We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in White River
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for our Kruger national park safari. The rooms were comfortable and the pool looked very nice and I saw someone making use of it we had two nights here breakfast was good and there was wifi in the reception and restaurant. We did have to get up one morning at 4 to be at Kruger for 5.30 opening time which we got a breakfast box to take with us.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear Laca,

Thank you for the review after your recent stay with us at Premier Hotel The Winkler. It's through your most valued feedback that we are able to measure ourselves and see how we are progressing in our quest to exceed our GUESTS expectations.

Due to the high volumes going into the park at present most guides try to get to the gates early as they open earlier in Summer so the getting up early is a small price to pay for what you can experience and see the majesty of Africa up close and personal.

Our pool is always inviting, even in the winter months as it rarely gets cold here so next time I hope to see you in there too.

Thanks again for your review.

Yours in hospitality

Simon Sutherland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2016

Was there on honeymoon 36 years ago and was not let down. Excellent location, very friendly staff, tasty buffet. We loved every minute of it! Great springboard location for sightseeing around the area and Kruger Park. It was a pleasure to meet busloads of foreigners coming to see our beautiful country.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank luis584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear Luis,

Thank you so much for your positive comments that you posted on Tripadvisor for Premier Hotel The Winkler. It's through your most valued feedback that we are able to measure how well we are really producing in terms of service food and standards.
And it was great to see that you engaged with all the tourists, as one of the closest hotels to the Kruger Park we are an extremely popular choice for all Nationalities.

Thanks again for the review.

Yours in hospitality

Simon Sutherland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Did a 2 week tour of SA and this was the last and worst hotel on my stay. The rooms were depressing and TV stations were not clear. No wifi in the rooms. It was only available at the main reception area and bar/restaurant. We were up at 5am each morning to do a safari so thank God we were not spending to much time in the hotel. Evening meal was buffet and rubbish overcooked slop. The bar staff were the worst of all. My wife doesnt drink alcohol most of the time and if she does it would be a cocktail. The bar staff made such a hissy fit when I asked them to make a cocktail. This was ongoing for the 3 nights we stayed there.I ended up promising a good tip if they just made the cocktails and stopped moaning. I have reviewed all the hotels I stayed in SA (7 in total) and this was the only one I really hated. We were on a tour group and everybody hated the hotel. 28 people

Room Tip: avoid. Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relayponey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Dear Relayponey,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit at our hotel.

I must apologise for the disappointing stay that you had with us.
Regarding the TV channels we were struck by lightening that week and this affected the the signal and took out several decoders. This has since been addressed and we have added additional channels for your enjoyment.

The Wifi is an ongoing challenge and whilst we do offer a complimentary, uncapped service in the main building we are working on a solution to have this available throughout the property.

Thank you for bringing the bar issue to my attention, this will be addressed with immediate effect, as they have all been trained to prepare cocktails and this should not have been a problem for them.

Our chef will be disappointed with your comments as he makes every effort to ensure all our GUESTS are happy and most occasions we do get this right but obviously during your stay we dropped the ball somewhere and again this will be rectified.

Hopefully you will return to the region again sometime and we can show you what the Winkler is really about.
Once again I offer my sincere apologies and assure you that the above will be addressed.

Yours in hospitality


Simon Sutherland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We had stayed at the Winkler about 20 years ago several times while visiting the Kruger Park and this was a trip "down memory lane". The hotel doesn't seem to have changed much at all and in some ways has a quaint traditional feel to it. I understand that it is soon to be refurbished so I hope the traditional feel is maintained but that the slightly tired look and facilities can be modernised successfully.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Dear Simon,

Thank you so much for taking your trip down Memory Lane and reviewing the Winkler on Tripadvisor. It's through your most valued feedback that we are able to maintain and where possible exceed the standards that one would expect at a Premier Hotel. And as a long standing GUEST of over 20 years who better than to provide such feedback.

As discussed during your stay we will be carrying out a soft refurbishment soon but rest assured the traditional Country feel will be retained along with all the friendly faces that you have come to know during your visits.

Looking forward to your next visit and have you experience our still traditional good old fashioned hospitality but with a modern flair.

Thanks again for the review.

Yours in hospitality

Simon Sutherland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

The hotel is located in a beautiful and quiet spot. We spent just two nights, to visit Kruger Park. The staff if really helpful and makes you fell comfortable during the whole stay.
i would stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChofaArg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Dear Chofa,

Thank you so much for posting a review of Premier Hotel The Winkler on Tripadvisor, your most valued feedback is useful a s a yardstick to see how we are perceived by our GUESTS.

Hopefully you had some great sightings in the Kruger Park as most of our GUESTS last week saw the big five and so much more.

Great to hear that the TEAM looked after you so well and made you feel so comfortable during your stay with us.

And hopefully we will see you again sometime.

Thanks again for the review.

Yours in Hospitality

Simon Sutherland
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
6,2 km away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 9 in White River
229 reviews
17,8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
26,9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11,1 km away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#2 of 9 in White River
193 reviews
33,1 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
31,2 km away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel The Winkler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel The Winkler

Address: R538 Numbi Gate Road, White River 1249, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in White River
Price Range: R1 026 - R1 656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel The Winkler 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its ideal location, Premier Hotel The Winkler is the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful surrounding area. Only 20 minutes drive from the famous Kruger National Park and with easy access to attractions like the Blyde River Canyon, Sabie Waterfalls and Pilgrim's Rest. Premier Hotel The Winkler provides visitors with an incredible base from which to explore the rich African beauty of the Mpumalanga province. Founded around 1890, the town of White River has a rich history and has become both a tourism centre and a point of interest for those wishing to witness one of the most unique farming cultures in South Africa. Premier Hotel The Winkler is situated just 14km for the Kruger Mpumalanga Airport, a short 20 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, 10km outside of White River and a 30 minute drive to Nelspruit. The climate is said to be one of the best in South Africa, neither excessively hot in summer when rainfall is at its highest, nor overly cold during the sunny winters. Known for its scenic beauty, Mpumalanga offers visitors a front row seat to the majesty of Africa. The largest and most famous game reserve in South Africa lies at the heart of the Lowveld, a 20 minute drive from Premier Hotel The Winkler, the Kruger National Park is a wildlife experience like no other and allows visitors the opportunity to immerse themselves in the unpredictability of this iconic piece of Africa. The waterways of Mpumalanga offer explorers the opportunity to experience a different side of Africa, from the views over the sheer edges of the Blyde River Canyon 800m above the riverbed below to the tropical rain-forests that dominate the eastern side of the Crocodile River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Hotel The Winkler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing