We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
302
55
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
55
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern architecture large room guest rooms guest house stayed for nights the reserve excellent breakfast nice pool ocean basket warm hospitality wetland park yogurt every morning red duiker perfect place to stay boat tour excellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2017

A fantastic bed and breakfast - quiet and private with excellent breakfast. Rooms are minimalist, modern, spacious and airy - and fantastic to look out over the park at night. Elaine was brilliant and also arranged a few great day trips to St Lucia/Hluhluwe etc. Perhaps could do with a few extra things in the room fridge to save going into town, otherwise perfect. Will definitely return when next we visit the area.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank addictedza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Serene Estate certainly lives up to its claim to be a boutique hotel. The ambiance was calm and sleek, while the decoration was decidedly modern. The room was surprisingly large with secure glass doors leading out to the garden/pool area. While there was some work being completed in this area, it did not disturb us at all.
The breakfast was served in nice bright room and was very nice.
The location is superb. Away from the main thoroughfare of St Lucia, so very quiet. But close enough that you can walk into town in only a couple of minutes (but beware of the hippos if doing so at night).
The only slight annoyance was being interrogated 5 minutes after arriving on the detail of our plans, right down to exact timings of each tour we had booked, with disproving comments if it did not agree with her suggested itinerary.
Soon forgotten, since we had a brilliant time, but meant it could not be a five star review.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Olafski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Staying in serene-estate is like being home with the warm hospitality of the owners. Our stay was simply perfect! The fresh and thoughtful breakfast, different every morning , served at table was the first pleasure of the day! Thanks a lot

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ermes92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We were surprised to learn the number of years it took to renovate this property into the current guesthouse. This was proof of the devotion the current owners have to their hospitality career.

Our room was located on the lower level of the building along with the other guest rooms. The entire wall facing the garden and pool was floor to ceiling windows and had a door that accessed to this area along with a common walkway leading to the parking area.

Unfortunately, during our stay the pool was undergoing major repairs. Workmen were on site everyday requiring us to draw the drapes for privacy and reducing all our natural light in the room with the exception of a small skylight over the desk area. The construction noise of saws and hammers made it impossible to nap in the afternoon after rising at 4am for a game drive. Regardless of this temporary construction matter, privacy from these rear windows is a concern, as the back walkway is shared by all guests. If you like privacy, drapes need to be closed making the room dark.

Walking from our room to the walkway we had to manage through dirt and thin grass. With recent rain, it was mud. This was merely a matter of less than 2 meters, but a stone walkway would have saved shoes, luggage wheels and the dirt it brought into the room on the return trip.

The flooring material in our room was most unusual. It was black and reminded us of a black top road on a hot day. When we walked in our bare feet it was tacky and gave us the feeling something was sticking to our feet. This was not a good feeling. Beautiful tile existed in the foyer and general areas of the guesthouse, but not in the rooms.

Breakfast was a highlight, beautifully served and with a generous variety. Our hostess/owner Olga was eager to be of assistance but we felt overbearing in promoting her contacts for tours. There was a lack of grace and acceptance on her part regarding our decision for a tour company we independently selected during our visit. Within the first 10 minutes of our arrival while completing registration papers she asked our opinions of US politics and directly asked who we voted for! Two topics never to discuss are politics and religion and especially in the hospitality business.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Condocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

We were welcomed by the friendly Ingrid who provided us with information about the area. The room is huge and spotless and so is the whole guest house. Quite different than the usual hotel rooms we've had so far in our trips in South Africa, but actually very refreshing in this humid climate. Through the huge windows you can look onto your own verandah and the beautiful garden with swimming pool, with the park just behind it. in the early morning en late afternoon we encountered there different animals. The setting is idyllic and very peaceful, just a few bloks from the main street. Breakfast was served in the patio on the first floor, a wonderful space which doubles as the guests' sitting area. We actually had not enough time and we will definitely go back in the future.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliettaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews