We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
99julesm
Johannesburg South, South Africa

What a rare gem!

Review of Browns Manor
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Feb 2021via mobile
A really efficient, well run, beautiful boutique hotel with all you need in one space on business.

I am vegetarian so a great deal of effort is made to accommodate me which is always a treat.

It is also a charming space with Springboks, Ducks and a Mongoose family to keep you amused while you work outside on the terrace in the evenings.

A glorious pool for those really hot days. With the ducks looking on in jealousy because it is salt water and the obviously don’t like the salt 😂. They are so sweet and keep you company while you are out there.

All amenities were outstanding, staff efficient and a delight to deal with.

It has become one of my favourite places to stay.
Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
4.5 km from Browns Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
One of 2 Sparkling Pools
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
5.0 km from Browns Manor
Free parking
Pool
Lovely decor in the "red and white room".
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
4.4 km from Browns Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Riverfront, elegant, simply the most regal guesthouse in Upington. Completely renovated October
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
5.9 km from Browns Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Browns Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Genade
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
5.1 km from Browns Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
6.5 km from Browns Manor
Free Wifi
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
29.1 km from Browns Manor
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
6.5 km from Browns Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Upington
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
144
26
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
144
26
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tranquil environment friendly ducks the study jungle gym excellent stay northern cape enjoyed our stay long drive manor springbok toy venue oasis couch privacy tranquility kalahari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2020 via mobile

A very good stay. Nice garden with shade. Very comfortable bed and nice room. Breakfast was very good, one of the best we had in South Africa this year. Helpful staff.
The property is on the edge of town so it’s a few minutes drive to restaurants etc. We knew this - being away from the centre was one reason for booking here, quiet and peaceful.
This was a great stop on the way to Kgalagadi, and on the way back as well. We would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 75AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2020 via mobile

I expected a little bit more of this award winning guesthouse. Swimming pool area needs some maintenance. Rooms are small with a great bed. I thought there is a restaurant but probably due to only a few guests you have to go into Upington. Breakfast is ok.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank de-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2019

There was nothing especially wrong, except for the fact that the wifi repeatedly disconnected. Also nothing particularly nice, everything just okay. We'd stayed in another establishment in Upington a few days before, which we would rate considerably higher, for a similar price.
The grouting in the shower could do with a good scrub. Basic breakfast with a limited spread.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank denise190356
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2019

Brown's Manor is our first choice as we regularly drive to and from Joburg to Swakopmund. Arriving at Brown's after a 13 hour drive is bliss!! Staff are fantastic and the breakfast really good. Keep it up

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StephenB757, Owner at Browns Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2019

Great to hear, Thank you and hope to see you soon again at Browns Manor

Stephen Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2019

We were welcomed by very friendly & efficient Bonny. The gardens of the Manor are beautiful & we had a lovely quiet room near the pool. The pool was lovely, considering it was 39 degrees that day.
The room had everything we required for an overnight stay & the bed was very comfortable.
We did not eat at the Restaurant at Browns, but went into town, which is a 10 minute drive.
We left early the following morning & they happily packed us a breakfast to eat along our journey North.
We loved the Koi pond, friendly ducks & Springbok roaming around the gardens.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FlossPortElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StephenB757, Owner at Browns Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2019

Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope we see you soon back at Browns Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews