We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
anhCapeTown
Cape Town, South Africa

Very happy with my stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 May 2019via mobile
I had a great 1-night stay at the hotel. Staff are fantastic and very helpful. Happy hour was very welcome - and was enjoyed sitting next to the pool. Breakfast was very good. Will certainly be back the next time I’m in Nelspruit
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 826
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 651
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 569
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 639
1.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 210
R 1 600
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 001
  • Priceline
    R 1 600
  • StayForLong
1.9 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 623
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 495
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 255
  • Priceline
    R 1 680
2.9 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
studio room
R 1 041
R 969
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.8 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 1 849
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 895
  • Vio.com
    R 1 651
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 896
4.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 863
R 1 590
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
4.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 1 270
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Mercure
    R 1 269
3.6 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 717
R 1 619
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
4.6 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 021
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 005
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 020
2.7 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 187
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 236
2.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mbombela
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
49
89
38
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
49
89
38
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews managed hotel no elevator coffee station rental car stayed nights long weekend excellent service kfc cnn spar establishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2019 via mobile

The staff at the hotel is very professional and always willing to help. They go an extra mile to ensure comfortability of the residents. Rooms are always clean and fresh. Dining areas are well equipped with with necessary facilities

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank zwelithinig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2019 via mobile

Hotel is neat. Used to be good in the past. Reception staff not great. Breakfast area not clean. Food is not restocked. Waiting for staff to serve you at breakfast. No glasses for juice etc etc

Service is not what it used to be in the past
Marriott group I suggest you audit this hotel as it does not live up to Marriott standards by far

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Deon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2019 via mobile

Upon arrival I Was not informed of the hotel breakfast times, by 09:30 the hotel restaurant was closed. All we got was a lousy breakfast pack. Not happy at all. The place is beautiful but it is not a place I would return to.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emelda22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garrick G, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2019

Dear Emelda22

Thank you for your feedback.

Please accept my apologies for the Reception Team not advising of breakfast times. I have raised this matter with our Front Office Manager who will address it with her Team.

I note you stated that you would not return to the place. Are you referring to the Hotel or the City? Feel free to contact me directly to discuss any further concerns I may assist with.

Kind Regards
Garrick Grabe
General Manager
garrick.grabe@proteahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2019 via mobile

Excellent place to stay. We were greeted out front on arrival. Good welcome in reception.
Our room was very clean, pleasant and spacious. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We really enjoyed the food in the restaurant-a very good quality buffet and a la carte menu.
Thanks to all the staff for looking after us and making our stay enjoyable.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank McKinnonJFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2019

The hotel is overpriced, but if it was a good hotel it might be worth the money. However it isn't a good hotel.

My room was poorly designed.

The front door slammed shut with such a noise that echoed down the corridor and must have bothered others.

The shower can only be switched on by stepping into the shower and getting soaked. You can't adjust the temperature before you get in without getting scalded or frozen.

The painting was poorly done. There are paint splotches in the corridor, on the door hinges etc. As if a novice painter was hired to do the job.

I have to compliment their restaurant though. I had a superb lamb shank for dinner.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank AfricanZombieHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garrick G, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2019

Dear Marc L

Thank you for your review.

Firstly please accept my apologies for the issues that you encountered. We are in the planning stages for a refurbishment to our bathrooms. Your feedback will be taken into account when we discuss the shower.

Our bedroom doors are being replaced starting the end of April. This will take care of the slamming and will make the room more sound proof from noise in the passages.

I will raise the maintenance issues with the department concerned as this is unacceptable.

The Chef will be advised of your superb lamb shank. Thank you

We hope to welcome you back again soon and share with you our planned upgrades.

Kind Regards

Garrick Grabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews