We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
N3 Aviation
Johannesburg, South Africa

Hotel needs a refurbishment

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jan 2022
This establishment needs a bit of a refurbishment. Carpets are old, shower was leaking water, and there are no double pin charging or USB ports. For a one night stay it's ok. Longer, not for us.
Staff was however friendly and helpful at all times. Credit to them.
Date of stay: December 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 867
R 1 583
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 602
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
studio room
R 966
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.6 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 758
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 758
5.6 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 016
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.9 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
R 1 331
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 326
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
4.2 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 506
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.5 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 1 264
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 772
  • Hotels.com
4.4 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 127
  • Priceline
4.1 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mbombela
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
376
204
65
25
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
376
204
65
25
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2021 via mobile

Hotels are not at the top of their game. COVID has struck them a blow. But this one feels very down on its luck. Staff are trying and nothing is terrible, but food, cleanliness, coffee, room quality...are all poor. Dombolo and omlettes are good. We only overnighted and it was pretty well-priced, so it was ok, but can’t recommend.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JasonL943
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2021 via mobile

We’ve stayed over for 2 nights. Staff were super friendly and went out of their way to accommodate guests.
There’s more than enough safe parking.
Rooms were clean and very comfortable.
The breakfast was basic, but more than enough. Even though it’s not a massive selection, everything we had was super tasty. The Lady Chef is a master when it comes to food and she does it with pride.
We’ll definitely stay at this place again.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GPV_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2020 via mobile

Rooms were clean although furniture is outdated, the air con worked but very noisy, The bed was comfortfably with good quality linen.
Female waitresses on breakfast in area do not greet at all. Cleaning staff were very friendly. The restaurant menu does not match the status of the hotel at all.
The bar man was overwhelmed, it looks like they are short staffed,he was doing his best.
Christmas dinner was not worthy the money, people had to queque like you are at a hot soup kitchen.
They were trying hard to follow covid protocols.
In summary go there to sleep and eat out if you can.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank rosemazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2020

What a dreadful experience. We were checked in by the receptionist Nicky who had such an attitude that we felt unwelcome from the minute we stepped in the door. Firstly she told us she had no availability then managed to find two different rooms. The room was clean enough but we had no coffee in our room. When we went to reception to ask for some, we were told by Nicky that they were out of stock!!! She had a terrible attitude and was very sullen. I am most disappointed in this hotel and will never again stay in a SOUTHERN SUN due to this terrible experience. I hope you choose a different hotel chain as the experience we had at southern sun was unforgivable and not worth a fraction of what they charge

Most upset customer

James

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank JamesZeederberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2020

The service generally was great , hotel staff were superb , very friendly , eager to assist,
The room service was also great , there frequently guarding of cars by security, staff treat each guest with respect

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank luckymasuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews