We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SanetTravel

Rest in the River

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Apr 2023via mobile
Beautiful views and sounds. Well planned spacious rooms. Very comfortable. Delicious breakfast with a good variety. Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. Next time I will plan my trip to spend more time in this place. The sound of the river makes it so peaceful. Parking is very secure and We felt very safe. Thank you. We will be back!!
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
River Place Manor, Owner at River Place Manor, responded to this review
Responded 15 Aug 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a positive and 5 star review. I will convey your compliments to the chef and the staff
Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Riverfront, elegant, simply the most regal guesthouse in Upington. Completely renovated October
  • Priceline
    R 1 232
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.4 km from River Place Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
One of 2 Sparkling Pools
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    R 1 440
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from River Place Manor
Free parking
Pool
Genade
  • Priceline
    R 1 210
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from River Place Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 595
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from River Place Manor
Free Wifi
  • Expedia.com
  • Trip.com
    R 1 740
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from River Place Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    R 841
  • Agoda.com
2.0 km from River Place Manor
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
    R 750
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.8 km from River Place Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 179
  • Hotels.com
4.5 km from River Place Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel  entrance
  • Priceline
    R 1 158
  • Vio.com
    R 1 068
  • eDreams
2.1 km from River Place Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel Swimming Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 263
  • Hotels.com
4.5 km from River Place Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Upington
Reviews (658)
Filter reviews
658 results
Traveller rating
550
94
6
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
550
94
6
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews place to stay beautiful setting breakfast was delicious cape town rooms are spacious lovely place attention to detail definitely stay here again en route a lovely stay kgalagadi transfrontier park bar fridge road trip overnight stay national park self catering friendly service
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 658 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2023

We were received at The River Place Manor in a friendly, personal manner.
The River Place Manor is beautifully appointed with all the necessary amenities. The rooms are spacious and superbly decorated. It suited all our needs completely. Breakfast was served in a lovely environment by friendly staff. Tammy Booysen took care of our every need in a highly professional manner. It was such a pleasure to have met the staff at the River Place Manor. The interior and exterior of The River Place Manor is maintained expertly and is absolutely beautiful. It will be an absolute pleasure to return there soon.

Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank llabus304560
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
River Place Manor, Owner at River Place Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a positive and 5 star review. I will convey your compliments to Tammy, the chef and the staff
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2023

The hotel is extremely beautifully located directly on the Orange River. The rooms are nicely furnished. Dinner and breakfast were very tasty. Everything very well maintained, friendly staff. We would go again anytime.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
River Place Manor, Owner at River Place Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a positive and 5 star review. I will convey your compliments to the chef and the staff
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2023

We had a lovely stay at River Place Manor. Wish we could have stayed longer. The facilities are exquisite. Lovely swimming pool and view of the river. The staff kept us in the loop regarding the rising river levels and possible access issues. Only issue we had was communication regarding lunch. Had to wait very long. Breakfast was great.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nheyns295638
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
River Place Manor, Owner at River Place Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry about the issue regarding lunch. Our restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner and I apologise that the staff did not communicate this properly to you .
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2023

We had a lovely stay at River Place Manor. The staff was friendly and accommodating, and went out of their way to make our stay, as well as our birthday dinner in celebration of my Mom's 60th, extra special and enjoyable. The rooms were spotless and everyone had a great night's sleep.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Salomevanzyl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2023

There are only some small things to mention which let me add "almost": An A/C directly above the bed means you have to choose between A/C during night and getting sick (cause not used to it) or sleeping without A/C and sweating all night (means waking up several times during the night).
Next topic: cleaning staff did not empty the trash can or changed towels although hanging on the shower (meaning "want to use it another time") ... thought only when we leave it on the floor... as I said : only small issues but also counting :-)

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ErichW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews