We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
S Sewpersad
Durban, South Africa

Comfortable Stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Apr 2019
Booked via the Nelspruit Information Desk for a 3 night business accommodation. Very friendly and welcoming hosts.The Room was tastefully decorated and comfortable. The jug kettle did not work on arrival and was promptly replaced when brought to their attention. Breakfast was standard and simple with hot and cereal choices. Gated and safe inside parking.
Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
1.3 km from Bavaria Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.4 km from Bavaria Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
11.0 km from Bavaria Guest Lodge
Free parking
Pool
9.7 km from Bavaria Guest Lodge
3.2 km from Bavaria Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
SUN1 NELSPRUIT ROOM
1.8 km from Bavaria Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
3.7 km from Bavaria Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
4.8 km from Bavaria Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
3.0 km from Bavaria Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mbombela
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
18
16
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
18
16
5
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2018

Very nice reception, very friendly madam the owner, very nice breakfast, we didn't enjoy the swimming pool because of lack of time as well the outside B.B.Q. Near to everything and very easy to locate.

Room tip: The room we were there were lack of Wi-Fi in some locations, but we reported and they said that will improve. we have chosen family room.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xanxanchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogerH987, Owner at Bavaria Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2018

Good afternoon Xanzanchu,
Thank you for you valued review.
Sorry that you didn't have enough time to enjoy our pool and have a barbecue.
You will have to come back and stay longer.
Kind regards

Sonika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This quaint inexpensive boutique hotel is situated in lush tropical well maintained gardens conveniently located within 3kms from the central business district of Nelspruit and +- 1.km from the Langa shopping centre and several restaurants. We stayed in a pool side room which was wonderful. Their are facilities to BBQ and the breakfasts are of reasonably high standard.The management and staff make you feel like family and are very welcome.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank Martin14647
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2018

The staff at Bavaria Guest Lodge totally saved our holiday. To see South Africa you really do need a rental car as their is little to no public transport. And to rent a car here, you do need a credit card. Due to our lack of planning (or knowledge) we arrived here without a credit card. Actually we did have two VISA "debit" cards and a company credit card that had been cancelled (without my knowledge) when we tried to us it previously in Vietnam.

So as soon as we realised we needed a car, the fun began. Talked with my company and they agreed to get a new visa card for me. That took five days to arrive at the office in the UK and then they posted it by signature required mail here to South Africa, which we thought would be fine. Unfortunately the South African mail system is not as good as one would hope.

It was only when we had been staying at Bavaria Guest Lodge a few days that the owner of the lodge (Rodger) heard of our plight. He quickly offered to rent the car in his name with me being the second driver. Both a little cautious but wow, this was the turning point. We booked and picked up the car and then with lots of helpful information from the owner and receptionist (Sonica, a truly lovely lady) we finally headed out to see some of South Africa - God's Window, pancakes in Graskop, self drive in Kruger National Park.

The difference having that rental car made was amazing, we were finally free. And all this service from what is likely one of the most affordable accommodations in Nelspurit. Whilst waiting for our credit card to arrive, we stayed there about 10 nights. Seeing  how that place is run, you can tell Roger has been in hospitality for many years and this is reflected in all things.

Every morning all guest are greeted with a friendly smile from Sonica, asking how they are and whether they would like a cooked breakfast and if so, just how they would like their eggs and whether they would like mushrooms and baked beans and tomato with it. The breakfast room has cereal, yoghurt, juice and fruit as well.

All the rooms are centered around the pool and garden creating a restful environment. The staff are all so polite. As at first without a car we were room bound, the staff would ask us if we wanted our room made up, or not. Some days we chose just to have the towels changed and rubbish emptied - other days a full clean.

We had the rental car for 5 days, it has now been returned and all is fine with that. Rodger was there when we returned the car to make sure it all went smoothly and then gave us a lift back to the lodge - thanks Rodger.

My credit card has still not turned up. So Rogder offered and has been to the post office with the tracking number to enquire. For whatever reason, the card is still with customs, over a week after tracking that it had left England.

Another issue is, my girlfriend being from Thailand only gets to stay in South Africa for 30 days. At first we thought we simply cross the border, come back and have 30 more days. After researching on the internet, this does not seem possible. So we went to the Department of Home Affairs office here in Nelspurit to see what could be done - apparently nothing.

We wanted to head to Cape Town, buy a boat and sail back to Thailand. Hopefully we will still be able to do that. However, as my girlfriend is not allowed to stay in South Africa we are headed to Mauritius.

Also whilst we have been here, the Innibos festival was happening and so dues to lack of pre-booking, we had to find alternative accommodation. After though, for our last two nights, we came back to Bavaria Guest Lodge. True to Rodgers amazingly generous personality, he offered to pick us up and bring us back. Thanks again Rodger.

Just as in every place we have stayed at whilst we have been here in South Africa, the unfortunately leaves a lot to be desired. Rodger has said he will look at getting a second connection, hopefully this would make it more reliable.

The team at Bavaria Guest Lodge have done so much for me that I feel indebted and writing this review is the least I can do. Just hope that everywhere I stay will have such caring hosts!

Thank you guys, you rescued our holiday!

p.s. the credit card never showed up so we cancelled it

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KarmaReflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogerH987, Manager at Bavaria Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear Mark and Jan,
Thank you for your awesome review.
We want you to know that it was only a pleasure hosting you at Bavaria. Only wish there was more we could do to assist you in getting your credit card situation sorted out.
May we take this opportunity to wish you all the best with the rest of your holiday in South Africa and hope all your plans works out.

Please stay in touch.

Kind regards

Bavaria Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge for just one night, but it was everything we expected it to be. Nice host, great breakfast and tidy rooms. The bed was a bit hard and small for our liking, and the shower a bit dated. Nothing to worry about for a short stay though.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Axel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogerH987, Manager at Bavaria Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our guesthouse.

Hope to have you back here soon

Kind regards

Sonika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Great price, great reception, great surrounds, great amenities, great breakfast and lovely rainy weather! Definitely a place to consider when visiting this area. Situated in a quiet area, 3km to Ocean Basket and DROS. Ample secure parking, solar assisted water ......

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Slowveldguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogerH987, General Manager at Bavaria Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

We appreciate your great response
We aim to make all our guests feel at home and relaxed
Hope to see you again soon
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews