comfort of the room made up for that. We spent two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RedSand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2018

We stayed in this wonderful B&B for two nights. We were extremely lucky because the Orange river was very full und as wide as a lake. The big treat was the lovely fresh breakfast served tight there on the terrace in front of our room. As keen birders we just loved the African Fish Eagles, both male and female, displaying their beautiful colours right in front of us. Other treats were the Goliath egret and Burchell's coucal. The room was nicely decorated and as a guest from Europe you get the real african feeling!

Room tip: The rooms directly next to the river!
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilmaSchweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2018

The room was OK'ish. My two issues was the Bed lamps that could only be unplugged if you wanted to switch off - If switched off at wall - No charger working for Cellphone.The wooden floors creaked so badly I felt guilty moving around at night - Really bad creak.
The dining and lounge area really cluttered with stuff stuck away behind Room dividers or partitions?

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trevor312564
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Ideal stop after a long drive on the way to the Kgalagadi. Had 3 roo s, two of which with a large private deck overlooking the river. Very nice place, sadly lacks a bit of the personal touch, very short on staff.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DobbsBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews