We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
4
6
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
6
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gariep dam nature reserve lodge zelda sleep view
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2017

We enjoyed our night's stay at Raptor Lodge. Zelda was wonderfull and helpfull and the Lodge is perfect for overnight.We enjoyed our relaxing braai, good sleep and it is well priced. Perfect if you do not need TV and lots of electricity for gadgets as they are solar operated.Than you!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anmariefourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

After the noise and hustle of a day on the road, one is impacted by the intense quietness of Raptors Ridge.

The sunset and sunrise were food for a tired soul.

Raptors Ridge is pet friendly, and this was my first road trip with my dog, so i approached this with some interest. The pet was made as welcome as i was , and Zelda the lodge manager was extremely accommodating. She knew all the good places to eat, including a pet friendly establishment with excellent food close by.

The room was comfortable, clean, nicely appointed with ample hot water and a comfortable bed .

Raptors is a green establishment, so mainly solar is used with a small generator as back up. Plan accordingly.

Breakfast is an option, which i enjoyed immensely.

Would i return ? In a heartbeat yes.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We saw one of the most beautiful sunsets when we stayed at Raptor Ridge for one night while driving from the Free State to Cape Town.

The room was lovely and clean, and even though we had cold water due to our neighbours getting into the shower while we were using it!, we still had a good rest.

Zelda is the perfect host and so attentive to her guests. She gave us a very warm welcome after a long day on the road and supplied us with boiled water for coffee.

It is also a HUGE plus that all our doggies are also welcome for future stays!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esteaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Raptors is a unique experience. It is totally unusual in the fact that electricity is supplied by solar energy - lights and geyser. No kettle available in room but flask with hot water supplied at reception. The room was very neat and bed excellent. No fridge in room and thus no cold water. Sitting on the porch watching the dry dam and experiencing the birds were very exciting. For a very long time in my life I sat on the porch and looked at the milky sky watching stars, satellites, etc. The peace and calm of the environment was an experience to remember.

Room Tip: Very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johanl435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Raptor Ridge is a perfect stop when travelling by road from Gauteng to Cape Town. The rooms are well furnished and equipped, comfortable and all have a beautiful view of the Gariep dam. An evening spent around the camp fire ensured for a stunning sunset followed by a starlit night sky and complete tranquility. A steaming cup of coffee in the crisp early morning air whilst watching a magnificent sunrise topped our stay there.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a braai pack and salads before arriving
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Manus Meiring O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews