We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Melaniedbn
Durban, South Africa

Dingy, expensive and Not suitable for families with Kids-Terrible Value for Money. Do not trust the good reviews here!!!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Dec 2021
Dingy, expensive and Not suitable for families with Kids-Terrible

This place is the biggest disappointment , rooms are tacky , old linen, filthy grubby bathroom, Torn pillow cases, torn ironing board with the timber showing.
We were charged full price for an additional linked room for a 6 year old and 9 year old. The kids never slept in the spare room at all. They point blank refused to have our kids share a room with us like the garden court. Altogether we paid R5160 for 2 nights which is more than twice the price we pay at a garden court family room . At breakfast , my kids ate nothing and on both occasions we were forbidden from packing even what was in their plates for the kids. When asked if they were going to throw away what’s in their plates since the kids haven’t touched it, the answer was “ YES” on two occasions and they unfortunateky can’t allow us to even take a toast for my 6 year old. I understand that the tourism Industry took a knock during covid but this is daylight robbery. The towels are disgustingly tired, carpets need cleaning , iron does not heat up sufficiently to iron even a tshirt , tatty torn ironing board. Yes this is 3 star, but the price is premium if you are travelling with your kids. Full price for kids in a whole room At such a high price for a dingy place like this( see attached pics) Completely not accommodating, complete waste on money. Avoid at all cost!!!!

Consider the R5160 that was paid for 2 nights and look at the pics attached. Then go into Tao go suns website see the price for a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. It’s mostly half at most of their hotels.

The only good thing was the gentleman at checkin, warm and friendly. All of the above issues lie with management. Disgusting !!!!
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 400
R 1 800
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 800
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 800
  • Trip.com
    R 1 809
0.2 km from Elephant Lake Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 945
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 945
  • Expedia.com
    R 945
  • Tripadvisor
    R 945
0.1 km from Elephant Lake Hotel
Free parking
R 1 687
R 800
  • Priceline
    R 800
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 687
  • Lol.travel
0.4 km from Elephant Lake Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 1 746
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 746
0.8 km from Elephant Lake Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 595
R 1 436
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 595
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 595
  • Priceline
    R 1 436
0.7 km from Elephant Lake Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
pool2
R 1 170
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 993
  • Hotels.com
    R 994
  • Trip.com
    R 994
0.5 km from Elephant Lake Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 780
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 780
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 749
  • Priceline
    R 1 780
0.8 km from Elephant Lake Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 448
R 1 350
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 347
  • Priceline
    R 1 350
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 350
0.6 km from Elephant Lake Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 1 440
  • Priceline
    R 1 440
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 376
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 376
0.8 km from Elephant Lake Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 800
  • Expedia.com
    R 762
  • Hotels.com
    R 762
  • eDreams
    R 800
0.2 km from Elephant Lake Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in St Lucia
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
53
110
87
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
53
110
87
30
15
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2021 via mobile

This was our second stay at the hotel and we loved it. We love the feel of a hotel and not a house and this place fit perfect. Its not a 5 star hotel so it would be unreasonable to expect everything to be 5 star. The hotel is very clean and the best part is the friendly staff. Lovely breakfast and close to everything. Basically the hotel is in the middle of the town. Will definitely be back again.

Room tip: Ask for a room upstairs with pool view so and look out for hippos. Speak to the staff if you are not happy about anything. Ask for restaurant/tour suggestions at the front
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RashnaJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2021

A work-stay away has never quite felt homey,until my stay at Elephant lake hotel.

The well equipped room, friendly staff and all-round incredible atmosphere and views from my room made packing my bags to leave, difficult.

Date of stay: September 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godswill2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2021 via mobile

What a phenomenal experience, the Elephant Lake Hotel has some of the most breathtaking views I've ever seen, there are actual hippo's that roam around the hotel, the staff are extraordinary, my room was spacious and neat and don't get me started on the food, can't wait to visit again.

Room tip: Make sure you go for more than 2 days like I did, there is so much to experience and do
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Enricho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2021 via mobile

My experience was great.
My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel is lovely. Very very clean , neat , well kept , the breakfast tasty.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The area is very safe. Walking distance to restaurants.
Also close to all activities. The Hotel ground and pool is well kept , clean and always neat. I loved the Hotel. The only small problem is that there are no bar fridges in the rooms which makes it very difficult if you staying more than 2 nights. There is also great value for money when staying at the hotel.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AshleenR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2021 via mobile

First visit to St Lucia. Arrived before the check in time, was told to return after 2, this meant standing in a queue when we returned. Only one person at reception meant a slow check-in. The rooms suited our purpose with linked family rooms between the kids and Us. The Wi-Fi didn’t work in the Rooms, much to the kids disappointment and frustration. A little more attention by management would make this hotel a brilliant stay. TV signal wasn’t great, with limited channels. Kids Remote was faulty. Kids shower only had a trickle of water. No drinking water in the room. It was HOT, requesting ICE was an issue because it wasn’t always available. Perhaps the Lockdown had an impact on the service. Breakfast was definitely delicious and portions were good. Dinner was also great, but the menu is a bit limited for choice. Pool was clean and a great relief. It would be nice to have an information directory in the room. Visits from the Hippos was really cool. But the monkeys become a pest! (Raiding the rooms)

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 594gavine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews