We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A peak life experience

We saw Namaqualand with Toere Namakwa/Namakwa Tours and they were fantastic! We would NEVER have... read more

Reviewed 12 October 2019
jmaison
,
Santa Fe, New Mexico
More than just flowers

Namaqualand is charming. The local folk are friendly and helpful. It is rural and rustic, but has... read more

Reviewed 19 September 2019
Else be V
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
Read all 48 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Northern Cape
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
33
13
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
33
13
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2019

We saw Namaqualand with Toere Namakwa/Namakwa Tours and they were fantastic! We would NEVER have seen what we saw on our own -- and perhaps not with other tour companies. Mike and Marne, the tour owners, are very knowledgeable about the flowers -- and where to find them -- as well as all the other flora and the fauna, tool. Visiting a quiver tree forest was a highlight -- I really want a quiver tree! We learned about all sorts of things on the tour, from how to produce roobos tea to prehistoric pictographs, from pollinators to poets -- it was ALL FABULOUS! Our hotel accommodations were wonderful and the food! Oh, the food, so, so delicious. Sumptuous picnics everyday were a great delight. I cannot say enough good things about Namaqualand, toruing with Namakwa Tours and everyone who made our trip special and spectacular.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank jmaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2019

Namaqualand is charming. The local folk are friendly and helpful. It is rural and rustic, but has a clean charm with many vistas of flowers and rock formations. The distances between towns makes is essential to fill up your tank at every oppportunity. Also take plenty of water to drink in the hotter months. We found the road signage in the area, and the NorthernCape in general, to be very poor and we got lost a couple of times! The scenery changes almost around every bend and the rock formations are of interest to normal people - not just geologists.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Else be V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2019

Absolutely amazing to see how a semi desert area can transform into a hinterland of colour. There are several places of interest to visit and both the Vredendal and Van Rhynsdorp Tourism staff are eager to assist with advice on what to see /do. Strandfontein/ Lutzville/ van Rhynsdorp area/ Gif berg pass.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank kobusvolschenk55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2019

We did a trip from Namibia to the Namaqualand in South Africa. We were lucky in that the day we went to various view points the sun was shining and we saw flowers upon flowers! It was beautiful. Furthermore we stayed at Naries which we can recommend very much.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Sightseer325517
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2019

A wonderful and incredible experience! It is so diffifuclt to put everything into words. It is something you must experience for yourself to believe. The amount of flowers is just astounding!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank wanderingambivert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews