We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Iketla Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ohrigstad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iketla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rooms with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

I would have marked this lodge average but for our room, which although slightly old fashioned in furnishings was spacious and comfortable, with a pretty terrace leading to a path to a private rock overlooking the valley, the views were spectacular and it was a lovely place to sit and watch the watering hole in the valley. The bar, dining and lounge areas were nice too. There are some very pretty walks from the lodge and it is a great base to see the Panoramic route.

The food I thought was pretty average and the wine list the same, we were also disappointed to be told that the bar would shut at 10pm, which as we were not getting up early for game drives seemed pretty early, the member of staff manning the bar also gave the impression she would have liked us to leave earlier than that!

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shutterbabe2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Owner at Iketla Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2016
Dear Shutterbabe2008

Thank you for taking time to review our lodge.

We are sorry that you found our food and winelist average. These are specially designed to cater for the needs of all our guests.

The reason why we close the bar at 10pm is to maintain the relaxed, quite atmosphere that we create for the guests that come to relax at Iketla.

In all the rooms there are minibars, with similar products as the ones served at the main bar. Guests are always welcome to sit on the patio in front of their chalets, enjoy a few drinks or coffee and tea, and relax

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    51
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
34
166
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

If You like to stay on a very quiet spot in the middle of nowhere then Iketla is the place to be. 550 hectare of pure Drakensberg mountain nature is surrounding the lodge. Very spacy rooms, all the comfort you want, even an all fresco shower . good breakfast and tastefull South-African dinner; nice choise of wines on the card.
From the lodge there are 4 or 5 walkingtrails , starting from a 1 hour trail to a trail of several hours. Starting from the lodge i did the panoramatour whith the3 rondavels, the potholes,the waterfalls , blyde river canyon etc.nice place to stay for a couple of days !

Stayed October 2016
Helpful?
Thank IVO1SAMUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Owner at Iketla Lodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2016
Dear IVO1SAMUI

Thank you for the very positive review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and also happy that the service, food and facility met your expectations!

Hope that you will visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

Wonderful place! Fantastic Accomodation in an own Bungalow with a view on a waterhole, where Kudus, Bushbocks, Warthogs... come to have a drink in the morning and afternoon. Great hiking opportunities (easy trails for 1 hour up to hiking on a 4 hour trail). Very warm and friendly welcome. Lodge owners are always happy to give advice and help! Food is really, really good!
Perfect place to relax and walk and also to explore the beautiful sourrounding area!

Room Tip: Best view in Bungalow 3 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desiree242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Owner at Iketla Lodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2016
Dear Desiree242014

Thank you for your positive review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return someday

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2016

A very nice lodge! With a beautiful common area, fireplace and lounges!!
Staff was amazing! The food excellent! We had a great stay at Iketla lodge. The couple that maneged the place were very nice and helpfull. You can do nice hikes from here and the panorama route is gorgeous! The owners told us about a nice lunch place! Very cute and delicious!!

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lili V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2016
Dear Lili V

Thank you for your positive review.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to South Africa and arrived home safe.

Hope to see you again at Iketla

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

One of most spectacular routes in the northen part of South-Africa is the Panorama Route. The Iketla Lodge is close to the route and it is a beautiful hotel to relax after visiting the Route. The lodge is developing and in the next couple of years they want to add more animals. The breakfasts and dinners are delicious, with some traditional and nice dishes. Especially liked the kudu pie! Swimming pool is big enough to come to rest.
The lodges were really big for 2 persons and I liked the idea of an outside shower (next to an inside shower). Sometimes there were some problems with the warm water in the shower but they try to solve your issues immediately.
A splendid lodge, worth its stars!

Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Owner at Iketla Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2016
Dear Sander A

Thank you for your positive review.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to South Africa and arrived home safe.

Hope to see you again at Iketla

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohrigstad
40.0 km away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
7.9 km away
Hannah Game Lodge
Hannah Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Ohrigstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
37.3 km away
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
#22 of 100 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
The Royal Palm B&B
The Royal Palm B&B
#1 of 1 in Ohrigstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
38.3 km away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
37.4 km away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iketla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iketla Lodge

Property: Iketla Lodge
Address: Off R555 | Ohrigstad - Burgersfort rd, Ohrigstad 1122, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Ohrigstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ohrigstad
Price range (per night): R2 545 - R3 134
Hotel Class:4 star — Iketla Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic retreat with spectacular scenery and unspoilt nature. A 4-star, luxurious, small and intimate country lodge, near the Blyde River Canyon. Ideal base for exploring the Panorama Route. En-route to the Kruger Park. Accommodation in spacious stone-built cottages with private patios and views. Swimming pool, walking trails and guided walks on this 540 ha private reserve. Some wildlife and excellent bird life. DB&B, traditional SA food, superb company & a peaceful environment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing