We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 216)
Filter reviews
1 216 results
Traveller rating
568
446
129
51
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
568
446
129
51
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselephant whispersthe riverriviera tourkruger national parkhippos grazingcultural showdouble showerceiling fanspecial thanksstayed nightscape towncouple of nightsthatched rooftour groupour honeymoonsouth africapanorama route
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 1 216 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

A very nice hotel on the banks of the river where bird life is plentiful and hippos can be seen on the lawns in the evenings. All the staff are helpful and keen to please with a special mention for Patavia!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, General Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Ken,

Hope you had a safe journey to your next destination

A very big thank for the review on trip advisor. We are very proud to hear tat you had a very pleasant stay at Hippo Hollow,

Also for making an extra special mention towards Petevia’s good service, she would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Rooms were marvelous. Restaurant has terrace near river. We could see 2 hippo's in the evening grazing te grass. Only 20m from us. Next to the hotel is The elephant encouter. Must do. Great place to see the panorama route and travel to Kruger Park

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This was our second trip to Hippo Hollow, having been previously 6 years ago. Lovely clean and comfortable accommodation. We stayed in a riverside chalet overlooking Elephant Whispers. Friendly, helpful staff, we received a warm welcome and were well looked after during our stay. The restaurant is excellent and if you are lucky, as we were on our final night, you will see baby hippo grazing on the lawn in front of the restaurant. Truly magical!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Mr Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, General Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Anthony,

Thank you for the review on tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that your were looked after during your entire stay, at Hippo Hollow ( The Great Place to Stay).

we are looking forward welcoming you back on your third visit. It always a great pleasure to have you as one of our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Stayed here mid September part of our tour with Riviera holidays, loved the position, the rooms and the evening entertainment. Good proximity to the Elephant whispers next door just walking distance. Saw a huge monitor lizard on the bank of the river.The only down side, we gave them our postcards and they haven't arrived, i wonder if they are still in the urn that we were told to put them in???

Room Tip: Cottages that face the river
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. We stayed in one of the main rooms near the pool (not one of the cottages) and it was spacious and comfy. The bed was ginormous... (we're both little!) I loved walking around the property, which is quite large. It has a fantastic garden. It was a bit too cold to swim in September, but I read by the pool and that was almost as good. We organised a Kruger Safari through the Hippo Hollow activities people and had the BEST day. Saw a massive range of animals and our guide was ace. It was an early start at 5am, but we were back by around 3. Didn't see any hippos at the estate itself, but did enjoy watching the elephants from the neighbouring property walking up a path in the morning. The food is fresh but not outstanding. Not a huge amount of options for vegetarians. If you're driving to the estate, be patient and don't panic if you can't find it for a while! Drive all the way through Hazyview and keep going... it's about 15 mins further.

Room Tip: Gorgeous setting. Safe and relaxing.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, General Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Danielle.

Thanks you very much for taking your time to share the lovely and peaceful experience on your recent stay at Hippo Hollow.

Its exciting always to hear when we exceed guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews