We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Annalene H

Delightful stay!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Aug 2021via mobile
What an absolute delight to stay over at Waterfront Guest Farm on our way home from our trip to the Richtersveld! Jasper, Brunhilde and their very friendly & efficient staff went out of their way to make a our stay memorable. We were a group of 8 and were treated to the most delicious 3-course dinner - from the biltong soup to the oxtail, chicken pie, pumpkin muffins, the wonderful Waterfront salad - each dish was mouthwatering. Comfortable rooms and lovely detail in each room. After a delicious breakfast, we left with plans to definitely sleep over again when on a future trip. Having stayed in Upington on previous occasions at different guesthouses, this is definitely our top choice!
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 919
R 1 762
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.5 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room view
R 1 614
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 560
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
25.5 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Swimming Pool
R 1 265
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
4.1 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
Free parking
A view from the street out front
R 1 195
R 1 063
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
Free parking
Riverfront, elegant, simply the most regal guesthouse in Upington. Completely renovated October
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
Free parking
One of 2 Sparkling Pools
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free parking
Pool
Exterior View
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 672
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 351
  • Priceline
4.1 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Upington
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
23
10
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
23
10
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2019 via mobile

Great view and access to the Orange River. Bruhmilde and Jasper went out of their way to make us feel at home with non intrusive homely hospitality. Rooms clean, spacious and comfortable. The use of facilities a welcome bonus. Great stop over to and from the Northern parts of SA to the west cost and further south.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank yolandigrobler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2019

Check in -good. Room-good. Location-good. Breakfast-good.
Had a really good walk amoungst the vineyards.

Why this rating is only 3 stars was the noise at night from the other guests. Lots of loud shouting and some woman screeching throughout the night.
If you go there be sure to ask if President Ramaphosa,s security detail are there at the same time. Then do not book.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewkay2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2019

We sepnt the night here on our way to the Kgalagadi from Johannesburg, and again on the way back, as it takes a while to get from MataMata camp and out of the park. So we had two bites of the cherry and were very happy on both occasions. The setting, right on the banks of the Orange River, is very tranquil, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the honesty bar where you can help yourself to drinks made it ideal for a quick beer after our travels and then a more serious drink before going out to dinner. The morning breakfast is excellent--a full array of cereals, juice, fruit, etc and then a cooked breakfast made to order. The facility is on the older side and the rooms are not spanking new, but they were very well equipped with tea/coffee making facilitires, fridge, mini bar and some really charmng decorative touches which show that they are really attentive to making one's stay as pleasant as possible. As we were picking up our 4 by 4 vehicle n Upington they were very happy to look after our car while we were at the national park. So all in all it was a delightful experience and our hostess, Brunhilde Louw, was helpful, informative, and friendly while letting us relax and do our own thing without intrusion--that is quite a skill in B&B faciities, in my opinion.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Waterfront for 2 separate days - on the way to and again from the Kgaligadi Transfrontier Park. Brunhilde and Jasper were wonderful, informative hosts who ensured that we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay. The breakfast and dinner were top class. The highlight for us was the sunset cruise with drinks and snacks - we soaked in the tranquility and beauty of the idyllic location on the banks of the mighty Orange River.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DayTrip582642
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2019

Very nice, tranquil, clean, spacious rooms, great to stay there. Waterfront is on the banks of the Orange river a bit out of town, with a great view on a portion of the river. The owner Brunilda is friendly and always available.

Room tip: One can stay in any room they all nice
Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Broloks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews