We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Nelspruit
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Comfortable spacious rooms, friendly service, wonderful breakfast and supper buffets, conveniently located opposite a shopping mall, lovely pool and garden for lunch on the patio. My children loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

This was a convenient stopover on the way to the Kruger Park. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet.
We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and the service was efficient. The food was adequate but nothing to rave about rave about.

Room Tip: They o have wheel chair friendly rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johnherm2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

The Protea Hotel is quite centrally located in Nelspruit, it is about a 20 min drive from the airport. The cost of airport transfer is R450.

Check in was quick and efficient.

I was in a room with two double beds. Room 323. The sleep quality was terrible. I could hear almost every everything happening in the room next door. As well as all the people walking in the passage. The walls are too thin. Despite this the room itself was comfortable.

Otherwise breakfast was good the next morning.

We also had a workshop in one of the conference rooms and the service here was just a bit lazy. At 9am when we started not all the tables had water, similarly the change over at tea took a while.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sunshine0789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this lodge.
The room was very nice and the bathroom was comforting.
We had breakfast and dinner and the food was excellent. The grounds were secure and there was a guard on duty all nite. They don't have an elevator so you may need to ask for a ground floor room.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lsobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel located on the main route Samir's Machel street on the east of the town as you drive out of nelspruit towards Malalane. A very nice hotel, beautiful and friendly team at reception. Kitchen staff was disappointing to say the least both during dinner and breakfast you had staff including the manager who don't listen.

We had a unwell member of our group she does not eat anything " except brown bread and egg" in the restaurant she only drank tea and we requested the team to allow her to take the bread sandwich with egg same along, they said hotel policy does not allow- we said to them the lady has not eaten anything- they agreed but said policy is policy - we called the manager who had seen that the lady did not eat he sang the same song of policy. Hospitality industry must not have such insensitive teams.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jabu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelspruit
0.9 km away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#10 of 18 in Nelspruit
48 reviews
3.5 km away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#9 of 18 in Nelspruit
252 reviews
2.4 km away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#6 of 18 in Nelspruit
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Premier Hotel The Winkler
#5 of 10 in White River
280 reviews
0.0 km away
Panorama Guest Farm
Panorama Guest Farm
#5 of 18 in Nelspruit
42 reviews
11.9 km away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#2 of 10 in White River
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit

Address: 30 Jerepico Street, Nelspruit 1201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Nelspruit
Price Range: R1 092 - R1 947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit - Experience True Hospitality in the Mpumalanga Capital. The award winning Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit forms the ideal starting point from which to explore the Lowveld with abundant sunshine, lush hills and valleys. Get comfortable and cozy under our crisp white linen or make use of you en-suite bathroom to unwind. Maintain that sense of calm in the hotel's Fig Tree Restaurant, which overlooks the pool. It serves delectable buffet breakfasts daily, as well as a selection of lunch and dinner dishes from an extensive a la carte menu. Protea Hotel Nelspruit is ideally located with easy access to national roads and the Kruger Mpumalanga International airport. Only 63km from the world-renowned Kruger National Park, the hotel is situated in the heart of Big Five country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing