We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
At van Schalkwyk
Delmas, South Africa

Stay on my own for work

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 06 Sept 2019
Very nice, tranquil, clean, spacious rooms, great to stay there. Waterfront is on the banks of the Orange river a bit out of town, with a great view on a portion of the river. The owner Brunilda is friendly and always available.
Date of stay: September 2019
Room Tip: One can stay in any room they all nice
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 200
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 998
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 768
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 029
0.6 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
Free parking
Riverfront, elegant, simply the most regal guesthouse in Upington. Completely renovated October
R 1 554
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Vio.com
    R 1 555
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
Free parking
Genade
R 1 210
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 210
  • Vio.com
    R 1 210
  • eDreams
    R 1 210
1.5 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 500
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 234
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 085
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 500
4.1 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
R 1 706
R 1 296
  • Priceline
    R 1 296
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 470
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 470
2.5 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
R 750
  • Priceline
    R 750
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
  • eDreams
2.4 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 885
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 841
  • Agoda.com
    R 841
1.9 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free parking
Pool
Guesthouse street view
R 1 045
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 045
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 045
  • Vio.com
    R 1 044
1.4 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Swimming Pool
R 1 265
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 265
  • Agoda.com
    R 921
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 265
4.1 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 780
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 718
  • Agoda.com
    R 780
  • Vio.com
    R 779
25.4 km from Waterfront Guestfarm
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Upington
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
23
10
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
23
10
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2019

Based ourselves here whilst exploring the local area and before heading up to the Kgalagadi. The hosts and all the staff are super friendly and did everything they could to make sure our stay was enjoyable - as well as some really good advice before we headed up to the park! The accommodation is in a lovely setting right on the river and its tranquil and quiet. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed, bathrooms on the tired side but none the less clean and functional. The guest house works an honesty bar system so there's always a cold drink available when you need one and the breakfast is a mixture of self serve and a hot order from the kitchen, made even nicer by Bianca hosting of a morning!
There is a nice pool to dip in after a hot day of sight seeing and if you fancy it even the river can make a good place for a long swim!
You'll need a car however Upington itself isn't great for restaurant choices so there is the option to take a dinner order in the house or the Mall is local and has the usual chains. There is enough selection if you are only visiting for a few days.
If you do venture out of a night, pay extra attention on the gravel road back into the farm as we spotted Porcupines one night!
Would def stay again if we were in the area!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank flyboylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2019

This is a great place to stay at the start or end of your Kalahari trip (and for any other reason why you would come to Upington). The rooms are luxuriously equipped and very cosy. Airconditioning and a fridge are available. Alternatively, you can also cool down in the pool or the Orange River. Brunhilde, Jasper and Sieglinda are fantastic hosts. They even managed to cater for the quite long list of specific dietary requirements we had in our group. Their sunset cruise on the river and the braai dinner are fabulous and highly recommended (try the Springbok or Gemsbok fillet accompanied by squash with honey and lavender). An honesty bar is available so that you can enjoy your glass of wine or beer at the waterfront.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mho_hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2019

Originally we booked a night at Riverplace but they overbooked and moved us to Waterfront guesthouse. We couldn't be more happy about this! Brunhilde and Jasper (managers) made us feel exceptional welcome. They offered to drive us to and pick us up from a restaurant and they even came pick us up with 2 persons after wine tasting (so we didn't have to drive ourselves). They took us on a afternoon boat trip and made us an exceptional good steak after. I have nothing bad to say about this place.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank svdt121
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2018 via mobile

We drove in from Kgalagadi Park hot and dusty and found an oasis in this guesthouse. The check in was smooth even though I needed to make last minute room changes. Staff were very accommodating and professional.
We relaxed on the patio drinking tea and taking the fabulous views. A swim in the pool, a lounge with a book under the trees made a perfect afternoon.
For dinner they recommended we visit Cafe Zest in town which was an excellent choice.
Breakfast had a good variety of food.
I love to walk and was able to stroll around the neighbourhood in the late afternoon and early morning.
I would highly recommend this guesthouse.

Jill

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jill p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We arrived, fairly late, without a reservation and the Manageress found us a room after shuffling other customers accomodation, even organised us two Pizzas for supper, good room with nice bathroom, poor DSTV bouquet

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jandmtav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews