We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 05:00 - 18:30
Save
  
Ways to Experience Kruger National Park
from US$830,33
More Info
from US$779,77
More Info
from US$1 068,70
More Info
from US$1 030,72
More Info
Reviews (2 577)
Filter reviews
2 577 results
Traveller rating
2 024
410
97
29
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2 024
410
97
29
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lower sabie self drive phabeni gate their natural habitat berg en dal wild animals bucket list game drives cape buffalo spent days punda maria sabie river early morning crossing the road sunset drive game reserve south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 2 577 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2019

We did a 5 day/4 night safari with Tydon African Safaris. It included 2 days of drives/walks in Sabi Sand and 2 days in Kruger.  Each was exciting and awesome in their own way, and our group of 4 adults all agreed that it was a perfect experience to do both.  I honestly cannot imagine trying to navigate the park in your personal vehicle without a guide - it was clear the guide new where exciting things were (lions eating an impala!  hyena den!) and took us to see them.  Sabi is private (but that does not mean "too expensive"), so you cannot just go on your own.

One big difference between the Kruger and Sabi is that the drivers cannot go off road in Kruger.   PLEASE, bring both binoculars and a real camera, not a cell phone - you will be so happy you did.  There are some amazing things to see that you will not see well with just your naked eye and/or through your cell phone camera.

Kruger closes at a certain time, and you MUST be out of the park by then or pay a big fine; that means it doesn't matter how cool what you see on your way out is, you cannot stop and dawdle.  Sabi did not have this restriction.

There were a lot more people in Kruger than in Sabi, but not so much that it felt like you couldn't see things.

We saw many different animals in Kruger that we did not see in Sabi; additionally, the groups of animals seemed larger (i.e. maybe 3-5 elephants at a time in Sabi, but 15-20 at a time in Kruger).  This could have just been the way our luck ran, however.  Kruger does have a large river that helps attract different animals than Sabi.

We were worried we might get bored doing multiple days of safari (we did more in Botswana later, too), but it just did not get old - there was always something new to see and at no point did we feel time dragging or wish we were done.

Kruger's gift shop was large, and we purchased a few reasonably priced items.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Rooindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2019 via mobile

What does one say about Kruger that is not already said , a park on steroids as far as animal sightings go , and don’t forget the birds , what I did find sad since my last visit 4 months ago was there seemed to be a lack of maintenance, lots of toilets etc Out of order and you can see the did not break yesterday , really the type of thing that can be fixed in under a hour

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank madiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2019 via mobile

I just returned from a 6 night, 7 day safari in Kruger National Park, with 6 clients of mine from the United States.
We spend the first day entering at Crocodile Bridge, in the South, and traveling via Lower Sabi,and Skukuza to our final destination, Pretorius Kop, were we spend 2 nights. We saw the whole Big 5 in our first 6 hours in the park, fantastic.
We then made our way to Letaba camp, were we spend 2 nights, very dry this time of year, and the animal sightings were few, but the ones we got was good.
Then we traveled to Satara, via Olifants camp. The further South we went, the more animal sightings we had, with lots of animal and predator activities in the areas close to the rivers and waterholes. Satara camp was a treat, restaurant good, and accommodations in all the camps good. Lot of good sightings around Satara. After 2 nights in Satara, we worked our way South via Tjokwane, and Lower Sabi, to exit at Crocodile Bridge again. Our last day from Satara, we had 3 different pride of Lions a huge pack of African Wild Dogs, must have been 20+ dogs, Cheetah, Heyna and a Rhino Bull to finish the trip off.
a Great experience to my American clients, and they will most certainly return.
Animal sightings 10/10
Accommodations 7/10
Staff friendliness 10/10
Restaurants 6/10
Overall experience 9/10
Thanks to Kruger National Park and its staff for making our experience a memorable one. Will be back for sure!!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank SKS1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2019

Classic bushveld safari. Has everything one would expect and more. Big 5 can happen any day. Roads are bumpy but within the expected charm of a game drive.Great birding opportunities as well. Staff very helpful. Saw rangers almost every day.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank joneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2019 via mobile

Our recent trip through KNP after about 30 years was so much more than we expected. Comments about "run down", or "in need of attention" was definitely the exception and not the rule. Staff on the whole are super friendly- from Orpen gate in the west, to Pafuri in the north and Giroyindo in the east, the staff are polite and friendly. Camps generally well run- some better than others. Tsendze has Rogers, who should be the beacon that all staff anywhere, aspire to. His passion and drive are contagious. Roads generally in good condition and camp shops are amazing. Sanparks are definitely doing something right. Wish it could transmit to other companies.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank cherylt512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews