We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Protea Hotels
R 1 459
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
Booking.com
R 1 459
R 1 457
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
JacquelinePienar
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa

Excellent and Great Hospitality

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jul 2020via mobile
Great and clean, well kept and well managed Hotel. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Mr Grabe is the best host I have experienced, on both foreign and domestic travels. Definitely the place in nelspruit.
Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garrick Grabe, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this review
Responded 24 Jul 2020
Dear JacquelinePienaar

I want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experience with us during your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Nelspruit.

It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you!

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We also recognize these are unusual times and we thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you and Eleanor back soon.

Kind Regards

Garrick Grabe
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 2 169
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 400
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 055
1.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 765
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 445
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 765
1.9 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 838
R 1 540
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 804
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 804
2.9 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 050
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 846
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 235
2.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 020
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 957
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 020
2.7 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
R 1 912
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 709
  • Trip.com
4.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
SUN1 NELSPRUIT ROOM
Booking.com
R 716
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 716
  • Vio.com
2.6 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 026
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 026
  • eDreams
    R 1 026
9.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 1 500
R 1 300
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 500
12.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 750
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
7.7 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
View more hotels in Mbombela
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
49
89
38
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
49
89
38
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews managed hotel no elevator coffee station rental car stayed nights long weekend excellent service kfc cnn spar establishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2020 via mobile

First i need to say huge compliment to Velly from checkin desk. He value the customer so much. Lovely rooms with nice view. Breakfast was great and thursday night was braai night. Please put some bar fridges in rooms. Thanks

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank gershonb107
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2020

Many small problems in my room and in the hotel.
the bathroom in my room was full of tiny ants. I alerted the reception, the problem repeated itself a day later.

very long time until the water in the shower became hot, too long.

room decoration is old

very narrow swimming pool

air condition in room was too strong

curtains were not dark enough and did not block outside lights

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank olapidot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garrick G, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Dear Olapidot1

At the outset, I would like to apologize for all the little things that were not correct throughout your stay with us. It by no means reflects the high level of service we strive for.

I have raised the items with the relevant departments who have assured me that action will be taken to rectify the shortcomings.

We trust the rest of your trip went well and that you enjoyed vacation. Should your travels bring you back to Nelspruit, we would like to be given an opportunity to improve on your last stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in future.

Kind Regards
Garrick Grabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2019

Check-in was smooth and quick. The room was not spacious but acceptable. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean, although on the second day of our stay the room was not cleaned when we came back from our day outing. The matter was attended to but the service standard was not good. Buffet breakfast and dinner was good but service was very slow. The hotel gardens looked good and welcoming. Generally staff was friendly and helpful. Generally the stay was good.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MsimangaMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2019

Friendly staff, nice food, they have to beef up the vegetarian option, the rooms are decent sized, I also liked the free upgraded as a rewards member, check-in and check out process was smooth and efficient,

Room tip: rooms behind the pool are better with you don't want to waken by the smell of breakfast being prepared
Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smotlhamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2019

Had an excellent stay at this hotel. Tastefully furnished, very clean and neat. The rooms are also a decent size. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly- from the front desk to thr restaurant staff. The restaurant service was good as well and the food great, albeit a bit on the expensive side. Overall a fantastic hotel- no complaints whatsoever.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Jeandie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews