We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
lynettewessels2023
Springbok, South Africa

Quick stop over

Review of River City Inn
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Sept 2023
Got here late enjoy a nice breakfast the next morning. The porters were vrry help full and friendly at tge door. Offered help even before we checked in. High five to you guys. Keep it up.
Can pay a little bit more attention to cleaning of shower.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie Burger, Owner at River City Inn, responded to this review
Responded 26 Sept 2023
Dear lynettewessels2023

We thank you for taking the time to send a review following your recent visit to River City Inn and appreciate your valuable and honest feedback.
We are delighted to hear that you found our Associates friendly and enjoyed our buffet breakfast in the morning.
Your feedback regarding the shower cleaning has been noted and will be further addressed with our housekeeping team and closely monitored in the future.
We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Riverfront, elegant, simply the most regal guesthouse in Upington. Completely renovated October
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from River City Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 146
  • Booking.com
2.1 km from River City Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
One of 2 Sparkling Pools
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.7 km from River City Inn
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.4 km from River City Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 856
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from River City Inn
Free Wifi
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 666
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from River City Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely decor in the "red and white room".
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
2.8 km from River City Inn
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 461
  • Booking.com
6.7 km from River City Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 931
  • Lol.travel
23.4 km from River City Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
A view from the street out front
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 120
  • Priceline
4.2 km from River City Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Upington
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
10
12
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
12
6
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2023

Close to Intercape departures. and taxis
Close to Checkers; Clicks if you need food of any medication
KFC and other shopping for someting light or cooked meals or any thing needed during our stay
The hospital is also close

Date of stay: August 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mgoeth586327
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie Burger, Owner at River City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Dear mgoeth586327

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review following your recent visit to River City Inn. We thank you for the 5/5 rating, this is much appreciated and we are so pleased to hear you had a good stay.
We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2023

Great stay at River City Inn. The hotel is close to Spar and restaurants.

The staff are all professional, friendly and welcoming . A true home away from home.

The buffet breakfast was good for a 3 star hotel. Well done.

I will be back soon!

Date of stay: August 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ronels424
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie Burger, Owner at River City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2023

Dear ronels424

We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay and that our Associates made you feel welcome. We thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, this is much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2021

1 my luggage bag was opened by someone (lock was opened and not properly put back), 2 there is no secure parking, 3 I couldn't open my room from inside, 4 the shower water pressure was ridiculously low!!!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank siphod250
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie Burger, Owner at River City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Dear Sipho,
We have made a thorough investigation of all CCTV footage and confirm that your luggage was not tampered with at anytime while left at the Reception area, and the security guard took less than 2 minutes to take your case up to the room and return.

We are deeply distressed that you did not give our Staff the opportunity to clear up this matter during your stay and so avoiding serious damage to our reputation. We pride ourselves on honest, friendly and well trained staff who go out of their way to ensure Guest satisfaction.

Please consider to remove this review as it’s false and can damage our reputation, or kindly edit your review accordingly.
CCTV footage are available to staff our statement!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2019

I travelled to Upington for business and just wanted a simple hotel that served breakfast.
Reception staff were quick and friendly (reception is open 24 hours); my room was spacious, comfortable and equipped with an air-con. Breakfast was offered as a buffet, and had a good variety of foods on offer. All in all, River City Inn is highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Clifford A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie B, Owner at River City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

Thank you so much for writing such a great review, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you back with us soon on your next business trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2019

The room was clean and spacious, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was amazing! Love the Northern-Cape hospitality. The consumables within the room were also wonderful and there was an array of options to choose from.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ssmith811725
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie B, Owner at River City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2019

It was all our pleasure. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us Smith. We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews