We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iketla Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ohrigstad
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Royal Hotel(Pilgrim's Rest)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Graskop Hotel(Graskop)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Budget Inn(Sabie)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
161
62
10
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
62
10
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspanorama routeblyde river canyonoverlooking the valleyoutdoor showerlast nightamazing viewsswimming poolwatering holecomfortable roomsday triphour driveattention to detailenjoyed our staywalksnaturedinnerlodge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

This was a wonderful stopover on our two day trip around the Panorama Route in Mpumalanga. We loved the attention to detail in the bungalows - outdoor showers with plantings and a view, our bungalow had a great outdoor patio to sit and watch the view of the Canyon, the cleanliness, etc. The food was good for dinner and breakfast. There were four hikes and a swimming pool and just plain old vegging out. We really liked this lodge.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Front Office Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2016

Dear Joel K

Thank you for taking time to review our lodge.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you had a lovely holiday!

Kind regards

Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I would have marked this lodge average but for our room, which although slightly old fashioned in furnishings was spacious and comfortable, with a pretty terrace leading to a path to a private rock overlooking the valley, the views were spectacular and it was a lovely place to sit and watch the watering hole in the valley. The bar, dining and lounge areas were nice too. There are some very pretty walks from the lodge and it is a great base to see the Panoramic route.

The food I thought was pretty average and the wine list the same, we were also disappointed to be told that the bar would shut at 10pm, which as we were not getting up early for game drives seemed pretty early, the member of staff manning the bar also gave the impression she would have liked us to leave earlier than that!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shutterbabe2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Owner at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Dear Shutterbabe2008

Thank you for taking time to review our lodge.

We are sorry that you found our food and winelist average. These are specially designed to cater for the needs of all our guests.

The reason why we close the bar at 10pm is to maintain the relaxed, quite atmosphere that we create for the guests that come to relax at Iketla.

In all the rooms there are minibars, with similar products as the ones served at the main bar. Guests are always welcome to sit on the patio in front of their chalets, enjoy a few drinks or coffee and tea, and relax

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

If You like to stay on a very quiet spot in the middle of nowhere then Iketla is the place to be. 550 hectare of pure Drakensberg mountain nature is surrounding the lodge. Very spacy rooms, all the comfort you want, even an all fresco shower . good breakfast and tastefull South-African dinner; nice choise of wines on the card.
From the lodge there are 4 or 5 walkingtrails , starting from a 1 hour trail to a trail of several hours. Starting from the lodge i did the panoramatour whith the3 rondavels, the potholes,the waterfalls , blyde river canyon etc.nice place to stay for a couple of days !

Stayed: October 2016
Thank IVO1KOHCHANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Owner at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Dear IVO1SAMUI

Thank you for the very positive review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and also happy that the service, food and facility met your expectations!

Hope that you will visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Wonderful place! Fantastic Accomodation in an own Bungalow with a view on a waterhole, where Kudus, Bushbocks, Warthogs... come to have a drink in the morning and afternoon. Great hiking opportunities (easy trails for 1 hour up to hiking on a 4 hour trail). Very warm and friendly welcome. Lodge owners are always happy to give advice and help! Food is really, really good!
Perfect place to relax and walk and also to explore the beautiful sourrounding area!

Room Tip: Best view in Bungalow 3 and 4
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank desiree242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Owner at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Dear Desiree242014

Thank you for your positive review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return someday

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

A very nice lodge! With a beautiful common area, fireplace and lounges!!
Staff was amazing! The food excellent! We had a great stay at Iketla lodge. The couple that maneged the place were very nice and helpfull. You can do nice hikes from here and the panorama route is gorgeous! The owners told us about a nice lunch place! Very cute and delicious!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lili V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Dear Lili V

Thank you for your positive review.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to South Africa and arrived home safe.

Hope to see you again at Iketla

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews