We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Nearby Hotels
Pine Lake Inn(White River)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$118
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casterbridge Hollow(White River)
US$296
US$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$336
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
79
125
67
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
125
67
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskruger national parkdinner buffetwi fienjoyed my staythe general managernumbi gatepleasant stayswimming pooleasy accesshome away from homeproteasimonatriumknpvenuetranquilitynelspruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Was there on honeymoon 36 years ago and was not let down. Excellent location, very friendly staff, tasty buffet. We loved every minute of it! Great springboard location for sightseeing around the area and Kruger Park. It was a pleasure to meet busloads of foreigners coming to see our beautiful country.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank luis584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear Luis,

Thank you so much for your positive comments that you posted on Tripadvisor for Premier Hotel The Winkler. It's through your most valued feedback that we are able to measure how well we are really producing in terms of service food and standards.
And it was great to see that you engaged with all the tourists, as one of the closest hotels to the Kruger Park we are an extremely popular choice for all Nationalities.

Thanks again for the review.

Yours in hospitality

Simon Sutherland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Did a 2 week tour of SA and this was the last and worst hotel on my stay. The rooms were depressing and TV stations were not clear. No wifi in the rooms. It was only available at the main reception area and bar/restaurant. We were up at 5am each morning to do a safari so thank God we were not spending to much time in the hotel. Evening meal was buffet and rubbish overcooked slop. The bar staff were the worst of all. My wife doesnt drink alcohol most of the time and if she does it would be a cocktail. The bar staff made such a hissy fit when I asked them to make a cocktail. This was ongoing for the 3 nights we stayed there.I ended up promising a good tip if they just made the cocktails and stopped moaning. I have reviewed all the hotels I stayed in SA (7 in total) and this was the only one I really hated. We were on a tour group and everybody hated the hotel. 28 people

Room Tip: avoid. Book elsewhere
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relayponey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Dear Relayponey,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit at our hotel.

I must apologise for the disappointing stay that you had with us.
Regarding the TV channels we were struck by lightening that week and this affected the the signal and took out several decoders. This has since been addressed and we have added additional channels for your enjoyment.

The Wifi is an ongoing challenge and whilst we do offer a complimentary, uncapped service in the main building we are working on a solution to have this available throughout the property.

Thank you for bringing the bar issue to my attention, this will be addressed with immediate effect, as they have all been trained to prepare cocktails and this should not have been a problem for them.

Our chef will be disappointed with your comments as he makes every effort to ensure all our GUESTS are happy and most occasions we do get this right but obviously during your stay we dropped the ball somewhere and again this will be rectified.

Hopefully you will return to the region again sometime and we can show you what the Winkler is really about.
Once again I offer my sincere apologies and assure you that the above will be addressed.

Yours in hospitality


Simon Sutherland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We had stayed at the Winkler about 20 years ago several times while visiting the Kruger Park and this was a trip "down memory lane". The hotel doesn't seem to have changed much at all and in some ways has a quaint traditional feel to it. I understand that it is soon to be refurbished so I hope the traditional feel is maintained but that the slightly tired look and facilities can be modernised successfully.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Dear Simon,

Thank you so much for taking your trip down Memory Lane and reviewing the Winkler on Tripadvisor. It's through your most valued feedback that we are able to maintain and where possible exceed the standards that one would expect at a Premier Hotel. And as a long standing GUEST of over 20 years who better than to provide such feedback.

As discussed during your stay we will be carrying out a soft refurbishment soon but rest assured the traditional Country feel will be retained along with all the friendly faces that you have come to know during your visits.

Looking forward to your next visit and have you experience our still traditional good old fashioned hospitality but with a modern flair.

Thanks again for the review.

Yours in hospitality

Simon Sutherland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

The hotel is located in a beautiful and quiet spot. We spent just two nights, to visit Kruger Park. The staff if really helpful and makes you fell comfortable during the whole stay.
i would stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChofaArg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Dear Chofa,

Thank you so much for posting a review of Premier Hotel The Winkler on Tripadvisor, your most valued feedback is useful a s a yardstick to see how we are perceived by our GUESTS.

Hopefully you had some great sightings in the Kruger Park as most of our GUESTS last week saw the big five and so much more.

Great to hear that the TEAM looked after you so well and made you feel so comfortable during your stay with us.

And hopefully we will see you again sometime.

Thanks again for the review.

Yours in Hospitality

Simon Sutherland
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

A beautiful, atmospheric hotel with wonderful staff who would do anything for you,including the manager,who was so helpful. My room was very clean and well presented with lovely views over the gardens. A plate of fruit was there as a welcome gift. I would have loved to stay there longer.

Room Tip: All rooms were on the ground floor with easy access and beautiful views over the gardens
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Dear Judith,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of Premier Hotel The Winkler on TripAdvisor.
Your comments always go a long way to motivating the TEAM and keep them all on top of their game and provide the service that one has come to expect at Premier Hotel The Winkler. It is truly a pleasure to be part of them.

The gardens that you mentioned are just coming into their full glory now after such a devastating drought, so you stayed at the right time.

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and who knows might see you again soon and then you can stay on for longer.

Yours in hospitality


Simon Sutherland
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews