We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Murendeni M
Thohoyandou, South Africa

The best

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Apr 2023
Service was the best, housekeeping up to standard ,and the staff very welcoming , buffet breakfast the best , the slight challenge was that the bed was a bit low other than that it was a very good place will definitely visit agai
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 872
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 811
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 854
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 509
  • Hotels.com
2.9 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 020
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
studio room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 988
  • Hotels.com
3.8 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 162
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 891
  • Hotels.com
4.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 616
  • Hotels.com
4.6 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 266
  • Hotels.com
3.6 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mbombela
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
49
89
38
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
49
89
38
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews managed hotel no elevator coffee station rental car stayed nights long weekend excellent service kfc cnn spar establishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2023

My wife and I stayed 2 nights, arriving at 1PM with a rental car and using the covered parking in front. A nice receptionist copied my passport, as I signed an entry sheet, then presented the key cards. We took our bags up the stairs to the 1st floor.
Wood floored room #116 opened to a fully outfitted bathroom with a tub and shower stall, across a closet with safe, then a desk with 2 outlets/2 chairs, a comfortable king faced a satellite TV(Al Jezzara, CNN, 4 SABC, 4 sports and 4 movies), coffee station with small refer, then an opening window with view of the parking lot. The spacious room had quiet AC, good secure WIFI and quick hot water.
The serviced 6:30AM lobby breakfast was excellent; juices, fruit, yogurt, egg station, hot and cold meats, cheese, breads/jams, muffins and coffee machine choices.
We used their nice rectangular pool twice.
This renovated 94 room hotel is within a 300m walk from the petrol/KFC/Spar and a 500m drive to the Valley Hyper Centre/Checkers.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gene R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2022 via mobile

It was and I will say it is a very nice establishment run well clean room entrance outer tard,
I recommend it please note that in nelspruit there are many nice places to stay in.
Oops too many words.
You can also visit Loeries corner for meals

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Abdul Kader O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2022

The hotel is on a very quite place, Corporate to say.
Staff with their supervisors are very helpful and friendly, Rooms are big and very clean, food is great with variety to choose from, freshly prepared.
Service is top notch. The hotel has got a peaceful atmosphere, even though fully booked the service is exceptionally great.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kabelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2020 via mobile

Great and clean, well kept and well managed Hotel. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Mr Grabe is the best host I have experienced, on both foreign and domestic travels. Definitely the place in nelspruit.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank JacquelinePienar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garrick Grabe, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2020

Dear JacquelinePienaar


I want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experience with us during your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Nelspruit.

It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you!

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We also recognize these are unusual times and we thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you and Eleanor back soon.

Kind Regards


Garrick Grabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2020 via mobile

First i need to say huge compliment to Velly from checkin desk. He value the customer so much. Lovely rooms with nice view. Breakfast was great and thursday night was braai night. Please put some bar fridges in rooms. Thanks

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank gershonb107
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews