We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private hippo boat cruise”

Heritage Day Tours & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Heritage tours & Safaris was established by people that LOVE wildlife. Family owned and proudly South African, our aim has always been to enthusiastically share that love and passion with all the satisfied tourists that have been though our hands.Heritage Tours & Safaris offers the widest range of Big 5 Safaris, night drives, hippo and croc cruises and Whale Watching.Our safaris/activities are not only affordable but also offer our guests a value-filled product with a personal touch.We invite you to find out for yourself what sets us apart as a safari company.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

We booked the hippo/Croc boat cruise through heritage tours. This was definitely the way to get things done as the boat was spacious and it only accommodated 15 passengers which allowed for a more private and informative tour. We saw many families of hippos and other animals and the guide was very knowledgeable. The other tour operators had much larger boats and I think a lot of information is not able to be shared in such large groups. I'd definitely recommend heritage tours for an authentic experience.

Thank Voyager249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your awesome experience:)
much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"night safari"
in 44 reviews
"umlilo lodge"
in 13 reviews
"big safari"
in 10 reviews
"hluhluwe imfolozi"
in 17 reviews
"cape vidal"
in 39 reviews
"suzette"
in 5 reviews
"guide david"
in 12 reviews
"boat trip"
in 27 reviews
"outstanding service"
in 4 reviews
"safari package"
in 4 reviews
"spotting game"
in 4 reviews
"breakfast and lunch"
in 14 reviews
"hippo tour"
in 12 reviews
"hluhluwe game reserve"
in 12 reviews
"go the extra mile"
in 4 reviews
"nice breakfast"
in 5 reviews
"durban airport"
in 5 reviews
Filter

180 - 184 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2016

we booked this on recommendation.We visited the Hlwehlwe safari park, the river boat cruise, the night safari, Isamilingo wetlands and St Lucia beach. Excellent operator, friendly and expert staff with great lunches prepared fresh every day. Could not ask for more.

Thank Av S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your great experience :) I will be sure to pass the compliments onto our night drive team. We look forward to hosting you again on a night safari.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our night drive with Heritage Safari. Our guide was very knowledgeable, especially with additional info on birds. We appreciated that he made the effort to stop for smaller animals aswell, like genets and bushbabies, while looking for bigger game. Really impressed that there were only 6 people in the car, very nice to not be crammed in. It was well priced and we appreciated that we got some extra time in the park

Thank LaraJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2016

Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your great experience :) I will be sure to pass the compliments onto our night drive team. We look forward to hosting you again on a night safari.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015

We used Heritage Tours for a short stay in St Lucia after reading recommendations on TripAdvisor. Because of bad weather, blowing wind and rain, we weren't able to do the Hippo/Croc boat trip. Our money was refunded with no problem. That night we were scheduled for the night safari. It was still raining but our guide picked us up at our B&B and even though we were the only ones we went as scheduled. Our guide Theo was great, we saw many hippos grazing, hyena, waterbuck, a bushbaby, and many other animals. The next day, our guide, Jon picked us for an early morning game drive at Hluhluwe-Imfolozi national park. Very knowledgeable guide about all the animals and birds. Would highly recommend this company. They also booked our lodging at @Heritage House which was excellent. I'll review it in another post.

Thank Deb04033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2016


Thank you for taking the time to review the great service you received :) much appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again with some "sunny weather" thank you from the WHOLE team at Heritage Tours and Safaris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2015

Our South African experience was amazing with many in the group saying that it was those few days were the highlight of the trip.
We travel a lot & people often ask me whether I would go back to various places and mostly the answer is if our travels take us that way but St Lucia is a place we definitely want to back to and spend more time.
I cannot thank you Bev, and Heritage Tours for making this experience so great and so memorable. Our journey began with our lovely and very knowledgeable guide Dulce escorting us to St Lucia. Our lodge was great with very friendly staff, but your tour operators were amazing. Friendly, helpful, informative and so sensitive to the environment were the qualities that stood out with our group. I enjoyed a couple of trips with John whose knowledge blew me away. Thanks to your people also on the ground in St Lucia who agreed to transport us around on our last night, which was appreciated by all and a special thanks also to the lovely natured Zane who was our driver.
I must also add Bev that the food in St Lucia was amazing, the seafood at the Ocean Basket and the food at Braza fantastic. And the hospitality of your lovely nephew made us feel so welcome. Actually all the food we ate and all the people we met in St Lucia exceeded our expectations.
We enjoyed our return trip & tour of Durban with the lovely Dulce and she even escorted us all into the airport offering assistance at every stage, a truly beautiful person.

Thank clubgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heritage Day Tours & Safaris also viewed

 
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
St Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Heritage Day Tours & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing