We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iketla Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ohrigstad
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Royal Hotel(Pilgrim's Rest)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Graskop Hotel(Graskop)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Budget Inn(Sabie)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
161
62
10
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
62
10
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspanorama routeblyde river canyonoverlooking the valleyoutdoor showerlast nightamazing viewsswimming poolwatering holecomfortable roomsday triphour driveattention to detailenjoyed our staywalksnaturedinnerlodge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2015

We've enjoyed our last night at Iketla and it's been really perfect. Very friendly staff, wonderful views, very nice and clean cottages and great food. The perfect place to stay for a while - next time we'll stay longer :)

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DES0967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, General Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015

Thank you very must for rating us on Tripadvisor! We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and we look forward to hosting you a little bit longer next time! Kind regards, the Iketla Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

The lodge is located far away from the main road, ca. 5 min driving an unpaved road (but no 4x4 required).
We particularly liked the own single cottages, which made our stay very cozy and quiet.
Our cottage was very nice, very comfortable and well equipped with everything required to feel good.
All service from welcome to leaving was excellent, all staff competent and nice.
We had dinner in the hotel’s restaurant (there is no alternative around), which we enjoyed very much. Excellent food and good wines, very nice service and staff !
Very good breakfast with lots of fresh and good tasting food.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uli_F457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, General Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2015

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and for complimenting our chalets, food, wine and staff! Your recommendation is highly appreciated and we hope to see and host you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Superb place for nature lovers. The lodges are lovely and you can take a walk by your self through the valley and see some wildlife, like Kudu, Baboons, Bushbokkies.
Very nice small place withe friendly peolple. Good place to visit the surrounding, like Bourke's Pothole and Blyde River Canyon

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2015

Thank you very much Sander your nice review on Tripadvisor. It's always nice to hear that guests enjoyed the nature here at Iketla as much as we do. Thank you for complimenting our staff, chalets and walking trails. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

We stayed for one night in April 2015 as part of a 34 night road trip, so this review is relatively objective.

Great location for the Panorama route and easily found off the main road. The drive in was a little bumpy, but easily navigable in a hire saloon/sedan car. We stayed on our way from the Kruger to Pretoria - arriving just after midday having exited via the Orpen Gate.

We last visited 5 years ago - the previous high standards of accommodation and hospitality remain. Our thatched chalet/banda was the furthest away from the main building and had a wonderful view out over the valley and hills from the patio/stoep. Regret the number escapes me. The banda was clean, large, very comfortable and well equipped - really excellent value.

Light lunch, dinner and breakfast were of a good standard, with dinner being particularly enjoyable with drinks in front of the fireplace in the dining area. The hosts were pleasant, informative and engaging without being too full on.

The property offers excellent walking opportunities, with the various trails being well signposted and accurate 'difficulty' descriptions.

Ikelta offers excellent value.

If we are back in the area in 2016 we will return - this time planning for two nights..

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Thank you for your positive review.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to South Africa and arrived home safe.

Hope to see you again at Iketla

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2015

We spent the last 2 nights of our holiday in South-Africa in Iketla. It was perfect. The guesthouses are beautiful, well-equiped, very clean and have amazing views. The welcoming is warm and friendly. The food is really good. When staying here try some of the walking trails and enjoy the beautiful surroundings! Iketla is perfectly located to go to the Panorama Route.
Many thanks for D's birthdaycake and birthdaysongs!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UweSilke, Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2015

Dear Lizzy,

Thank you for your kind post on Tripadvisor!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the walking trails on the property. As for the birthday cake and singing by the members of our staff, we did that especially for such lovely guests as yourselves.

We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews