We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
R 2 421
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
HFW2411
Zurich, Switzerland

Disappointing experience - not the standard of Pestana

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Jan 2024
I know many hotels of the Pestana Group but this one is not the standard of Pestana. it needs urgently renovation. Also the check-in was complicated. The rooms are really old and at the limit to accept. Restaurant the buffet was ok but could be better and the service very slow in the hotel. It really needs urgently attention and can not recommend it at this stage.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Pestana Kruger Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Pestana Kruger Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom 2
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 469
  • Priceline
4.1 km from Pestana Kruger Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 337
  • Hotels.com
4.3 km from Pestana Kruger Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hhusha Hhusha Guest House exterior
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
4.3 km from Pestana Kruger Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 5 594
  • Hotels.com
9.7 km from Pestana Kruger Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Flying circus family unit.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 480
  • Booking.com
2.0 km from Pestana Kruger Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 036
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Pestana Kruger Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
14.7 km from Pestana Kruger Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 633
  • Hotels.com
4.8 km from Pestana Kruger Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Malelane
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
203
224
131
61
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
203
224
131
61
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews malelane gate the river deluxe room breakfast and dinner fantastic location deck park hippos kruger lodge drive game sundowners fence banks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2023

We wish to thank everyone involved in the preparation of our meal on 29th December Friday afternoon. It was exceptional in every way and added so much to our enjoyment and special thanks to Bongekile, Charity and to Rose assisted us with here welcoming personality and we felt at home.

We will definitely comeback and we will have no hesitation in recommending you to all our friends.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Thembinkosi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2023

Being less than a two minute drive away from the Malelane gate into Kruger the Pestana Kruger Hotel is an excellent springboard into the national park. The hotel was excellent, staff were all lovely and incredibly helpful and along with the daily treats of watching hippos and crocodiles in the river and monkeys and waterbucks on the land it was an absolute treasure of a find. Given the opportunity we will definitely be going back.
Food was good and a had plenty of variety. Perhaps a small menu for children would offer some added value.
The spa was enjoyed by all the family. The therapists were excellent and the location calming. All in all a brilliant base to explore Southern Kruger. 10/10!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Squigs1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Hackney, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2023

Dear Squigs1971,

We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pestana Kruger Lodge was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback.

Many thanks for choosing Pestana Kruger Lodge for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel.

We will pass on your kind words to our Sap partners - they will be delighted.

Kind regards,
The Team at Pestana Kruger Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2023

Dusty, dirty rooms, dead cockroach on the floor, Under bed and on top of wardrobe has not been cleaned for months. Behind TV cabinet is dirty and dusty. Curtains are threadbare and one curtain has missing lining. Air conditioning dripped continuously onto the curtain, leaving it soaked and damp smelling. Other curtain had a major oil stain on it and also threadbare. Bed linen is shocking, with pillows that have no more support and duvets which filling has all matted together. No bath-mat and bath towels threadbare and too small as a bath towel. Bath stained, basin and shower do not drain. Rain shower clogged with lime scale, therefore no regular flow. Really unacceptable in this day and age. room is very dated does not allow for simple tasks like boiling a kettle, the sofa has to be moved to boil the kettle. Dust covered on sloping thatch roof support and can be easily dusted, it is not high up. Lighting poor and lights dusty, bathroom light shocking.
Thank fully, we never had dinner, but we did have breakfast which is probably, the worst buffet spread seen in recent years. Bits of old fruit floating in water, passing as fruit salad, no fresh fruit, no health options, no special diet options, very unsavory looking dishes with hot food in them. Congealed bacon, Cheese Grillers (really). boiled eggs, Un fresh scrambled eggs. Very, very poor. Staff were less interested in us and one of the staff members produced a cup of tea for herself and started to drink this in front of us and other guests, whilst "cleaning" cutlery from a filthy ice bucket and a filthy cloth. Two of her colleagues were also present and some disagreement ensued, therefore disturbing us at breakfast. Coffee machine broken and people queuing for tea and coffee, but the staff member seemed to cater for herself. None of the depleted items were ever replaced and no side plates were ever produced if they ran out. Croissants were very stale. We left and went to have coffee at the hotel across the road (with excellent service) as there was no coffee.

I would not recommend and I feel ripped off and of course will never go back and discourage all our friends and family to avoid this place.

These owners should remember that location is not everything and that basic hotel keeping is also required to ensure guest satisfaction.

I suppose I will receive a cursory apology from the manager but no form of compensation for this unmemorable and sub-standard stay.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank billfO8031US
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Hackney, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2023

Dear Bill F,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion on your recent stay. Your opinion is essential for us to improve how we work.

We would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations with your accommodation.

We have taken immediate action. We are working together with the housekeeping and maintenance teams to amplify the standard controls each accommodation is subjected to before the Guests' arrival, to prevent such inconveniences from happening in the future. We have made some definitive changes to our Housekeeping structure to obviate these issues.

In relation to other items you raised I am afraid I must respectfully disagree. As a large hotel group we collect and collate guest feedback across numerous channels and platforms. In our latest analysis for YTD October 2023 we received accumulated scoring for the following criteria: Team service 89.2%; F&B service 86.4%;Breakfast 87%. You have every right to have ,and voice your own opinion, but I must be guided by what the majority of our guests feedback to us

You have indicated that you would prefer that we not contact you further and we will honour that request. Needless to say we are always disappointed to see our valued customers depart unhappy.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you and rebuild your trust in the future. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest at Pestana Kruger Lodge.

Kind regards,
Dave Hackney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2023 via mobile

This 4 star hotel by the gates of the National Park looks more like a 3 star lodge. I had a very poor reception where I ended up serving myself the welcome drink. Also I had to bring my luggage to the room. The assigned room was dirty and smelly, so I had to request for assistance, and they moved me to another near room which looked worse than the first one. No mosquito net in the window, nor in bed. This place has resulted in an annoying stay affecting my nice visit to the park.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank luistC6055KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Hackney, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear Luis T,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion on your recent stay. Your opinion is essential for us to improve how we work.

We would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations with your accommodation.

We have taken immediate action. We are working together with the housekeeping and maintenance teams to amplify the standard controls each accommodation is subjected to before the Guests' arrival, to prevent such inconveniences from happening in the future.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you and rebuild your trust in the future. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest at Pestana Kruger Lodge.

Kind regards,
Dave Hackney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2023

Pestana Kruger Lodge is my lodge of choice when in the Malelane area of the Kruger National Park. Friendly and efficient service from check-in to check-out. The rooms are comfortable and clean with a small refrigerator and was supplied two complimentary bottles of mineral water per day. The grounds of the lodge are well-kept and are in immaculate condition. The food at the restaurant is great with a wide variety of choices from their a-la-carte menu or buffets. Breakfast was enjoyed on the deck overlooking the Crocodile River and Kruger National Park. Spectacular setting to enjoy breakfast and sundowner drinks. Nothing was too much trouble for any staff member I came into contact with. Looking forward to my next stay when I return to the area.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NormTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave Hackney, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2023

Dear Norm,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Pestana Kruger Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence.

I will pass on your kind words regarding our Team - they will be delighted

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Kruger Lodge, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
The Team at Pestana Kruger Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews