We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 18:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Heritage Day Tours & Safaris
from US$65,10
More Info
from US$93,85
More Info
from US$111,73
More Info
Reviews (777)
Filter reviews
777 results
Traveller rating
669
86
8
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
669
86
8
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night safari safari package full day tour cape vidal hluhluwe imfolozi park breakfast and lunch driver guide hippo croc knew where boat trip great guide wonderful safari amazing experience animal sightings hluhluwe game reserve the reserve game drives
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 777 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

I can't recommend this tour enough. Our tour guide John was extremely knowledgeable and really went above and beyond. He explained everything we saw in great detail and really tried to show us all the park had to offer!! Braai expert too

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a glowing review of your holiday experience i will be sure to pass on the compliments to John (excellent guide and chef) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Comfortable cruise. We did not see any crocs. The guide was knowledgeable and showed us great hippo. And some complementary tea/coffee.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank EssackM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on shoreline hippo cruises i will be sure to pass the compliments :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

We booked the evening / night Turtle tour, but unfortunately the weather was against us. It was raining, windy and quite cool. The guide tried hard to find turtles , but conditions against us. Perhaps tour should have been cancelled.
Next morning we went into the office to complain and met Bev the manager. What a refreshing attitude, no argument and a full refund. Thank you, you turned a 1* review into a 5*.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank davidgZ9308PO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review shoreline turtle tours we pride ourselves in customer satisfaction and happy we could refund you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

Our group of four made our own way to St Lucia from Durban by road and found the Heritage Tours office without any problem. St Lucia is a small, one main street, town so difficult to get lost. We received our hotel and meal vouchers. Stayed at the Turtle Bay Lodge owned by Fiona & Jahn and they were the perfect hosts. Very hospitable, friendly, and welcoming. Rooms were large and clean. Had a walk in shower and full bath. Our room looked out over the pool. Breakfast was served at whatever time you wanted it. Everything was fresh and lots of it, including Fiona's home made bread and muffins. There is an "honesty bar" beside the pool. We felt like guests in someone's home.

The tours were good. Stacey, the tour guide was by far the best although all tour guides were knowledgeable about the animals and wildlife. Did the boat tour on our first day and got up really close to the hippos. The next day was a full day safari (with rain - so bring jackets and sweaters as it can get cold). Fortunately, the rain stopped by midday so we were able to have a famous South African "brai" (barbecue) where baby warthogs were running close by us. We got to see a rare black rhino, plus white rhinos, zebras, buffalos, gazelles, giraffes, and countless other animals but no "cats".

The night safari should not be missed as you see as many, if not more animals than on a day safari.

The beach at St Lucia (which was included on part of our third day tour) is interesting. Masks and snorkels are provided to swim amongst the various colored fish. Stacey prepared a great, delicious lunch.

Don't walk around St Lucia at night - there are signs advising this and you should adhere to them, because the hippos often wander into town at night eating the grass. They can run at 40+ kms an hour so you haven't a chance if they start chasing you. Go by car!

Food vouchers were valid at Ocean Basket and Braaza (sp?). The were ZAR 200 per person per meal and for four of us, we eat plenty, including wine, and still didn't spend the full value of the vouchers.

Would strongly recommend this trip to others.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank juliank776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

What a friendly group of people working at the office in Mackenzie street as well as super quick when you’re booking online! They have great attention to detail and I would highly recommend you book tours with them because of the service, attention to detail and how they make you feel as a customer!! We booked the Hippo and Croc tour for the kids and had a wonderful time. They are a great Organiser for all things At Lucia! I can’t thank them enough for making our experience of St Lucia so great that we’ll make an effort to do an annual trip!!! Out of all the tour operator companies in the street - I found this team of staff working the reception desks by far the most engaging, warm and helpful.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Michellea4640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a glowing review of your Shoreline Hippo cruise experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews