We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iketla Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ohrigstad
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Royal Hotel(Pilgrim's Rest)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Graskop Hotel(Graskop)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Budget Inn(Sabie)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
161
62
10
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
62
10
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspanorama routeblyde river canyonoverlooking the valleyoutdoor showerlast nightamazing viewsswimming poolwatering holecomfortable roomsday triphour driveattention to detailenjoyed our staywalksnaturedinnerlodge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2014

Our first stay in South Africa, for 3 nights, after a long international flight, short internal one and quite a long (and beautiful) drive. Were a bit surprised at the 2km dirt track to get in (hadn't realised then how common they are), but had a lovely welcome and drink. Bags taken care of (as almost everywhere... something else to get used to) and a gentle introduction to the place with the young couple who manage the lodge (sadly, failed to remember their names).
The rooms (individual cottages) are large, well-equipped and 'African' (not overdone), with both an indoor and outdoor shower; didn't get to try the outdoor one as it was unseasonably cool. There's a good-sized terrace under the thatch at the front to sit out in the shade, if needed, or a very short walk to a huge rock overlooking the valley, where we saw a troupe of vervet monkeys and kudu at different times. A great place at night to watch the stars - no light pollution so a brilliant show. I believe all the cottages and overlooks are much the same, so no reason to go for a particular one.
Food is served in the main lodge, a short walk from the cottages, with it's own bar and large lounge area. Breakfast was a wide choice of cold things like cereals, juice, breads, etc., and pretty much anything most people would want cooked freshly to order. Dinner was a 'set' menu (could change if needed), which we thought excellent each time. Drinks and snacks before dinner were 'communal', so we met a number of other travellers, but dinner on your own tables... of course, you could continue conversations after dinner. No problem getting drinks at other times of day (I think they'll do lunch too, but we were never there).
It's well placed for drives along the Blyde River Canyon (Panorama Route), to Pilgrims Rest, Graskop, etc., whilst many of those we met were using it as a stopover on the way to/from Kruger. These places are a little way, but then most things are in that part of the world, but also provide amazing views around almost every corner.
The 'grounds' are huge, with a number of walking trails and the chance to see lots of different wildlife. For us, the weaver birds/nests near the lodge were a highlight and a 10cm millipede.
As someone else mentioned, the gift shop has interesting and useful things and is definitely not overpriced. The people there are full of information and advice on where to go.... ask about the baobab in a field just down the road: very old but not huge as it's out of its usual area (took us three goes to spot it, and then it's obvious).
We had a lovely time and the staff were great... thanks to them all.

Room Tip: All rooms pretty much the same - good!
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberthennielene, Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2014

Thank you so much for a wonderful review and for all the lovely comments about the lodge, the chalets, the area, service and food, Geoff! We're glad that you finally got to see the Boabab Tree - it is a rare sight in this area. It was a pleasure to host you and we are very happy that you and Sue enjoyed your stay. Give us a visit again soon! A Blessed Christmas and a Happy 2015 from the Iketla-team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2014 via mobile

Very calm, relaxing B and B in a secluded mountain setting. Very nice owners, friendly service, a good meal. Nice walking trails,very well marked. Just be carefull of the gift shop, a lot of nice stuff, fairly priced!!

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierreT51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberthennielene, Owner at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2014

Merci!! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2014

Very comfortable rooms with fabulous views on the hills and valley below. Starting point for well-marked walking trails of different length and difficulties. Friendly and helpful staff. Food is being served in a semi-open dining room. We stopped here during our sightseeing tour up to the Kruger Park area. In the night hours we could watch from our porch the most incredible lightning storm far away. A silent spectacle difficult to ever match.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Juerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberthennielene, Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Iketla and we must definitely agree with you... the thunderstorms we have here at Iketla is spectacular - an experience that is difficult to explain in words! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Beautiful Place with amazing views.
The rooms are lovely, the shower outdoor is also nice!

Great point to leave for the Panorama route.

Thank you to the owners for the great time!

BTW: The food is delicious!!

Lynn & Sebastien

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberthennielene, Owner at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

It is always good to hear from guests who enjoyed their stay at Iketla Lodge. We look forward to your next visit. Glad to hear you also enjoyed our traditional South African cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2014

At a beautiful spot we found Iketla Lodge. We stayed here during our second and third night in South Africa. The rooms are very nice. It feels like you have your own house at Iketla.
The food is very good. Good breakfast and good dinners.
Thanks to Hennielene who found my IPhone in our car. I thought I had lost it.
A place we can recommend!!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hennielene B, Owner at Iketla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2014

Hans, we enjoyed your company! Thank you for the nice review. Glad you enjoyed our food. We look forward to welcome you back at Iketla Lodge in the near future. And we were just as happy as you when we found your iphone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews