We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Amandio M
Maputo, Mozambique

My satisfaction

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Oct 2019
It was good to be again in Southern Sun. I enjoyed my staying in the hotel. Very good location and very good room. I didn’t enjoyed discount from my reward card because I did book from other site not directly from Tsogo site.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle H, General Manager at Southern Sun Mbombela, responded to this review
Responded 18 Nov 2019
Good Morning

Thank you for letting us know about your stay

Please remember to make your bookings via the Tsogosun website to get the special offers and discounts

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 748
R 1 592
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 750
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 750
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 750
3.2 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 697
R 1 625
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 555
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
4.7 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 795
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
R 1 892
  • Protea Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
4.2 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 609
R 1 237
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.1 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 020
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
4.9 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 1 271
  • Hotels.com
  • Mercure
    R 1 269
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 135
  • Priceline
4.4 km from Southern Sun Mbombela
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mbombela
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
376
203
65
25
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
376
203
65
25
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2019

the location is good, as this was a stopover to Hazyview. the room we had (a double bed) was slightly small but comfortable. the place was neat and clean and breakfast was good. the only thing i found unsatisfactory was the staff at the welcome & check in desk. No smile or welcome, we were simply ushered to the side desk to pick up our card, i signed and that was it, no information on how anything operates, or where breakfast is served and the times etc. i would definitely get the staff on a "how to welcome guests" 101 class.

Date of stay: October 2019
2  Thank 3Shakera
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle H, General Manager at Southern Sun Mbombela, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2019

Good Morning

My apology for the late response

We appreciate all feedback , the relevant team members were addressed on the issues that were highlighted at the time.

We hope you have a wonderful week ahead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

Safe environment. Easily accessible, Near to the malls. Practical guide for touring, especially for first time travellers. Friendly staff. Affordable. Food tastes good and your outside pool garden view is breathtakingly beautiful.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Resort714033
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle H, General Manager at Southern Sun Mbombela, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2019

Good Morning

My sincere apology for the late response to your comments

We appreciate all feedback and hope to have you visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

My children and I were so welcomed, but for school the next day, we would have stayed longer. Our room was very restful, relaxing and spacious. By the second day, the children had become so accustomed to the sireen and environment I had to literary chase them around to get them ready for our return. My wife was so sad she could not make the journey as she had to take care of business at home during the period so compins I owe her a weekend at Emnotweni.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Jet685972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2019

I have nothing to complain about, Southern Sun is just wonderful and is always my first option each time I need a hotel. The Points really make staying with Tsogo Sun feel like part of the family. I am happy overall Thank you

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank mahlomv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2019

Everything was great. I enjoyed my stay there. The breakfast was awesome. The staff was welcoming, courteous and always willing to assist. No wonder the hotel was always fully booked and the parking space forever too little. Well done to the team there.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank aluwieyafortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews