We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights as a base for visiting Kruger National Park which is only 20 minutes away.

The rooms are beautiful and only 2 story with lovely grounds and a swimming pool. There are no phones in the room, so your early morning call is a knock on the door. The buffet style dinner is quite basic but well cooked, but their breakfasts are delicious with plenty of choices.

The hotel ground are beautiful and if you are up early enough, you can see the elephants coming down the hill to drink.

My only criticism apart from the dinner choices is that we found the staff rather arrogant, and especially the reception staff not very helpful. A smile would not have gone amiss.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool as it is quieter and away from the coach park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 1 082 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

A very nice hotel on the banks of the river where bird life is plentiful and hippos can be seen on the lawns in the evenings. All the staff are helpful and keen to please with a special mention for Patavia!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, General Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Ken,

Hope you had a safe journey to your next destination

A very big thank for the review on trip advisor. We are very proud to hear tat you had a very pleasant stay at Hippo Hollow,

Also for making an extra special mention towards Petevia’s good service, she would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Rooms were marvelous. Restaurant has terrace near river. We could see 2 hippo's in the evening grazing te grass. Only 20m from us. Next to the hotel is The elephant encouter. Must do. Great place to see the panorama route and travel to Kruger Park

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This was our second trip to Hippo Hollow, having been previously 6 years ago. Lovely clean and comfortable accommodation. We stayed in a riverside chalet overlooking Elephant Whispers. Friendly, helpful staff, we received a warm welcome and were well looked after during our stay. The restaurant is excellent and if you are lucky, as we were on our final night, you will see baby hippo grazing on the lawn in front of the restaurant. Truly magical!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Mr Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandile-HH, General Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Anthony,

Thank you for the review on tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that your were looked after during your entire stay, at Hippo Hollow ( The Great Place to Stay).

we are looking forward welcoming you back on your third visit. It always a great pleasure to have you as one of our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Stayed here mid September part of our tour with Riviera holidays, loved the position, the rooms and the evening entertainment. Good proximity to the Elephant whispers next door just walking distance. Saw a huge monitor lizard on the bank of the river.The only down side, we gave them our postcards and they haven't arrived, i wonder if they are still in the urn that we were told to put them in???

Room Tip: Cottages that face the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0,7 km away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
409 reviews
4 km away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
6,3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,9 km away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
920 reviews
2,2 km away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
36,6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Address: R40, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: R1 196 - R6 416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing