We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So Hotel”
Review of Pine Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pine Lake Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in White River
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So So Hotel”
Reviewed 15 December 2016

We stayed 3 nights while visiting the Kruger National Park. The restaurant was ok. The room had no facial tissue, the bathroom door stuck, the towels were cheap not fluffy, and the wifi only worked half the time. Their was a nice lake and a golf course near by. It had an outdoor pool and tennis courts.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    47
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
39
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2016

All the staff are friendly and so efficient! Mentioned that we had ants on the balcony, within five minutes the guy was there dealing with them. Take time out to talk to Steve the excellent manager, he will tell you the history of the lake and surroundings. Steve is just amazing, not many hotel mangers go to the lengths to provide an unforgettable stay! He lent us fishing rods, no fish sadly took the bait!! Sorted out a major problem with the car hire company too. Have spent a lot of time in African corporate hotels, this beats them all. Buffet food is plentiful and varied. Outdoor pool is always clean and well maintained, peacocks strut their stuff frequently around the pool area. We always stay here on route to the Kruger.

Room Tip: Downstairs overlooking the pool and lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan10667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights on our Gate1 tour. We were assigned to room 503, which was downstairs and had a musty smell when we arrived. Opening the windows for awhile seemed to help.
The room was spacious, with two double beds, but quite basic in its furnishings and amenities. No refrigerator, unusable wifi (except in the very wee hours of the morning), and sparse tioiletries.
Box breakfasts were provided for our early morning game drives, and they were quite generous, including a sandwich, egg, fruit, juice, and muffin. The last morning we ate in the dining room and the breakfast was delicious. Eggs, bacon, sausage, French toast, pancakes, fruit, yogurt, juices.
The dining room was huge, and we were assigned a section for our group. It was a bit confusing, however, as there were two buffet lines with items that were not identical. There were sliced meats, side dishes, and assorted desserts. All were good, but not memorable.
The grounds are beautiful. The terrace is lighted at night and is breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
568 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 912 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

My husband and I had the absolute pleasure to stay at Pine Lake Inn for the second time from Friday, 12 August – Sunday, 14 August 2016.

After a busy week of exploring the Panorama route Pine Lake Inn provided the perfect oasis to relax and revive body, mind and soul.

We were warmly welcomed back at reception and immediately felt at home.

Our room (528) was spacious with an en-suite bathroom which boasted a large shower. The room was re-furbished and boasted modern décor and furniture. There was a large flat-screen TV. The safe is located inside the cupboard at the entrance to the room. Coffee and tea facilities were available in our room.

We anticipated our buffet dinner on the Friday evening and we were not disappointed. Everything was freshly prepared, beautifully presented and tasted just as delicious as we remembered from our previous stay.

The breakfast spread was equally delicious with a good selection of dishes to choose from. The crumpets were extra delicious and reminded us of our Grandmothers crumpets.

Each and every staff member we encountered was very friendly and ensured that we were satisfied during our entire stay.

Steve, the general manager mingled with guests and ensured that we were satisfied and comfortable. His genuine care for our well being was very clear throughout our entire stay at Pine Lake Inn.

The magnificent male Peacock gave us a graceful show which was the perfect ending to our wonderful, relaxing and romantic stay at Pine Lake Inn.

We cannot wait to return to this gem!

Room Tip: Our room was just off the courtyard and not noisy at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zerwickrenatevictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016

This is a breathtaking place. The staff is very well organised and very professional. Sally recieved her guests with great professionalism.
The buffet is excellent. The rooms are splendid and so clean, very romantic too.
As a Tourist guide, it is my first time here, but Definately not the last.
All I can say is that everything is Perfection.
Well done guys.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
0.3 km away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
203 reviews
6.6 km away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
240 reviews
23.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#2 of 10 in White River
290 reviews
17.3 km away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
174 reviews
28.8 km away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Inn

Property: Pine Lake Inn
Address: Main Hazyview Road, White River 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price range (per night): R1 284 - R1 596
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Lake Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the woodlands and overlooking a vast lake and with its own nine hole golf course,the whole setting for Pine Lake Inn exudes peace and tranquility.An inspiraional setting for your conference or incentive programme andfully equipped with all the technical support that you will need.This home away from home has an intimate atmosphere,lending a feeling of understated elegance and comfort which prefectly compliments the breathtaking scenic beauty of the environment.There is also a swimming pool where you can enjoy relaxed dinning outdoors or enjoy our bowling green and floodlit tennis court,this idyllically positioned Hotel is also just 35 km outside the world-renowned Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing