We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MCKINNON

Great visit

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Apr 2019via mobile
Excellent place to stay. We were greeted out front on arrival. Good welcome in reception.
Our room was very clean, pleasant and spacious. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We really enjoyed the food in the restaurant-a very good quality buffet and a la carte menu.
Thanks to all the staff for looking after us and making our stay enjoyable.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 860
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 847
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 228
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 847
1.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 020
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 020
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 020
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 020
2.7 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 1 909
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 903
  • Lol.travel
    R 1 742
  • Vio.com
    R 1 920
4.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 580
R 1 233
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 605
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 605
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 589
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 589
4.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
SUN1 NELSPRUIT ROOM
R 716
R 680
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 716
  • Agoda.com
    R 680
  • Vio.com
    R 680
2.6 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 026
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 026
  • eDreams
    R 1 026
  • Priceline
9.5 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free parking
Pool
R 495
  • Agoda.com
    R 495
8.3 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
R 1 500
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 500
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 500
  • Vio.com
    R 1 497
12.2 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 1 472
R 1 269
  • Priceline
    R 1 472
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 269
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 269
3.6 km from Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mbombela
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
49
89
38
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
49
89
38
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews managed hotel no elevator coffee station rental car stayed nights long weekend excellent service kfc cnn spar establishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2019

The hotel is overpriced, but if it was a good hotel it might be worth the money. However it isn't a good hotel.

My room was poorly designed.

The front door slammed shut with such a noise that echoed down the corridor and must have bothered others.

The shower can only be switched on by stepping into the shower and getting soaked. You can't adjust the temperature before you get in without getting scalded or frozen.

The painting was poorly done. There are paint splotches in the corridor, on the door hinges etc. As if a novice painter was hired to do the job.

I have to compliment their restaurant though. I had a superb lamb shank for dinner.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank AfricanZombieHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garrick G, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2019

Dear Marc L

Thank you for your review.

Firstly please accept my apologies for the issues that you encountered. We are in the planning stages for a refurbishment to our bathrooms. Your feedback will be taken into account when we discuss the shower.

Our bedroom doors are being replaced starting the end of April. This will take care of the slamming and will make the room more sound proof from noise in the passages.

I will raise the maintenance issues with the department concerned as this is unacceptable.

The Chef will be advised of your superb lamb shank. Thank you

We hope to welcome you back again soon and share with you our planned upgrades.

Kind Regards

Garrick Grabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2019 via mobile

The Protea hotel is situated on “the wrong side of the tracks” to the east of the city. Staff are friendly and rooms adequate but the isolation of the location is no where near any alternate retail which mindful of the no drink and drive requirement caused the hotel dinner to be the default option if a bottle of wine is shared with the meal. The buffet was huge with plenty of variety but wanting something smaller the a la carte option offered up a pasta dish which unfortunately after a 35 minute wait arrived not even warm but cold. Disappointing.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank johnturner4443
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garrick G, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2019

Dear johnturner4443

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to mention that a new retail center with restaurants and a 200 bed private Hospital has begun construction just 150m from the Hotel. This will bring a lot more for our GUESTS to do in the immediate vicinity.

Please accept my humble apologies for the pasta dish received late and cold. I personally will take the matter up with the departments involved. This by no means reflects the high service standards we strive for and all possible will be done to ensure such lapses do not occur again in future.

We hope to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards

Garrick Grabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

The front office manager must really work on her attitude towards guest, she was very unfriendly and even a single smile nothing, my husband was trying so hard to have a conversation with her but she was not having non of it, she never asked how we were doing, how was our trip to nelspruit since we not from Mpumalanga. To come think of it it our 1st time staying at Protea Hotel and I expected a better and warm welcome. The room that we were giving to it faces the parking and the cars are just noisy so are the people outside. I mean she even confirmed about the hotel not being busy so why didn’t she give us a room that’s not facing the parking. I am really dissatisfied with the service we received from Stacey front office Manger. You could do better!!! Try to be more warm towards your guests especially if it’s their 1st time, obviously You wouldn’t know if it’s their 1st time in nelspruit and staying at protea hotel 1st time cause you never bothered to ask how we doing and where we come from. Worst part to tell us about the amenities of where is the restaurant, bar, pool area what time is breakfast or dinner. Your service is poor.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank rfm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garrick G, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Dear RFM2016

At the outset, i would like to apologize for the terrible experience at our Hotel. It by no means reflects the high level of service we strive for. I will sit down with the Team and address this matter and ensure it is never repeated.

I have taken the liberty of placing a note on your profile that you prefer garden facing rooms. This will ensure you always get this room type when traveling back to our Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Garrick Grabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for a good night sleep, I wouldn’t recommend this place, was in the B block & my room was near the pool, which was very noisy & the room opposite me, the fire alarm went off twice disturbing my sleep.

Forget accessing WiFi if you are in the B block, tried several times & couldn’t connect!

Breakfast is overpriced, only upside was the clean room.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kaymore_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garrick G, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2018

Dear Kaymore_T

At the outset, i would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We always strive to meet our valued GUESTS expectations.

Our WiFi system will be upgraded early in the new year and this will eliminate the connection issues.

Although there is nothing wrong with our current fire alarm system, we are upgrading the system in January. This will assist in minimizing the amount of false alarms experienced currently and in turn no longer disturb our GUESTS stay.

We value your feedback and wish to have the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Garrick Grabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

Good hotel clean, comfortable and affordable. It's located next to the center where you can find everything and it's next to the business center and bus stop , so if you want to go
to Illanga mall or Riverside you can pick up the road from there or call a tax. Almost forgot to mention, the reception was great and the hotel is not noiseless.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FFMM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews