We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drive through” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tankwa Karoo National Park

Tankwa Karoo National Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Drive through”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Once again Tankwa did not disappoint us. Majestic landscapes and scenery. Definitely a drive from Middelpos side to enjoy the scenic views at its best. Everything of mother nature in front of you and you as driver also able to enjoy the view as you drive to the bottom of the drop...

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HamNet Exercise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2016

We were stationed at this location, a place nicknamed 'the fort' for 7 hours, perhaps not enough time to give a review of the place however my experience is first hand together with the views of others of our team staying for a few days. I am told the water was non existent. Guests were using pool the pools water to flush the toilets and for washing up??? Water in a place like the Tankwa Karoo is more valuable than gold and irrespective of the awesome views and breathtaking landscapes the lack of water makes these features irrelevant and indeed unnoticeable... the accommodation, I am told, was adequate and for the price should have been spectacular. Service being the cornerstone of any successful business is imperative especially in the far flung reaches of this baron and unforgiving environment. I for one found and indeed saw no one who seemed to be in charge of the establishment. At the prices charged I would have been very miffed not to have running water...Tankwa Guesthouse you'll have to do far better than that to entice me to come and spend a night or two there!!!

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank TheGreekBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Let's Tankwa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2016

if you want a true wilderness experience in the South African Karoo...if your idea of a good night out is sitting around a fire under the blackest sky imaginable.....not a sound anywhere...the milky way above you and stars that seem so close you could pick one out of the sky to put in your pocket (and save it for a rainy day) then this is the place to be....yes, there are a few variety of buck dotted about and signs on the road warning you to watch out for caracals but it's the wilderness not wildlife that this park is all about....spectacular views of mountains and huge savannah plains are all around you...there is a variety of options to stay from individual to group campsites as well as a cottage or two...some are only reachable by 4x4......what a place....I'll definitely be back....

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank olive c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rough it up camping. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

We wanted to visit the Tankwa in its rawest form. We camped at one of the "unofficial" spots, meaning there is nothing! Go well prepared with enough water. It was our first experience of the kind but it was most amazing. We went to relax and just enjoy the splendour and beautiful colours of the Tankwa. In love.
Also note, you need a 4x4.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Loret19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A national park to ourselves!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2015

We just showed up with no booking on a weekday, and we were the only ones in the park. The main highway goes through the park and that can be visited without paying, and we arrived on that highway at 7pm, after the info centre had closed, so we just found a remote campsite and camped for the night. The next day we went in and paid for another remote campsite (nothing at those campsites, just a place to stick the tent). The brochures weren't much use (didn't give much info) but the wardens at the info centre were very useful. No food or gas in the park, so we drove up to Middelpos. Klipspringers, anteating chats and some raptors on the way up. We also drove around in our small rental car on all of the 4WD roads. No problem at all when it was dry. Zebras, gemsbok, bat-eared fox, wild cat, etc. A wonderfully peaceful camping trip into the Karoo!

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tankwa Karoo National Park also viewed

Northern Cape, South Africa
Northern Cape, South Africa
 
Springbok, Northern Cape
 

Been to Tankwa Karoo National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing