We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Departure64568926553
Emalahleni, South Africa

Convenient and affordable

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 May 2019
Well priced!
Good Service!
Neat, Classy yet Simple!
I enjoy the fact that attention is given to individual needs! (Additional mattress for child... take-away breakfast arranged for early morning...)
Howard arranges everything for you, and he delivers!


Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matumi, Manager at Matumi Golf Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 31 Jul 2019
Good morning

Thank you for the review and for staying with us, we greatly appreciate it.

We hope to see you again soon.

Enjoy your day.

Kind Regards
Matumi Golf lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 698
R 1 622
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 622
2.4 km from Matumi Golf Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 512
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
2.7 km from Matumi Golf Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
studio room
R 1 044
R 949
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
4.9 km from Matumi Golf Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 020
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.6 km from Matumi Golf Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
R 1 331
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 331
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from Matumi Golf Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 867
R 1 589
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
5.7 km from Matumi Golf Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 589
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
6.1 km from Matumi Golf Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 813
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Matumi Golf Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 814
  • Algotels
5.7 km from Matumi Golf Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 167
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 235
3.5 km from Matumi Golf Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mbombela
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
35
13
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
13
7
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2019

Inconsiderate staff even with emergencies particularly death. I will never make bookings there nor tell my prople around me to make bookings there. They must know in life business is business but empathy is one of the value to be considered

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jabulani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Freedom18872339104, Manager at Matumi Golf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2019

Thank you Professor Jabulani Makhubele, it is unfortunate that you gave us such a review when you did not even stay with us. Your colleagues stayed with us and they are more qualified to give us a review than yourself, however we are running a company here that has policies. You must never ever cancel a booking on check in and expect to be refunded, once you book a room and you pay for it. That room is yours for that period and nobody else can book that room on our system, which is why last minute cancellations are not accepted not just by us but the industry at large. Your situation was even worse because you came to the lodge to check in and only informed us on checking in that you will not be staying and therefore requested a refund of which it didn't happen. It is unfortunate that it has come to this but as a Professor, you are well educated and should know these things. Every booking confirmation comes with a cancellation policy, in some cases we do make an exception but you just don't cancel on check in when a booking was made 04 weeks ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2019

The security personnel at the estate are rude or either full of tribalism. On arrival at the main gate they were not kind gave us a funny look and spoke in a language we did not understand and laughed when i asked what was wrong. On the second entry the following day, the same thing happened but this time it was different people from the previous day.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sightsee58631889321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2019

we had a great relaxed time at Matumi, the staff are extra friendly and helpfully more so the gentleman at reception, apologies for forgetting his name but he was such an awesome and pleasant host, went out of his way to help, it felt like home for us. I intend making Matumi my "getaway" place from now, the venue is clean, very quite and beautiful surroundings. Everything about my holiday was a perfect 10 :)

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Escape53103880744
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Freedom18872339104, Manager at Matumi Golf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2019

Good morning

Thank you for the review and for staying with us, we greatly appreciate it.

We hope to see you again soon.

Enjoy your day.

Kind Regards
Matumi Golf lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2018

We'll definitely go back again!We enjoyed the tranquil and nature garden view. Everything you can think of is there, thw venie was well thought out and the service is great with lovely morning brealfast! We braaid one evening and everything worked perfectly for us.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Excursion66131216560
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Freedom18872339104, Manager at Matumi Golf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2019

Good morning

Thank you for the review and for staying with us, we greatly appreciate it

We hope to see you again soon.

Enjoy your day.

Kind Regards
Matumi Golf lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

A group of 8 of us booked the Matumi Golf Lodge for the weekend of the 19th Oct 2018 as a place to stay while on our golf tour to Nelspruit. The lodge is excellently located overlooking the 9th fairway of the Nelspruit golf course. Rooms are large, clean and modern. Staff at the lodge fantastic and the breakfast in the morning is top class. Would highly recommend for any type of stay, business or leisure.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank emlynhutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matumi, Manager at Matumi Golf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Good morning

Thank you for the review and for staying with us, we greatly appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon.

Enjoy your day.

Kind Regards
Matumi Golf lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews