We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Pine Lake Inn(White River)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$372
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casterbridge Hollow(White River)
US$305
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$459
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
70
90
51
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
90
51
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset cruisemain building haslake viewkruger parkthe security guardafter spendingbar fridgesgreat food and friendly stafffish eaglespiece of heavenholiday destinationmajor attractionsbird lifeold worldan easy drivebeautiful treesrelaxing stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2017

i cannot fault Hulala for excellence in food , service and rooms. A real effort was made by both staff and management in respect of all interactions with us.
This is a boutique hotel but with a personal feel which suits both family and business guests.
My only small quibble is that on Christmas Day where an extra R320.00 pp was charged - and which was an absolute awesome meal and included a small gift for all the children- our party of 6 who were staying in the hotel for 4 nights were overlooked in table placements for those who were only attending the lunch for that day. We ended up in the entrance way which made for a rather busy positionas a result of people going to and from the buffet area.
However congratulations and full marks to Sean and his staff.
we intend to make Hulala a permanent holiday destination.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FreewheelinJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 January 2017

thank you so much for your wonderful review for Hulala. we will keep in mind your comment on the placing of he table, for future reference. and apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused yourself and your guest.

the Hulala team looks forward to welcoming you back to Hulala in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

I stayed there many times before. The breakfast was not good with flies climbing on the food and nobody to look after the food. Waiters are not trained well and misunderstand requests and that was imbarrising with a partner.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 919hermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 January 2017

Thank you for your Review , i will personally be looking into your comments and making sure that when you visit the lodge again that all the concerns that you have mentioned would have been taken care of .
the Hulala team look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

This lodge offers 2 options of day or sunset boat cruise. The cruise is an hour long with snacks served on board but drinks are own expense. Enjoyed spectacular views and the serenity!! The cost is reasonably affordable.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We bought a three night stay on Groupon. We were pleasantly surprised with Hulala lakeside lodge. The accomodation, food and service were all great. We would glady make use of similar offers. The breakfast buffet and menu option for the dinners was also fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 December 2016

The Hulala team would like to thank you for the great review.

and we look forward to welcoming you back for another stay

kind regards
the Hulala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

I really appreciated the location of this lodge because it is on the river side. The room was a big one with nice African style furniture. The only negative point is that the central heating was off and it was quite cold in the room.
The restaurant serves very good food and the service is really good as well.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YleniaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2016

Good Day

we thank you for 4 star review on Hulala .
your comment with regards to the room being cold will be investigated.

we look forward to welcoming you back to our wonderful lodge in the future

kind regards

Sean Light

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews