We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2016 December” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hulala Lakeside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in White River
JHB
1 review
“2016 December”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017

We decided on a last minute booking at Hulala where I had last stayed 25 years ago . great to see that some things don't change but just get better. We enjoyed the birdlife and outdoor activities. An ideally situated location for exploring the Lowveld.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 313rolandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hulala Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
it is when our guest experience this kid of enjoyment it only encourages our team to go that extra mile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    72
    42
    14
    10
See reviews for
31
113
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

i cannot fault Hulala for excellence in food , service and rooms. A real effort was made by both staff and management in respect of all interactions with us.
This is a boutique hotel but with a personal feel which suits both family and business guests.
My only small quibble is that on Christmas Day where an extra R320.00 pp was charged - and which was an absolute awesome meal and included a small gift for all the children- our party of 6 who were staying in the hotel for 4 nights were overlooked in table placements for those who were only attending the lunch for that day. We ended up in the entrance way which made for a rather busy positionas a result of people going to and from the buffet area.
However congratulations and full marks to Sean and his staff.
we intend to make Hulala a permanent holiday destination.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FreewheelinJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hulala Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, 4 January 2017
thank you so much for your wonderful review for Hulala. we will keep in mind your comment on the placing of he table, for future reference. and apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused yourself and your guest.

the Hulala team looks forward to welcoming you back to Hulala in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

I stayed there many times before. The breakfast was not good with flies climbing on the food and nobody to look after the food. Waiters are not trained well and misunderstand requests and that was imbarrising with a partner.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 919hermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hulala Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, 4 January 2017
Thank you for your Review , i will personally be looking into your comments and making sure that when you visit the lodge again that all the concerns that you have mentioned would have been taken care of .
the Hulala team look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

This lodge offers 2 options of day or sunset boat cruise. The cruise is an hour long with snacks served on board but drinks are own expense. Enjoyed spectacular views and the serenity!! The cost is reasonably affordable.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016

We bought a three night stay on Groupon. We were pleasantly surprised with Hulala lakeside lodge. The accomodation, food and service were all great. We would glady make use of similar offers. The breakfast buffet and menu option for the dinners was also fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hulala Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, 13 December 2016
The Hulala team would like to thank you for the great review.

and we look forward to welcoming you back for another stay

kind regards
the Hulala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these White River hotels
3.9 km away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
5.5 km away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
12.0 km away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Casterbridge Hollow
Casterbridge Hollow
#3 of 10 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
3.2 km away
Nut Grove Manor
Nut Grove Manor
#2 of 37 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
5.3 km away
El Roi Guest Lodge
El Roi Guest Lodge
#6 of 37 in White River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hulala Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hulala Lakeside Lodge

Property: Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Address: Farm Etna R40 between White River and Hazyview Mpumalanga 1240 | P. O. Box 1382, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price range (per night): R1 619 - R2 036
Hotel Class:4 star — Hulala Lakeside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hulala Lakeside Lodge is situated on the da Gama Dam surrounded by a Forrest of Indigenous Trees and is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Enjoy our daily Cruise around the Dam and take in the peace and tranquility while experiencing the extensive Bird life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hulala Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hulala Lakeside Hotel White River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing