We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 244)
Filter reviews
1 244 results
Traveller rating
585
456
129
52
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
456
129
52
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephant whispers the river riviera tour kruger national park hippos grazing cultural show double shower ceiling fan special thanks cape town stayed nights couple of nights thatched roof tour group our honeymoon south africa panorama route
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1 244 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A once in a life-time dinner experience saw us seated on the bridge overlooking the Sabi River. An intimate grouping of diners, we were shown to our seats at sunset on the bridge, after which we were treated to a superb menu of fine dining. The waitrons served each course on the 6 course menu with slick efficiency, whilst the hippos grazed below us. We even braai-ed our own kebabs on our own individual hot-coal cooker on our table as one of the courses, and finished off the meal with koeksisters and warming Amarula coffee, whilst twrapped in fleecy blankets under the stars. A most special and unforgettable evening! An option to stay over the evening at one of the chalets was gladly accepted!

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, Front Office Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Dana M,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on ourTripAdvisor page.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner with us. We pride ourselves to provide an unique dining experience along with a beautiful setting and good food and efficient service. We are hope that you return to us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely stay in glorious surroundings. Beautiful terrace. Hippos on the lawn. Breakfast was excellent with really friendly service. Very well located for our visit to Kruger. Our room was cosy and very clean. Thank you to everyone there.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Basil1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, Front Office Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Basil1960,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your lovely feedback.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you here with us. We are happy that you saw our lovely hippos.

We hope that you return to us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place is very pleasant, the view, the breakfast, and the staff as well.
But some mistakes disappointed me.
First of all, I asked a book for sunset safari at the desk, and at the day of safari I was running a lot so I ordered to cancel the booking for safari because the weather. The staff called to a company and the lady on the phone injured me and said it was impossible to cancel the booking. We went to the safari, it was running a lot and very very cold. We couldn’t see animals because the rain, and we became completely frozen in an open vehicle during the rainy night. It was not a game, it eas not a ride, it was a torture.
Other night we took a seat at the Shangana River Club at the hotel. The performance and the shangana dance are spectacular. the food is varied and excellent. But the show is in a hotel. For a more authentic experience, I recommend going to the Shangana evening festival in Shangana village, where it is possible to meet King Ngobeni and his family as well as the local healer. The dancers are the same. At the hotel, something happened that was not correct. I ordered the drinks menu for the waitress, and she replied "there is no the menu tonight", then I asked "what about the prices of the drinks?" And she said "there is no separeted prices tonight, it's included in the dinner". Then the waitress asked what drink we would like, I ordered a glass of wine and some water for my son. At the checkout of the hotel, I was surprised by the overcharge of a bottle of the most expensive pinotage wine and a large bottle of water. But the waitress had only served a glass of water and a glass of a collective wine bottle. I felt cheated. So, take care about the orders and check carefully the bill. Because of this, I can not recommend the Shangana River Club.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rochelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, Front Office Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Rochelle J,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast and staff. We are sorry that you did not have a good experience with your activities.It was fortunate that we had good rain which the Kruger desperately needed during the course of your stay. We use an outsourced professional safari agency which we book for our guest. The Duty Manager who assisted you in making your booking asked you three times during the day if you would like to still do the safari due to the weather and every time you confirmed that you will still be going. When the guide was already here to pick you up you advised us to cancel the booking, this is when the safari company advised that there will be a 100% cancellation fee, which could have been avoided if you had cancelled earlier. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our Shangaan River Club show and the food. But it is unfortunate that you had a bad experience with the drinks service. During the speech after the show the manager always explains that drinks are on your own account.We do not have a beverage menu we only have a wine list. We do not serve collective wine by the glass only by the bottle. You advised your waiter that you only drink Pinotage wine and she showed you which wines we have available, you then chose a bottle and it got served to you during the course of the evening.You also signed the bill to your room meaning that you acknowledged that you had to pay for your drinks on check out. We are sorry if you were inconvenienced in any way. We strive to provide our guest with the best authentic Shangaan experience with great food and efficient service. We hope that your experience will not stop you from visiting us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a decent 3 star establishment good for a 2 night stay near Kruger Park. It's quiet, clean and safe. Room is very basic with outdated furnishings but all is in good shape. The restaurant has good service, food variety and tasty food. The hippo comes out by the restaurant lake between 7 and 8 pm

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lasalle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, Front Office Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear lasalle s,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on our TripAdvisor page. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your two night stay with us. We are happy that you found the room adequate and that you enjoyed the food along with our hippos.

We hope you return to us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I guess the review title says it all. Very good at most things and a very nice African feel to it. The view from the restaurant area was great. The food in the restaurant was very good as well.
Couple of suggestion I would make are: Have an area where visitors could just sit and enjoy the views (I sat in the restaurant area when using the internet and the staff asked me a couple of times if I wanted to order a drink) and have drinking water available in this area.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josefpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, Front Office Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear josefpp,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hippo Hollow Country Estate on TripAdvisor and providing to us your valued feedback and suggestions. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us along with the food.

We hope that you return to us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews