We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iketla Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ohrigstad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iketla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relax! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

This lodge was great and very relaxing. The staff is super friendly, the food is awesome, the rooms are beautiful (with outside shower!) and there are plenty of scenery in the surrounding. Great experience, definitely come back to this place. I would not dare to skip bushkombuis!

Stayed April 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank iJorien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Owner at Iketla Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2016
Dear iJorien

Thank you for your positive review.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to South Africa and arrived home safe.

Hope to see you again at Iketla

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    51
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
34
166
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2016

What a lovely place. Very quiet and friendly. First stop after flight from London and 4 hour drive. Really helped to get us in the mood for what was to come. Individual home cooked food was really good

  • Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murray w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2016
Dear Murray W

Thank you for your positive review.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to South Africa and arrived home safe.

Hope to see you again at Iketla

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2016

Since we stayed here in 2011 Iketla Lodge has changed ownership, it was wonderful then so we hoped it had not changed too much. We found that it was still wonderful, with friendly, helpful staff, beautiful cottages equipped with everything you should need, and the quiet, peace and tranquility that is reflected by the stunning scenery.
The food is delicious, with the fruit platter for breakfast a work of art.
We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: All the cottages are private, so are all equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janechater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2015

We spent two night in this wonderful lodge, the rooms are unique, in the middle of the nature reserve and have their own viewing point from which we were able to see nyalas, monkeys and baboons. Privacy is guaranteed. Chris and Nandeline, the managers, are really kind and helpful. You can tell that they love their job and attach great importance to making everyone's stay special. The food is absolutely gorgeous! Iketla lodge is the perfect place to stay for a visit of the panorama route and its different points of interest. Here again, the staff gives you precious advice. If you are looking for something special - this is it, go for Iketla! I wouldn't stay for less than 2 nights.

  • Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolo-to-be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this review, 23 November 2016
Dear Laurence B

Dear guest

Thank you for rating us on trip advisor.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to South Africa and arrived home safe.

Hope to see you again at Iketla

Regards

Iketla Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Belvoir, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2015

We stayed there for two nights and used this as a starting point to go to the waterfalls, and other sights in the area. The rooms were nice but did not have air condition, which makes it a little hard to sleep. The food was fantastic. The staff was really helpful and very very nice.

Room Tip: The wifi is available in the common areas not in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, General Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this review, 26 October 2015
Thank you very much for your post on Tripadvisor! We're sorry to hear that you struggled to sleep because it was too hot - usually with the thatched roof the roof fans are enough. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in anyways and that we'll see you back at Iketla again soon. Kind regards, the Iketla-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohrigstad
40.0 km away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
7.9 km away
Hannah Game Lodge
Hannah Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Ohrigstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
37.3 km away
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
#22 of 100 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
The Royal Palm B&B
The Royal Palm B&B
#1 of 1 in Ohrigstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
38.3 km away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
37.4 km away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iketla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iketla Lodge

Property: Iketla Lodge
Address: Off R555 | Ohrigstad - Burgersfort rd, Ohrigstad 1122, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Ohrigstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ohrigstad
Price range (per night): R2 545 - R3 134
Hotel Class:4 star — Iketla Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic retreat with spectacular scenery and unspoilt nature. A 4-star, luxurious, small and intimate country lodge, near the Blyde River Canyon. Ideal base for exploring the Panorama Route. En-route to the Kruger Park. Accommodation in spacious stone-built cottages with private patios and views. Swimming pool, walking trails and guided walks on this 540 ha private reserve. Some wildlife and excellent bird life. DB&B, traditional SA food, superb company & a peaceful environment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing