We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Heritage Day Tours & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heritage tours & Safaris was established by people that LOVE wildlife. Family owned and proudly South African, our aim has always been to enthusiastically share that love and passion with all the satisfied tourists that have been though our hands.Heritage Tours & Safaris offers the widest range of Big 5 Safaris, night drives, hippo and croc cruises and Whale Watching.Our safaris/activities are not only affordable but also offer our guests a value-filled product with a personal touch.We invite you to find out for yourself what sets us apart as a safari company.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We booked a four day Safari experience with Heritage Day Tours and had a great time, which I would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

We were picked up at Durban airport by Vusi, who was a chatty driver and kept us entertained on the ~2.5 hour drive to St Lucia. He dropped us off at our accommodation, Heritage House, where we were checked in by Elizabeth who was a gracious and accommodating host for the duration of our stay. We finished off the day with a river tour with Tabby as our guide, who shows us hippos, crocodiles and pelicans on the estuary running past St Lucia.

Our guide for the next few days was John, who took us on a day-long game drive around Hluhluwe-Mfolozi, a wetlands tour of iSimangalso and on trips to a cheetah breeding project and to a Zulu cultural village. All were excellent experiences, and John is a friendly and informative guide. I'd happily take tours with him again in the future!

We also took a night tour with Zamani to catch some of the nocturnal creatures in iSimangaliso, and had time to squeeze in a turtle tour with Jacques, who managed to find us a loggerhead turtle who has just come out of the sea to lay her eggs. Again, both great experiences!

I'd recommend tours with Heritage (and a stay at Heritage House) to anyone visiting Kwazulu-Natal who wants to spot some wildlife.

1  Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time for a great review, much appreciated :)
We look forward to hosting again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2015

We had an amazing 4 days with Heritage Tours. We were very impressed with the knowledge of all the staff we met. Especially , Vusi, who did some very long driving for us, David who took us on a wonderful tour of Hluhluwe and pointed out so many animals that we would have missed if we had driven ourselves. Theo who took us on a night safari, spotting the tiniest of animals, Tabby who's enthusiasm on the wetlands safari was quite wonderful. If you are going to St Lucia and want to do the safari's , I would recommend Heritage Tours as they are so well organised, accommodating,helpful and real value for money.

Thank jag434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time for a great review, much appreciated :)
We look forward to hosting again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

Excellent trip. We were lucky to see a cheetah with a cub, elephant, buffalo, lion, elephant, lots of white rhino. Impala, kudu, wildebeest, giraffe, wild dogs, hyena, baboons. Like I said, we were lucky. Thanks to Dave who was an excellent guide.

Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time for the lovely review :) much appreciate the kind compliments and will be sure to pass them onto David. We look forward to hosting you again on safari (with David)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Fantastic and great value for money, full day safari. Saw lion, zebra, rhino, giraffe, elephant, amazing experience.

1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time for the lovely review :) much appreciate the kind compliments and will be sure to pass them onto the team. We look forward to hosting you again on safari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

Precious was so pleasant and helpful that I felt very pleased dealing with Heritage Tours. I made a mistake with the dates when I booked. When I arrived at the office Bev said that they had looked for us that morning. Before I even realised that I was responsible for the error she calmly made the adjustments without any fuss.
The game drives were wonderful. David and Theo were impressive tour guides. We felt we had great value for money and seeing the big 4 was a bonus.

1  Thank magells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time for the lovely review :) much appreciate the kind compliments and will be sure to pass them onto Bev and Precious. We look forward to hosting you again on safari.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heritage Day Tours & Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Day Tours & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing