We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$129
View deal
Priceline
US$136
View deal
eDreamsUS$129
ZenHotels.com
Trip.comUS$158
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 399)
Filter reviews
1 399 results
Traveller rating
676
500
143
56
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
676
500
143
56
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river kruger national park our honeymoon elephants chalet accommodation garden
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1 399 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2021

The best stay we've ever had! The customer service was fantastic and the staff was so helpful. Given the current circumstances many resorts service bland and average food however the food here was beyond amazing! The facilities were great and the place itself is so beautiful. I would stay here again every opportunity I get!!

Room tip: The river facing rooms allows you to see the hippos and crocs from your bed
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Ms_Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 June 2021

We had a wonderful stay at Hippo Hollow. Our first day there we were blessed enough to witness both a group of elephants and two hippos. The accommodation itself is very clean and had a beautiful balcony to enjoy the view with. Small details were missing, for example a plug to charge our phones / laptops next to the bed would have been nice and the bedding wasn't very warm, considering that we visited during winter. Other than that the staff was very friendly and there are a few restaurants close to the estate which were really nice. Over all we really enjoyed our stay and will happily stay there again!

Room tip: Take a room that overlooks the river so that you can spot hippos and elephants.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LelanieOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 January 2021

we really enjoyed our time at Hippo Hollow. The staff has been super kind and professional, preparing a special welcome to us in the room as we were just married.
Atmosphere is very relaxing, you can enjoy breakfast looking at the river and if you are lucky spot some Hippos.
The night was amazing, there has been a dance show from locals dancers and amazing special food options like Crocodile and Worms. Everything was super fresh ! Just a paradise in the middle of south Africa ! very recommended!

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francimau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 May 2020

Located in the Hippo Hollow Country Estate on the outskirts of Hazyview the property's restaurant is a charming place with a terrace overlooking the Sabie river. Lunch was rather unique and mouth watering (particularly the dessert). I do strongly advise anyone to have a meal there if you happen to be in the area.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Service
Thank Iolanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristel Jonker, General Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2020

Dear Iolanda A

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it very much.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our main restaurant and that you found the food and service above your expectations.

It was such a pleasure hosting you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2020 via mobile

We went to Hippo Hollow during the day to see if we could book a table for that evening. Not only did they book us in, they showed us around (and we got to watch some Elephants across the river) and then convinced us to join them for their entertainment (traditional dancing) and buffet. We arrived later, not knowing quite what to expect. The entertainment was great and the food was excellent - I think possibly the best meal we had all trip. Would definitely come back again!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KAL1399
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristel Jonker, General Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2020

Dear Kristinaamanda

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it very much.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us at Shangaan River Club, we were honoured to host to.

Thank you for all the compliments and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews