We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half day tour to Hlulhwe and a river boat trip - both excellent”

Heritage Day Tours & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Heritage tours & Safaris was established by people that LOVE wildlife. Family owned and proudly South African, our aim has always been to enthusiastically share that love and passion with all the satisfied tourists that have been though our hands.Heritage Tours & Safaris offers the widest range of Big 5 Safaris, night drives, hippo and croc cruises and Whale Watching.Our safaris/activities are not only affordable but also offer our guests a value-filled product with a personal touch.We invite you to find out for yourself what sets us apart as a safari company.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 March 2018

i booked a last minute tour to St Lucia and Heritage Tours were very responsive in helping me to organise a half day tour to Hlulhwe and a late afternoon boat trip on the estuary. I ws picked up on tim eoutside my huest house and then drove for about an hour to the park. It was a pretty cold and wet day, unusual for the beginning of February, but we were still able to spot lots of animals, including rhinos, elephants and lions. Sometimes binoculars were required to get closer to the animals!
Our guide was very knowledgeable and did his best to make sure that we saw as much as possible. Breakfast stop was at Hill Top amp, what a beautiful camp and we shared our breakfast spot witha couple of warthogs!
In the afternoon, the weather was still not great on the estuary, but we saw lots of hippos, some crocodiles. The bird watching was rather limited due to the weather but Dennis was a great captain, pointing out what he could.
I would definitely recommend Heritage Tours if you're staying in St Lucia.

Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you very much for the amazing review. Unfortunately sometimes the weather has its own agenda however it is so pleasing to hear that you still had a tremendous time out in the bush with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"night safari"
in 44 reviews
"umlilo lodge"
in 13 reviews
"big safari"
in 10 reviews
"hluhluwe imfolozi"
in 17 reviews
"cape vidal"
in 39 reviews
"suzette"
in 5 reviews
"guide david"
in 12 reviews
"boat trip"
in 27 reviews
"outstanding service"
in 4 reviews
"safari package"
in 4 reviews
"spotting game"
in 4 reviews
"breakfast and lunch"
in 14 reviews
"hippo tour"
in 12 reviews
"hluhluwe game reserve"
in 12 reviews
"go the extra mile"
in 4 reviews
"nice breakfast"
in 5 reviews
"durban airport"
in 5 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2018

We booked the full day big 5 safari. A little before 5.00 our ranger picked us up and drove us to Hluhluwe-iMfolozi. During the safari we got nice explanations. We were however a bit unlucky with game viewing, no cats and only one elephant. But thats of course the "risk" of the bush.

The braai was a lovely addition. The boerewors and steak were great, as were the salads that were provided. All together a very nice and well organized day!

Thank Luuk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Hi Luuk

Thank you for taking the time for a lovely review of heritage tours, i think you need to come back so we can get you those elusive cats:)
So please you enjoyed our bush BBQ.
Look forward to hosting you on safari again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

The Safaris to Hluhluwe-Umfolozi and to Isimangaliso were wonderful ¡Amazing!
Thank you so much to John and Sky (sorry if I have wrote incorrect the name Sky), they were great, actually they have been the best guides we have ever had in Africa. Always were thoughtful and patient, and they taught us a lot about birds and the other animals, insects included. It was very interesting as well to know something relating to what is happening now with the Rhinos, Elefants and others in Southafrica and in Africa in general.
Congratulations to Heritage Tours

Thank Tomás P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

What a delight it is to read your comments and to know that we were able to make your safari a memorable one :)
I will be sure to pass on the compliment to John and Skigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

We did the full day safari at Hluhluwe-Imfolozi yesterday and we couldn't have wished for a better day.. Our guide John was really kind and patient and also very knowledgeable, giving us detailed information on the wildlife, their habits and the areas. The trip was a truly unforgettable experience and we were lucky enough to see so many animals, we even saw a lion up a tree! I recommend Heritage Tours and Safaris strongly as they delivered 100% on every aspect A-Z.

Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a glowing review :) and we could make your safari experience a memorable and unforgettable one.
I will be sure to pass on the kind compliments to John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018

I did not know what to expect going in, but I can assure you that this experience was totally worth it! Request for Zayne because he really knows his stuff when it comes to the tours and safari. It was cool to almost get run over by an elephant with him! 10 out of 5 stars would do everything again with Zayne <3

Thank christian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thank you ever so much for your amazing review and very kind words and recommendations i will be sure to pass them onto ranger Zayne.
We look forward to hosting you on safari again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heritage Day Tours & Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Day Tours & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing