We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
13
10
11
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
10
11
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice breakfastorange riveroverlooking the riverbanksdeck
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Friendly staff and they make you feel welcome. However parking is a big issue here.With place for only 4 x cars? My Room was neat - But there is such a beautiful river flowing by that you can hardly see through the window - If there was a sliding door out - It would have been awesome.
I requested Breakfast at 7 am as I had a 8 am meeting - I eventually received breakfast at 7.35 am and had to literally stuff it down.Upington is known for it's heat - There is just no air flow in this guest house - If you are in your room - My aircon was OK ish - But the rest of the house was always so stuffy and no doors open.Could also not connect to the Wi Fi

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank trevor312564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

The room was excellent. The bathroom with the big bath was excellent. WE had a very nice breakfast. The view over the Orange River is excellent. The staff members, Bernard and Frank were excellent and very helpfull
Frikkie and Soraja
Windhoek

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank FrikkieLouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

Although our room and bathroom was nice and clean, the service was not was to be expected. Additional coffee and sugar had to be requested and there was no milk supplied. We ordered sauces and wine with our steaks only to be told they didn't have any. Had a gin out the mini bar that cost me R45.00 for a 1 or 2 tot bottle (bottle store R16). Lovely setting on the Orange River and beautiful pool

Room Tip: Facing the pool
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natalie01041962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

We arrived late at Moonriver guesthouse, and after booking a family room, were taken to two different annexes of the guesthouse - 5km away - before we received our rooms (one had a key missing). The place we stayed at does not deserve a four star rating. We may still have been able to excuse the lack of attention to any detail or the rooms (which can, at best, be described as moderately clean and basic) had it not been for one of the manager's rude behaviour, bad attitude and unwillingness to accommodate clients.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank 584nicolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

We booked accommodation for a tour group at Moonriver Guesthouse. When making the reservation, the manager, Morne, advised that they will be staying in an annex, which was fine with us. When our group arrived, they were actually taken to a complete different property; the annex wasn’t even on the same property. We never received an address of this property, so we were never aware that it was two complete different places.
For the reason of being misled, the group decided to stay at a different place in town.

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank SonCla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews