We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“safari tour”

Heritage Day Tours & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Heritage tours & Safaris was established by people that LOVE wildlife. Family owned and proudly South African, our aim has always been to enthusiastically share that love and passion with all the satisfied tourists that have been though our hands.Heritage Tours & Safaris offers the widest range of Big 5 Safaris, night drives, hippo and croc cruises and Whale Watching.Our safaris/activities are not only affordable but also offer our guests a value-filled product with a personal touch.We invite you to find out for yourself what sets us apart as a safari company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Fantastic and great value for money, full day safari. Saw lion, zebra, rhino, giraffe, elephant, amazing experience.

1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time for the lovely review :) much appreciate the kind compliments and will be sure to pass them onto the team. We look forward to hosting you again on safari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"night safari"
in 47 reviews
"umlilo lodge"
in 13 reviews
"big safari"
in 11 reviews
"guide david"
in 14 reviews
"cape vidal"
in 40 reviews
"suzette"
in 5 reviews
"hluhluwe imfolozi"
in 17 reviews
"safari package"
in 5 reviews
"steak"
in 15 reviews
"boat trip"
in 27 reviews
"outstanding service"
in 4 reviews
"spotting game"
in 4 reviews
"breakfast and lunch"
in 15 reviews
"go the extra mile"
in 4 reviews
"whole team"
in 4 reviews
"hippo tour"
in 12 reviews
"hluhluwe game reserve"
in 12 reviews
Filter

209 - 213 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

Precious was so pleasant and helpful that I felt very pleased dealing with Heritage Tours. I made a mistake with the dates when I booked. When I arrived at the office Bev said that they had looked for us that morning. Before I even realised that I was responsible for the error she calmly made the adjustments without any fuss.
The game drives were wonderful. David and Theo were impressive tour guides. We felt we had great value for money and seeing the big 4 was a bonus.

1  Thank magells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time for the lovely review :) much appreciate the kind compliments and will be sure to pass them onto Bev and Precious. We look forward to hosting you again on safari.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

We've booked the half day Safari one day before. The day Safari was already fully booked. Early booking might be a good idea;) the price for half day is 750 and for one day 850. David, our guide picked us up at our lodge 5am. (If you are staying in St. Lucia, Heritage Tours will pick you up). In summary we were 7 People... Lovely small group. It's a 50 minutes drive to Hluhluwe. David was a very experienced and carefully guide. We saw a lot of animals Lions, elefants, rhino, giraffe, zebra, impalas... Etc. He gave us a lot of information about all the animals and answered every question we had :) the included breakfast was nice and in a good atmosphere. Thanks again to David, who made our half day Safari so Perfect!

Thank TanjaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time for a great review, much appreciated :)
We look forward to hosting again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

Well we booked the following with Heritage Tours
Nite safari - Timber was our guide.We were picked up at our accommodation at about 8 and took to the gates about three mins away. Advise is wrap up warm as blankets are provided but it does get cold. Although not the best sightings it was quite exciting to wonder what was round next corner. Timber knew his stuff and we got bk about 11 to 11.30pm
Wetlands and Cape Vidal - David was our tour guide. He made the day he was amazing very attentive and we really enjoyed the tour. We went to the beach which was amazing and David put together a picnic which was scrummy even though we shared it with the mongoose and monkeys! this was a full day out at 8 bk by 3. If it is windy then glasses and and a cardi won't go a miss.
Hippo and croc tour - Tour guide was Colin. He made the trip brilliant and his sense of humour was very good as was his love and knowledge for the estuary wildlife. We went on the 3.15 tour and it was a good two hrs long. We saw everything from hippos to crocs and eagles even a shark! Coffee is complimentary on board and if cold is very welcomed
Hluhluwe full day safari - our guide was John. What an amazing day. Picked up at 5 at park by 6 so early start no drinking the nite before. With mins we had spotted lions then rhinos. We stopped for breakfast in a picnic area and admired the wildlife and the birds. Back into the van to see more rhino and a calf along with giraffes and warthogs plus loads of antelope and birds. We stopped for dinner in a dryed up river bed and had t-bone steak cooked on a bbq whilst three rhino looked on! Afternoon was more driving before near the end we spotted elephant. All the guides keep in touch letting each know of sightings as well. A special word for John who was our best guide his passion and knowledge of the wildlife was simply stunning.
Fantastic tours and guides a must for any visitor.

Thank MarcandLauraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time for the lovely review :) much appreciate the kind compliments and will be sure to pass them onto the team. We look forward to hosting you again on safari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2015

I have been on four Game Drives in 3 years since moving to Durban but this time when my family visited we decided to go to Hluhluwe/Imfolozi Game Drive. I was amazed at the great deals Heritage tours had on offer. With limited time we decided on the half day game drive. Still a bit bleary eyed due to the 5am pick up from our hotel, we were suddenly at the Inyalazi Gate ready to begin our drive. Within the first hour we had seen a pride of lions, a little in the distance but enough to make out what they were, we were then treated to a white rhino face off, between one male and two younger males, all eager to mark their territory and show who was boss. Amazing sight and sounds coming from them. We meandered on through the park and saw elephants, zebra, giraffe, buffalo and numerous other smaller game and birds. Then the showstopper>>>>> a call came through- there was some lions in a tree. Sorry, did i hear you right?? in a tree??? So off we went with our awesome guide Rick, and lo and behold, there was 2 males young lions and a lioness, lounging on the branches of a tree, seemingly without a care in the world apart from who had the better position for a cool breeze. This was amazing and astonishing at the same time, these huge cats up a tree. I will never ever forget that image and i left that game drive with a big smile on face. Two weeks later and I'm back at Hluhluwe through Heritage tours but this time with my dad and my husband. Brian was our guide this time and we had just as awesome an experience as with Rick. Within the first hour we were treated to everything, apart from Lions, unfortunately due to it being Heritage Day the park was full and the lions obviously weren't up for putting on a show. But we saw a lot of elephants and i mean a lot! From baby ones to huge, old bulls, clearly too old to pose a threat. We saw black and white rhino, griaffes, buffalo, wildebeest, kudu, zebra's and even a leopard - well a leopard turtle. Both game drives were accompanied with a welcomed light breakfast, tea coffee and juice. I will definitely recommend Heritage Tours to my family and friends, as the guides really go out their way to ensure their guests see as much as possible. Thanks again Rick, Brian and the admin ladies. hope to see you soon.

Thank DANIELLA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin M, Owner at Heritage Day Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time for the lovely review :) much appreciate the kind compliments and will be sure to pass them onto the team. We look forward to hosting you again on safari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heritage Day Tours & Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Day Tours & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing