We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
73P-Alex
Bangkok, Thailand

Avoid if you can!!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 03 Nov 2020
First disclaimer. We were supposed to stay here in April. Hotel was closed due to covid. Took me few months to get my money back, but it finally happened. So I was in contact with the GM before we checked-in this time.

Well....so all should have gone smoothly for a Gold Member. Last time I stay her was some 8-10 years ago.

On check-in, zero recognition as a Gold Member. I had to call the GM to explain to her about the welcome drink vouchers. Once in the room, zero note or welcome from management. Next, the towels are filthy. They are simply grey and years old. Next...try to get your drink at the bar. They have wine, but not a decent wine glass in view. Look like the GM never checked this place after the lock down! Next, the swimming pool is even more dirty than the towels...had a look....but no thanks! Disgrace!

We left at 4.30am....went to pick up my invoice. This is a 24 hours hotel....but nobody in reception beside a cute cat for a good 10 minutes. We left!

Next stay, after the Friday night stay, her we are back on Sunday night. Nice staff at reception....but this time no towels in room...and pillow cases are disgusting!

I wrote an email to GM Friday evening. We were in hotel from Sunday evening till Monday morning 10.45am...guess what...got a reply around 4pm on Monday. Maybe the GM is just a part time one, or she is never involved in the property!

This place is not even the level of a budget Ibis. But I personally have more issues with properly none competent or let's put is simply...non-existant management!

Avoid this place!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karien Linde, Other at Mercure Nelspruit, responded to this review
Responded 05 Nov 2020
Dear 73P-Alex

I apologise that you felt that you were not treated as VIP guest and that I consider my job as part time. When I received your email, I had an emergency at the hotel and could not attend to your problem immediately. I did reply to your email in the afternoon explaining to you that we are attend to and resolving your problems.

You mentioned you did not get your refund in time - when you contacted us in April, I advised you by email that we did not have access to the hotel and systems as we were on lock down. Once we were allowed to travel, we immediately refunded your account. I was in continuous contact you with advising you of the situation.

I will take your suggestions on board in being a better manager.

Regards

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 823
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 856
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 680
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 841
2.7 km from Mercure Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 702
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 765
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 465
  • Priceline
3.7 km from Mercure Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 020
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 022
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 020
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 022
2.3 km from Mercure Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 1 911
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 898
  • StayForLong
    R 1 762
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 895
3.2 km from Mercure Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 620
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 485
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 344
  • Priceline
4.3 km from Mercure Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 923
R 1 525
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 592
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 589
2.9 km from Mercure Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 074
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 237
  • Hotels.com
    R 846
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Mercure Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
SUN1 NELSPRUIT ROOM
R 680
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 680
  • Vio.com
0.9 km from Mercure Nelspruit
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 026
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 026
  • eDreams
    R 1 026
9.4 km from Mercure Nelspruit
Free parking
Pool
R 450
  • Agoda.com
    R 450
10.8 km from Mercure Nelspruit
View more hotels in Mbombela
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
41
128
90
40
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
128
90
40
35
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2020

If travelling as a family of 3 and above, self-catering hotel apartments at Mecure hotel are a good value in the area.

Although we booked a 2x 4 sleeper units (2 bedrooms), there was not enough crockery for the booked guests in both units. This was however not an issue for us as we travel with our own crockery and cuttlery.

A street across Ilanga shopping Mall. Unit 600 is adjuscent the mall delivery dock so the noise from the delivery trucks early hours (from 05:00am) of the morning can be a nuisance.

Room cleanliness is okay but can be better. The couches had a stinch, the dining chairs had visible stains that require attention. The linen was clean.

Overall, okay but with room for improvement in terms of maintaining hygiene.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Curiosity823621
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2020

The main front house areas of hotel were maintained to a good standard. However the room we stayed in was extremely dated, unkept and dingy. The kitchen area was poorly equiped with only one glass, no cutlery or utensils or plates. Although it had a microwave and fridge.
The bed was comfortable and our room cleaned daily.
We stayed in a diabled room, the bathroom was a death trap when the floor was wet from showering as it was of a wet room design. Definitely not non slip.
We had an abandoned car with flat tyres parked outside our room.
The area was noisy and i felt unsafe. Definately wouldnt recommend.

Room tip: stay clear of disabled room a death trap.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lifelongdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karien Linde, Other at Mercure Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2020

Dear lifelongdreams

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Upon on your next reservation, we will ensure that we do not allocate paraplegic room. If you enquired at the desk about the car, we would have informed you about the owner but we cannot disclose anything on public forum. We are aware of the car. We have security available 24 hours at the hotel and the patrol the hotel hourly basis. We have controlled access entering and leaving the hotel.

Sincerely


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020

Room dirty
Had to ask for a hair dryer
Pool was exremley dirty and could not be used all 4 days of my trip
Pool area was not kept clean
Overall very bad experience....
Would like to hear from the hotel as to why I experienced such

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Delicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2019 via mobile

On the website this hotel has all the amenities you need, but in reality it provides the minimum. There is a cooker, but no pans. There is aircon, but so badly located we had to turn it off over night. There is coffee, but no milk. There is a hairdryer, but the handle is broken. Generally it needs some maintenance. On the plus side, the location is convenient to walk into the mall next door for supplies. The reception area was nice.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank KRLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2019

While the people at the front desk were lovely, and the common areas are impressively big, the 2 room suite we stayed in was surprising sub-standard for an international brand like Mercure. Carpet was dirty (not vacuumed), the room smelled bad and furniture was long passed its useful life. Breakfast was simple but hearty. Great bar with a friendly bartender. Pool area is delightful.
Hotel is directly across from a shopping mall and about 30 -45 minute drive to the airport.

Room tip: Ask if any rooms have been upgraded
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelmop_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karien L, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2019

Dear Travelmop_10

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Nelspruit Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,

Karien Linde
Rooms Division Manger
Mercure Hotel Nelspruit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews