We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The Lodge is in a lovely location with a pool and view over a lake in the distance. Food was good and service friendly. One small problem: the kettle, which worked at reception, would not work in the bedroom where there was electricity, perhaps because it was too powerful for the sockets there.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2017

We decided on a last minute booking at Hulala where I had last stayed 25 years ago . great to see that some things don't change but just get better. We enjoyed the birdlife and outdoor activities. An ideally situated location for exploring the Lowveld.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 313rolandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 January 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
it is when our guest experience this kid of enjoyment it only encourages our team to go that extra mile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

i cannot fault Hulala for excellence in food , service and rooms. A real effort was made by both staff and management in respect of all interactions with us.
This is a boutique hotel but with a personal feel which suits both family and business guests.
My only small quibble is that on Christmas Day where an extra R320.00 pp was charged - and which was an absolute awesome meal and included a small gift for all the children- our party of 6 who were staying in the hotel for 4 nights were overlooked in table placements for those who were only attending the lunch for that day. We ended up in the entrance way which made for a rather busy positionas a result of people going to and from the buffet area.
However congratulations and full marks to Sean and his staff.
we intend to make Hulala a permanent holiday destination.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FreewheelinJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 January 2017

thank you so much for your wonderful review for Hulala. we will keep in mind your comment on the placing of he table, for future reference. and apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused yourself and your guest.

the Hulala team looks forward to welcoming you back to Hulala in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

I stayed there many times before. The breakfast was not good with flies climbing on the food and nobody to look after the food. Waiters are not trained well and misunderstand requests and that was imbarrising with a partner.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 919hermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 January 2017

Thank you for your Review , i will personally be looking into your comments and making sure that when you visit the lodge again that all the concerns that you have mentioned would have been taken care of .
the Hulala team look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

This lodge offers 2 options of day or sunset boat cruise. The cruise is an hour long with snacks served on board but drinks are own expense. Enjoyed spectacular views and the serenity!! The cost is reasonably affordable.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
17,5 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
14,2 km away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 9 in White River
229 reviews
30,4 km away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11,5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
18,8 km away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 9 in White River
284 reviews
16,9 km away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hulala Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hulala Lakeside Lodge

Address: Farm Etna R40 between White River and Hazyview Mpumalanga 1240 | P. O. Box 1382, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in White River
Price Range: R1 751 - R2 217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hulala Lakeside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hulala Lakeside Lodge is situated on the da Gama Dam surrounded by a Forrest of Indigenous Trees and is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Enjoy our daily Cruise around the Dam and take in the peace and tranquility while experiencing the extensive Bird life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hulala Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hulala Lakeside Hotel White River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing