We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ashwingo
Johannesburg, South Africa

Tranquil spacious resort

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 May 2021via mobile
Neat, clean and large well equipped self catering resort. We had a 2 room unit which sleeps 6 in total. It had a spacious kitchen that was really well equipped. A nice dining area and a loung area with sleeper couches. This led to a sliding door onto a patio overlooking the river with 2 braai areas and outdoor seating. The unit had 2 bathrooms both witj showers and 1 with a bath. There was a safe in the room and also a separate dressing room. Could be five star if they paid attention to detail - better cleaning of dust in the unit. Air conditioners in the lounge and bedrooms and a heater was provided. Towels and toiletries provided everyday. Very friendly staff - nice large pool, fantastic tennis courts, squash courts and a decent gym. Chess, table tennis, pool table. It had a bar and restaurant on site. Possibly of seeing hippos and crocs in the river. Close to mall and shops although there is a small shop on site for emergencies. Nice gardens throughout the complex that are well maintained. There are porters to assist with luggage as it is a small walk from the car park to the unit. There are stairs in the unit from the entrance going down. Covered parking with shadenet was provided. The closest Kruger National Park gate was 10km away. Overall a good location for the natural sites around the area. Would definitely recommend and hope to be back.
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 453
R 3 244
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Sanbonani Hotel, Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
R 3 950
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
17.5 km from Sanbonani Hotel, Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
R 2 361
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
9.8 km from Sanbonani Hotel, Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
R 1 858
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
17.7 km from Sanbonani Hotel, Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
cottage 2 private swimming pool
R 633
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
5.3 km from Sanbonani Hotel, Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
getlstd_property_photo
R 1 143
R 1 054
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Sanbonani Hotel, Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 416
  • Algotels
4.1 km from Sanbonani Hotel, Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 680
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 012
7.1 km from Sanbonani Hotel, Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 361
  • Priceline
7.7 km from Sanbonani Hotel, Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Pool area of HN where barbeques are held
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 361
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Sanbonani Hotel, Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hazyview
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
171
144
55
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
144
55
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kruger national park the river swimming pool putt putt mini golf beautiful grounds chalet unit wifi accommodation rci trees lowveld graskop km candles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2021

We booked 2 adjacent 3 bedroom houses for our annual family holiday. The houses were well equipped and very clean. The necessary things to make our stay comfortable were all there. We spent each day travelling into the KNP and late afternoon when we came back the lovely well kept swimming pools were a favourite.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Violetvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2021

We booked to adjacent houses for our family get together. The 3 bedroom houses were well stocked with all necessary things, lots of space and the bargain the cleaners were thorough!
We spent every day going into KNP and came back late afternoon when the big swimming pools were just what was needed after a day in the park. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: March 2021
Thank violetvanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2021

at check in , we were greeted with the rudest receptionist i have encounted. our rooms booked were not ready and when requested to be resolved the same rude receptionist assisted with banging furniture around and throwing our items from side to side. there is no wifi in a claimed 4 star resort. there is no wifi signal to utilize your own data. the towels in the bathroom are as course as sandpaper and are dark in colour to hide stains away. there is no fridge in the room with temperatures reaching 38 degrees average, a cold beverage at night is a problem. they do not replace the sugar tea coffee once you have checked in. breakfast does not have any pastries. bed and sheets were of good standard though.

Room tip: choose another hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ZiyaadErnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Agnes Scullard, Other at Sanbonani Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2021

Firstly the Team would like to apologise for any inconveince that you experienced during these unprecidented times that we have all experienced. Your remarks have been noted. Sanbonani Resort are busy with a substantial WIFI instalation that was unfortunately brought to a stand still during the lock down, however we are happy to say the contracters are back working on this project. Take care Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2020 via mobile

We had the most memorable holiday at Sanbonani Resort. Our Chalet was immaculately kept. It smelled so fresh, even in the heat of Mpumulanga. Our airconditio ers were all working as expected. The swimming pool was beautiful, crystal blue. The service we received from the gentlemen at the restaurant was superb. There's nothing I can fault at this resort.
I would like to say thank you to all staff at Sanbonani Resort. May you please keep up the good work.

Stay Blessed 🙌

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank thabopm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Agnes Scullard, General Manager at Sanbonani Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2020

Thank you so much for the lovely comments, the Sanbonani Team always try and go the extra mile especially during these unprecedented times. The Team look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Take care and be safe. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2020 via mobile

The location is great. But that where it ends. The staff are unfriendly and the rooms are overrated. The beds were not made. There was no drinking water supplied. No tea and coffee was supplied after the first day. The toilet was leaking. The tap was loose. All this in a king deluxe room.
No wifi and even though we paid for a deluxe room. There was no wifi and no breakfast. It seems the staff don't appreciate their jobs and make no effort to be hospitable to staff.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank HafsaPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Agnes Scullard, General Manager at Sanbonani Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2020

Firstly the Team would like to apologise for any inconveince that you experienced during these unprecidented times that we have all experienced. Your remarks have been noted. Sanbonani Resort are busy with a substantial WIFI instalation that was unfortunately brought to a stand still during the lock down, however we are happy to say the contracters are back working on this project. Take care Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews