We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Protea Hotels
R 1 459
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
Booking.com
R 1 459
Priceline
R 1 458
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nalsin
Johannesburg, South Africa

Great

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Mar 2024
What a great hotel. A very cozy and serene hotel set in a great location.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable.
Lovely pool area, neat gardens, warm and cozy bar and lounge area.

The cuisine was excellent and the staff provided very good service.

Overall a great hotel in Nelspruit.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 2 197
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 098
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 401
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 098
1.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 765
  • Priceline
    R 1 613
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 456
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 763
1.9 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 540
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 476
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 310
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 524
2.9 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 050
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 004
  • Hotels.com
    R 788
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 235
2.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 020
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 020
  • Agoda.com
    R 937
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 020
2.7 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
R 1 720
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 811
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 567
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 795
4.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
SUN1 NELSPRUIT ROOM
Booking.com
R 716
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 716
  • Vio.com
    R 713
  • Agoda.com
    R 716
2.6 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 026
  • eDreams
    R 1 026
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 026
  • Priceline
9.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 1 500
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 500
  • Vio.com
    R 1 494
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 500
12.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 450
  • Agoda.com
    R 450
8.3 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
View more hotels in Mbombela
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
49
89
38
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
49
89
38
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews managed hotel no elevator coffee station rental car stayed nights long weekend excellent service kfc cnn spar establishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2023 via mobile

Hotel is decent, clean and well located in Mbombela. However staff at reception are useless. We arrived on Saturday 30 September at 17h30 and it took 45 minutes to check in. Our confirmation letter showed that our booking included breakfast whereas the computer reflected room only. The room allocated to us behind reception was next to the parking. Very noisy throughout the evening when guests come in and park. When we arrived for breakfast on Monday morning the restaurant staff told us that breakfast was not included. Again we had to show our confirmation letter to reception before we were allowed to have breakfast..

Room tip: Please request rooms far away from the parking area
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MahomedAshrafS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 May 2023 via mobile

Friendly staff and good dinner. However, hotel is in an older and less safe part of town, the rooms are dark with minimal lighting, no elevator, no gym and decor is tired. Less than expected from Protea/Marriott. Make sure you don’t have a room directly over/near the dining area as it is very noisy.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank FarAway62771409482
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2023

Excellent service. Will definitely come back. We stayed previously in 2012, and the service has only improved. Family friendly, flexible staff. thank you for a wonderful stay and the exceptional service.

Room tip: Excellent location if looking to visit the Kruger national park
Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 489anaisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2023

Service was the best, housekeeping up to standard ,and the staff very welcoming , buffet breakfast the best , the slight challenge was that the bed was a bit low other than that it was a very good place will definitely visit agai

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Murendeni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2023

My wife and I stayed 2 nights, arriving at 1PM with a rental car and using the covered parking in front. A nice receptionist copied my passport, as I signed an entry sheet, then presented the key cards. We took our bags up the stairs to the 1st floor.
Wood floored room #116 opened to a fully outfitted bathroom with a tub and shower stall, across a closet with safe, then a desk with 2 outlets/2 chairs, a comfortable king faced a satellite TV(Al Jezzara, CNN, 4 SABC, 4 sports and 4 movies), coffee station with small refer, then an opening window with view of the parking lot. The spacious room had quiet AC, good secure WIFI and quick hot water.
The serviced 6:30AM lobby breakfast was excellent; juices, fruit, yogurt, egg station, hot and cold meats, cheese, breads/jams, muffins and coffee machine choices.
We used their nice rectangular pool twice.
This renovated 94 room hotel is within a 300m walk from the petrol/KFC/Spar and a 500m drive to the Valley Hyper Centre/Checkers.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gene R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews