We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$130
US$105
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Selati 103 Guest Cottages(Malelane)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barnstormers Rest(Malelane)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Vista Lodge(Malelane)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hhusha Hhusha(Malelane)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cycas Guest House(Malelane)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Belvedere-on-River(Malelane)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Langa B&B(Malelane)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buhala Lodge(Malelane)
US$310
US$286
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
171
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrocodile riverthe ownerviewing deckkruger national parkprivate patiobedroom housebreakfast and dinnerself cateringpersonalized serviceprofessional teamsafari bookingsher attentionpeace and tranquilitysouthern africapiece of paradisespent nightsblack rhino
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In April this year myself and a good friend spent a week at this fabulous establishment.. It was a bit of an experiment as I had only read of the place on the internet (not always a good thing) so I was a bit wary, especially as my I phone map couldn't find it and kept trying to force me to enter the Kruger when I knew the Lodge was outside the park.After a call to the Lodge I arrived to find an absolute idyll, overlooking the crocodile river and into the park.
By day and night we enjoyed the ever changing tableau of animals along the river bank and even right at the lodge fence. On one day we counted over 200 elephant feeding , resting and cavorting in the river. One evening three large Rhino dropped in for a drink.
Many days we didn't bother to go into the park at all.
We mostly dined at the lodge. Meals were very fresh , hot and served at our lodge.. I also enjoyed the fire pit very much.
Leanne and the all the staff did everything to make the visit memorable.
It's not a cheap location but it is great value and an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TPM2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne S, Owner at Kambaku River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you thank you for your amazing review on Kambaku River Lodge. We are really happy that you loved your stay with us. We have also added another big Kambaku sign off the N4 in the hope os assisting even further that our guests don't get lost and drive past the road to the lodge. We are so happy that you found value in staying with u.
Warm regards Leanne and the Kambaku River Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We had 4 nights at the Lodge. What an amazing place. Everything is perfect there. Leanne and the rest of her staff were the best hosts. Excellent meals and served on your patio overlooking the river. The setting is second to none with the bonus of fronting crocodile river where you see many visitors. Breakfast sat outside with the sounds of the birds was so relaxing. Wish we had spent more time there to enjoy it more. Do not miss this place.....

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank trishbowyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne S, Owner at Kambaku River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Trish

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review and a 5/5 score. We are really so happy when our guests leave with fond memories saying that they will be back to share our special spot on the river. We loved having you and look forward to your next visit - we will stay in touch on facebook. Safe travels
Warm regards Leanne and Kambaku River Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

What a wonderful stay. Leanne and her staff make you feel like you are staying at their home. The food is fabulous! It is not everyday you can sit on your patio and watch the elephants play in the river. If you get the chance I highly recommend you visit these wonderful people. You will not be disappointed! We will be back!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne S, Owner at Kambaku River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear Marci

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a 5/5 score and for your lovely review. We are always so grateful for your feedback and of course the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us makes us all so happy. For look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

I had never been to a lodge in Kruger and after several recommendations I chose Kambaku. What a pleasure. Our group of 8 felt like we were at home and not a lodge. The meals prepared by the staff were top notch. Sitting on the porch and viewing the river with elephants and hippos playing in the water was fascinating. I would recommend to all of my friends! Being on the outside of Kruger was of much value!!!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JeffreyEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne S, Owner at Kambaku River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear Jeffrey

It was so wonderful meeting you and your friends and thank you so much for taking the time to give us a 5/5 score and for your great review. We look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards Leanne, Tony and the Kambaku River Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

We spent 3 nights at Kambaku River Lodge and loved every minute. The accommodation is fabulous and the meals a real treat ! Leanne is a marvellous hostess, her staff are great and they all did everything possible to make our stay a memorable one. Highly recommended !! We will be back !

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sharkbait12018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne S, Owner at Kambaku River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Sharkbait (ha ha)
Thank you, thank you for such a lovely review on Kambaku River Lodge. The staff are all thrilled that you loved your stay and enjoyed our home cooked meals. We certainly look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards
Leanne and Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews