We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Company”

Heritage Day Tours & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heritage tours & Safaris was established by people that LOVE wildlife. Family owned and proudly South African, our aim has always been to enthusiastically share that love and passion with all the satisfied tourists that have been though our hands.Heritage Tours & Safaris offers the widest range of Big 5 Safaris, night drives, hippo and croc cruises and Whale Watching.Our safaris/activities are not only affordable but also offer our guests a value-filled product with a personal touch.We invite you to find out for yourself what sets us apart as a safari company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Company”
Reviewed 21 December 2015

We used Heritage Tours for a short stay in St Lucia after reading recommendations on TripAdvisor. Because of bad weather, blowing wind and rain, we weren't able to do the Hippo/Croc boat trip. Our money was refunded with no problem. That night we were scheduled for the night safari. It was still raining but our guide picked us up at our B&B and even though we were the only ones we went as scheduled. Our guide Theo was great, we saw many hippos grazing, hyena, waterbuck, a bushbaby, and many other animals. The next day, our guide, Jon picked us for an early morning game drive at Hluhluwe-Imfolozi national park. Very knowledgeable guide about all the animals and birds. Would highly recommend this company. They also booked our lodging at @Heritage House which was excellent. I'll review it in another post.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank Deb04033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this review, 17 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review the great service you received :) much appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again with some "sunny weather" thank you from the WHOLE team at Heritage Tours and Safaris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    51
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 16 December 2015

Our South African experience was amazing with many in the group saying that it was those few days were the highlight of the trip.
We travel a lot & people often ask me whether I would go back to various places and mostly the answer is if our travels take us that way but St Lucia is a place we definitely want to back to and spend more time.
I cannot thank you Bev, and Heritage Tours for making this experience so great and so memorable. Our journey began with our lovely and very knowledgeable guide Dulce escorting us to St Lucia. Our lodge was great with very friendly staff, but your tour operators were amazing. Friendly, helpful, informative and so sensitive to the environment were the qualities that stood out with our group. I enjoyed a couple of trips with John whose knowledge blew me away. Thanks to your people also on the ground in St Lucia who agreed to transport us around on our last night, which was appreciated by all and a special thanks also to the lovely natured Zane who was our driver.
I must also add Bev that the food in St Lucia was amazing, the seafood at the Ocean Basket and the food at Braza fantastic. And the hospitality of your lovely nephew made us feel so welcome. Actually all the food we ate and all the people we met in St Lucia exceeded our expectations.
We enjoyed our return trip & tour of Durban with the lovely Dulce and she even escorted us all into the airport offering assistance at every stage, a truly beautiful person.

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
Thank clubgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“1st visit to St Lucia”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 via mobile

1st of all I must say Precious who I didn't get to meet in person was awesome she made our planning experience really easy, so thank you Precious. Every thing was absolutely fabulous from our accommodations at Lodge Arfique to all our AMAZING TOURS, we enjoyed ourselves so much that we decided to satay an extra night to relax and really take in the area. Believe it when they say beware of the Hippos at night, one evening after dinner we upon leaving a restaurant walk out with a Hippo right there it was a wonderful end to a wonderful day. Thanks Heritage for an amazing 4 days!

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Nedra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this review, 17 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your great experience :) I will be sure to pass the compliments onto our team and Precious. We look forward to hosting you again in our beautiful part of South Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We booked a four day Safari experience with Heritage Day Tours and had a great time, which I would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

We were picked up at Durban airport by Vusi, who was a chatty driver and kept us entertained on the ~2.5 hour drive to St Lucia. He dropped us off at our accommodation, Heritage House, where we were checked in by Elizabeth who was a gracious and accommodating host for the duration of our stay. We finished off the day with a river tour with Tabby as our guide, who shows us hippos, crocodiles and pelicans on the estuary running past St Lucia.

Our guide for the next few days was John, who took us on a day-long game drive around Hluhluwe-Mfolozi, a wetlands tour of iSimangalso and on trips to a cheetah breeding project and to a Zulu cultural village. All were excellent experiences, and John is a friendly and informative guide. I'd happily take tours with him again in the future!

We also took a night tour with Zamani to catch some of the nocturnal creatures in iSimangaliso, and had time to squeeze in a turtle tour with Jacques, who managed to find us a loggerhead turtle who has just come out of the sea to lay her eggs. Again, both great experiences!

I'd recommend tours with Heritage (and a stay at Heritage House) to anyone visiting Kwazulu-Natal who wants to spot some wildlife.

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this review, 27 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time for a great review, much appreciated :)
We look forward to hosting again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Heritage Tours”
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We had an amazing 4 days with Heritage Tours. We were very impressed with the knowledge of all the staff we met. Especially , Vusi, who did some very long driving for us, David who took us on a wonderful tour of Hluhluwe and pointed out so many animals that we would have missed if we had driven ourselves. Theo who took us on a night safari, spotting the tiniest of animals, Tabby who's enthusiasm on the wetlands safari was quite wonderful. If you are going to St Lucia and want to do the safari's , I would recommend Heritage Tours as they are so well organised, accommodating,helpful and real value for money.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank jag434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this review, 27 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time for a great review, much appreciated :)
We look forward to hosting again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heritage Day Tours & Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Day Tours & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing