We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ewottermann
Johannesburg, South Africa

Lots of room for improvement

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 06 May 2023
Beautiful setting and great layout. Disappointing service. The rooms are nice but when we wanted coffee the cups were dirty, the linen not changed and the bathroom flooded when we showered.
Further the buffet dinner was expensive and most of the food was from the previous day (paying R1000 for leftovers for a family of 3 is not my idea of fun). Breakfast service was nice but the selections were more suited to a two star retaurant.
Overall the stay was a huge let down
Date of stay: May 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Wilson, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review
Responded 05 Jun 2023
Good Day
Thank you for your review, Dinner is priced at R275 per person and offers a wide range of selection to cater for all walks of life
We will definitely look at the issues you had with the shower but if reported im certain this would have been addressed
We only change linen in the rooms after your second nights stay we unfortunately do not replace your linen everyday unless requested
Im glad that the rest of your stay was pleasant
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 995
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Premier Hotel The Winkler
Free parking
Pool
R 1 400
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 400
2.8 km from Premier Hotel The Winkler
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 697
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Premier Hotel The Winkler
Free Wifi
Free parking
Casterbridge Hollow Hotel entrance
R 4 829
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 829
2.3 km from Premier Hotel The Winkler
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 649
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 199
3.3 km from Premier Hotel The Winkler
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 136
  • Algotels
5.2 km from Premier Hotel The Winkler
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 635
  • Priceline
8.2 km from Premier Hotel The Winkler
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 946
  • Trip.com
9.5 km from Premier Hotel The Winkler
Free parking
Pool
Pileta
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 895
  • Booking.com
6.2 km from Premier Hotel The Winkler
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 462
  • Algotels
6.6 km from Premier Hotel The Winkler
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in White River
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
92
149
80
17
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
92
149
80
17
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet dinner the general manager rooms are nice hotel is situated games room easy access trampoline peacocks sabie
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2023

We, 2 adults and 2 children (4 and 7 years old) stayed at the Winkler over a weekend in January. This is a bit of a strange review because we were literally the only people at the hotel and therefore most of the facilities were not really functioning optimally, namely, the bar and restaurant. I can recommend Picasso’s Mexican Taqueria as an eat out which is about 5 minutes away from the Hotel in the Bagdad Centre.

There is sufficient parking at the hotel with secured access. The Hotel is close to many local malls and shopping areas with some decent restaurants. It also has easy access to some of the tourist sites such as God’s Window, The Pinnacle, Mac Mac Falls, Sabie Falls, and Pilgrims Rest.

Check-in was good and seamless. It was really nice that the concierge escorted us to our room and showed us the various facilities at the hotel. The room we stayed in was a family room with a living area and the main bedroom. Each area had air conditioning and a TV (limited channels but we did not stay to watch TV 😊 ) mounted on the wall. The living area had a ¾ bed and a sleeper couch. The sleeper couch was big and stable enough for me to sleep on and I am 1.8m tall. It also has a dining table, sink, a kettle with tea, coffee, and milk. There is also a mini bar fridge should you wish to have some water cooled. The main bedroom had a king-size bed with two side pedestals. Each room (area) had sufficient electrical points for a two-prong plug and two USB’s. The bathroom was big and also had a decent size bath, a small shower (too small for any romantic moments 😊), twin basins, plenty of towels, and shower gel and lotions.

The property, itself, is huge. As with any property, there are minor maintenance issues but nothing to lessen the enjoyment of the stay. There is a nice size pool (1m at the shallow and 2.4m at the deep end). There is also a decent play area for children with swings, a jungle gym, a trampoline, a large chess board, and a tennis court. There is also a games room with a pool board, ping pong board, and some board games (all free of charge). This was nice, especially on the day it rained.

We were booked in for a bed and breakfast. The restaurant is big and can accommodate many patrons. The breakfast, as in most hotels, comes standard with the buffet (and al la carte menu). The spread included hot meals, fresh fruits, cereals, pastries, juice, and coffee. The lunch and supper menus are limited and a bit pricey. We only dined one night and being the only people present, the service was slow. I can imagine if there were many patrons at the restaurant service may be even slower. The sous chef was extremely friendly and came out to us to suggest some dishes for the children. The bar was unfortunately closed during that time.

There are also some wild animals like bucks and duikers that come onto the property, and this was great for the children to see. There are many peacocks on the property – so beware of their droppings. Overall, the stay was good. The staff was friendly and more than helpful on many levels. The view is fantastic. It was definitely worth the stay.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Garth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Wilson, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2023

Good Day Garth
Wow, what a lovely review!!!!
I can see how you really took time and effort in describing your experience at The Winkler Hotel and i thank you for that
I hope to see you and your family again as it was a pleasure hosting you.
We have major plans for this year and look forward to impressing you on your return
Have a great day further

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2022

We discovered this little gem. As you arrive at the hotel you are in awe with the beautiful surroundings from their well manicured lawn and gardens. The hotel is situated outside White River, approximately 3Km and it was very peaceful. The staff were very professional, helpful and extremely friendly - from the house keeper to the general manager!
The rooms were spacious, clean and airy. The AC worked like a dream and the mattress was super comfortable. From our balcony we had a view of the beautiful garden. Next time, I will stay in a room facing the pool area.
We had breakfast at the hotel and it was excellent! Although we didn't lunch and dine, we did have a late afternoon toasted sandwiches which were delicious! Again, the waiters and kitchen were very friendly and efficient in their service.
I love, love the deck in front of the bar area and dinning area. Every morning and afternoon we were greeted by the beautiful peacocks and we saw impala and monkeys in their picturesque garden facing the pool area.
Next time I will be prepared for a swim! The garden also has a play area for kids, a trampoline, tennis court and an oversized chess board and under a tree.
This is definitely a hotel I will return too and recommend it to families as well as business people.
On my departure date, in all my hurry, i had forgotten a few items of clothing in the hanging section. The hotel contacted us later and informed us of what we had left behind! With a team of this integrity, what else can I say but, SEE YOU NEXT TIME!
KANIMANBO!

Room tip: Rooms with a view of the pool area
Date of stay: January 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationer65359
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Wilson, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2022

Good Day
Thank you for your lovely review, we will continue to improve and impress
We look forward to your return to us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2021

they have a great and friendly team, with just minor challenges especially with the doors, sometimes they just don't work and you will spend time outside while they trying to fix them. otherwise, it's a nice place to stay.

Date of stay: November 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank phumlanizwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Wilson, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2022

Good Day
Thank you for your review, the doors have all been reprogrammed to avoid keycard errors and I'm happy to report this has been resolved

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2021

Arriving at the hotel, it's very scenic. The area where I stayed was all single story and opened to a large parklike area. Rooms were clean but dated but worked for what I needed it for...sleep. I was disappointed with the shower as the water never got above warm, although I notified the hotel. There is a large patio next to the bar that works well for relaxing at the end of the day. A Breakfast buffet was provided daily with a good complement of local foods.

Room tip: Rooms on N/side are older but they are 1 story and open to the park. Newer rooms are in a multi-story building.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Wilson, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2023

Good Day
Its pleasing to hear that you found The Winkler and its surroundings visually appealing. We are glad that our rooms served your needs and that you found the large patio and breakfast to your liking. Your feedback regarding the shower temperature is noted. Our priority is to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back where we aim to provide more seamless experiences

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2020 via mobile

I stayed at the Winkler for about a week with a discounted rate due to Covid19.
The hotel is beautiful, the park in front is huge and the place is perfect for kids and adults alike. I opted not to take my breakfast and dinner there, so can't tell about the restaurant.
The staff was always very helpful as in a top hotel. Beds were comfy and the bathroom is smallish but has a bath and is clean.
I highly recommend this hotel if you want to have a relaxing stay in White River

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank david84maputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon Sutherland, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Good day David,

Thank you for your kind words and great review after your recent stay with us at Premier Hotel the Winkler.

I cannot agree more regarding the gardens, two weeks of solid rain ensure a beautiful lush green lawn and Spring is most certainly n full swing now.

I'll be sure to share your comments with the wonderful TEAM I am blessed to work with

Thanks again for the review.


Yours in Hospitality.


Simon Sutherland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews