We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax”
Review of Iketla Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ohrigstad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iketla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2015

We stayed there for two nights and used this as a starting point to go to the waterfalls, and other sights in the area. The rooms were nice but did not have air condition, which makes it a little hard to sleep. The food was fantastic. The staff was really helpful and very very nice.

Room Tip: The wifi is available in the common areas not in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DRas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, General Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2015

Thank you very much for your post on Tripadvisor! We're sorry to hear that you struggled to sleep because it was too hot - usually with the thatched roof the roof fans are enough. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in anyways and that we'll see you back at Iketla again soon. Kind regards, the Iketla-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2015

We've enjoyed our last night at Iketla and it's been really perfect. Very friendly staff, wonderful views, very nice and clean cottages and great food. The perfect place to stay for a while - next time we'll stay longer :)

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DES0967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, General Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015

Thank you very must for rating us on Tripadvisor! We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and we look forward to hosting you a little bit longer next time! Kind regards, the Iketla Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

The lodge is located far away from the main road, ca. 5 min driving an unpaved road (but no 4x4 required).
We particularly liked the own single cottages, which made our stay very cozy and quiet.
Our cottage was very nice, very comfortable and well equipped with everything required to feel good.
All service from welcome to leaving was excellent, all staff competent and nice.
We had dinner in the hotel’s restaurant (there is no alternative around), which we enjoyed very much. Excellent food and good wines, very nice service and staff !
Very good breakfast with lots of fresh and good tasting food.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uli_F457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, General Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2015

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and for complimenting our chalets, food, wine and staff! Your recommendation is highly appreciated and we hope to see and host you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Superb place for nature lovers. The lodges are lovely and you can take a walk by your self through the valley and see some wildlife, like Kudu, Baboons, Bushbokkies.
Very nice small place withe friendly peolple. Good place to visit the surrounding, like Bourke's Pothole and Blyde River Canyon

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2015

Thank you very much Sander your nice review on Tripadvisor. It's always nice to hear that guests enjoyed the nature here at Iketla as much as we do. Thank you for complimenting our staff, chalets and walking trails. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

We stayed for one night in April 2015 as part of a 34 night road trip, so this review is relatively objective.

Great location for the Panorama route and easily found off the main road. The drive in was a little bumpy, but easily navigable in a hire saloon/sedan car. We stayed on our way from the Kruger to Pretoria - arriving just after midday having exited via the Orpen Gate.

We last visited 5 years ago - the previous high standards of accommodation and hospitality remain. Our thatched chalet/banda was the furthest away from the main building and had a wonderful view out over the valley and hills from the patio/stoep. Regret the number escapes me. The banda was clean, large, very comfortable and well equipped - really excellent value.

Light lunch, dinner and breakfast were of a good standard, with dinner being particularly enjoyable with drinks in front of the fireplace in the dining area. The hosts were pleasant, informative and engaging without being too full on.

The property offers excellent walking opportunities, with the various trails being well signposted and accurate 'difficulty' descriptions.

Ikelta offers excellent value.

If we are back in the area in 2016 we will return - this time planning for two nights..

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Thank you for your positive review.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to South Africa and arrived home safe.

Hope to see you again at Iketla

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohrigstad
31.8 km away
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
#2 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
125 reviews
40.0 km away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
602 reviews
32.0 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Hannah Game Lodge
Hannah Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Ohrigstad
286 reviews
38.3 km away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 22 in Hoedspruit
204 reviews
5.4 km away
The Royal Palm B&B
The Royal Palm B&B
#1 of 1 in Ohrigstad
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iketla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iketla Lodge

Address: Off R555 | Ohrigstad - Burgersfort rd, Ohrigstad 1122, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Ohrigstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ohrigstad
Price Range: R3 282 - R4 135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iketla Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic retreat with spectacular scenery and unspoilt nature. A 4-star, luxurious, small and intimate country lodge, near the Blyde River Canyon. Ideal base for exploring the Panorama Route. En-route to the Kruger Park. Accommodation in spacious stone-built cottages with private patios and views. Swimming pool, walking trails and guided walks on this 540 ha private reserve. Some wildlife and excellent bird life. DB&B, traditional SA food, superb company & a peaceful environment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing