We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 259)
Filter reviews
1 259 results
Traveller rating
591
461
133
52
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
591
461
133
52
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephant whispers the river riviera tour hippos grazing kruger national park double shower ceiling fan stayed here for nights cape town thatched roof tour group our honeymoon south africa panorama route minute drive game drives phabeni gate
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 1 259 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2018

We really enjoyed this hotel. All the staff were so friendly, the food was great, beds comfortable and to see the hippos from the terrace was an added bonus. We were with a group from Riviera Travel, and at then of our 3 night stay we were sorry to leave.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank pandafleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Dear Pandafleet
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us this wonderful review.

It gives us great pleasure that you enjoyed the hotel, staff friendliness, great food and the comfortable beds. How can I forget our lovely hippos.

Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Lovely airy rooms in delightful grounds. However, the stars of the show had to be the hippos! Most evenings as it gets dark they come out of the river on to the hotel lawn to graze. I rather stupidly thought they were going to wander around the hotel gardens and was a bit apprehensive, but, they are at a safe distance, you can still smell the though - phew!!

The food was excellent, but, I did think the a la carte menu was better value than the buffet.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank welshwanderer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Dear Welshwanderer001

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor.

We are very delighted that you enjoyed your room, our lovely Hippos and the food at the restaurant. it was such an honour having you here.

Hope to Welcome you back at Hippo Hollow Country Estate in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

great accommodation, venue, service & the hippos actually came out of the river right on dusk to eat grass as we were eating dinner in the restaurant really close--service was great and i saw animals just outside my back balcony--amaxing

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Dear Dennis B

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us this amazing review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the accommodation, venue , service and seeing the hippos while having dinner at the restaurant. We loved having you here. Hope to welcome you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

The hotel has a magical setting beside the river and next To Kruger safari park. We saw a hippo in the river. Amazing.
Lovely staff. Amazing food. Lovely room.
Pool in lovely setting.
I would love to go back

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 503Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear 503Sandy

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the lovely compliments. Our management team takes our guest reviews very seriously and is working very hard to make sure expectations are exceeded.

We hope that we will see you soon..

Many Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

This was our favourite hotel of our South Africa tour. We were lucky enough to see the hippo and her baby on the lawn, elephants bathing in the river (got some great photos) and on a rafting tour on the river we spotted a crocodile . The abundant bird life was also a joy. As was the Shangan festival and Chief's boma, which introduced us to African food.
We enjoyed the pool, the cool rooms and the ambience of the terrace. Food was very good too.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear Caroline S

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this positive review on Hippo Hollow after your stay with us.We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and surroundings as well as the Shangaan dancers.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews